General

  • To participate in the STARTS Prize, you must register online and submit all mandatory information online. A submission is complete and formally entered in the competition only if all information has been entered online and the submission has been finalized online. An entry confirmation will be sent out via e-mail as soon as all required documentation has been received.
  • Every submitted project must be, at the time of its submission, either totally completed or far enough along for the jury to be able to assess its quality and the likelihood of it being successfully implemented. The same applies to collaborative arrangements—at the time they’re submitted, they must already be up-and-running and in the implementation stage. No consideration will be given to entries that are purely concepts, ideas or proposals for collaboration.
  • Projects should not be older than two years or have to show a significant update or further development within the last two years.
  • There is no fee to enter the STARTS Prize 2021 competition.
  • An artist may submit more than one work.
  • If your entry is awarded a prize, your material will be used for the catalog, DVD (CD) and the Prix Ars Electronica website or any communication purpose from Ars Electronica, BOZAR, Waag, INOVA+, T6 Ecosystems, French Tech Grande Provence and Frankfurter Buchmesse or the European Union (see Rights), so we ask you to prepare your picture and text material carefully.
  • If you send in additional material pertaining to your submission via post, please mail it by the submission deadline (date of postmark is determinative) to:
    Ars Electronica Linz GmbH & Co KG
    Ars-Electronica-Straße 1
    4040 Linz, Austria
    Code: STARTS Prize

STARTS Prize – Prix Ars Electronica

  • Every submission to the STARTS Prize competition can also be entered for Prix Ars Electronica prize consideration and vice versa. In other words, it’s possible for a single project to win both the STARTS Prize 2017 as well as a Prix Ars Electronica Golden Nica grand prize. How does this work? It’s totally easy—at the end of your Prix Ars Electronica online submission, simply check the appropriate box.
  • A project submitted to the STARTS Prize is automatically entered to the Ars Electronica Award for Digital Humanity as well.

Required Materials

  • A video documentary (approximately 3 minutes in length)
  • Images (JPG, TIF, BMP, PNG) at the highest possible resolution; compressed files (such as .zip or .lzh files) are not accepted.
  • A clear, detailed description of the artistic concept, the form of interaction and technical implementation; since specific prerequisites have to be fulfilled for an onsite presentation to take place (e.g. in conjunction with the Ars Electronica Festival), the project’s specifications as to hardware & software and spatial requirements should be as detailed as possible. Moreover, the entrant must specify what he/she can provide on his/her own in order to stage such an onsite presentation, and what must necessarily be furnished by Ars Electronica Linz.
  • A printable portrait photo and a biography of the artist.
  • At the entrant’s option, additional material such as images, documents and drawings (as PNG or PDF) can also be submitted.
  • The submitters are asked not to physically submit irreplaceable originals, as the entered material cannot be returned.

Schedule

  • The STARTS Prize open call period starts on January 11th 2021 and ends on March 15th 2021. During this period the open call platform can be accessed at starts-prize-call.aec.at
  • Jury sessions (April 23-25, 2021): All entries will be judged by a jury of experts in the order of their arrival. In addition to the works entered by participants, each jury may also nominate other works. The jury members will be announced by Ars Electronica. The jury’s decision is final.
  • Notification: Winners of the STARTS Prize will be notified by mid-June 2021 at the latest. (Ars Electronica only sends out notifications if the project is selected for a prize.) In the interest of all entrants, we request that the entrant (or a representative named by him/her) be available during the period when winners will be notified via the contact specified in the entry form.
  • Payment: The winning artist(s) will receive prize money of €20,000. This amount is to be paid by direct bank deposit, after the Festival Ars Electronica 2017 and upon presentation of an invoice stating “Prize Money STARTS Prize 2017”. This is the only method by which Ars Electronica can transfer funds. The prize money can be paid as a net amount only if, approximately one week prior to the exhibition, Ars Electronica is provided with the original signed form ZS-QU1 (ZS-QU2 for legal entities); officially confirmed from the foreign tax authorities. Without this confirmation, Ars Electronica will be unable to pay the fee as a net amount and under international tax laws will have to retain 20% withholding tax (subject to any change in the rate of tax).

Submission Process

To ensure a high diversity of submissions, the STARTS Prize works with a dual approach for submissions.

  • Submission via open call: The STARTS Prize aims to showcase and celebrate visions and achievements at the interface between innovation and creation—driven by both science/technology and the Arts. The submission is open to all forms of artistic work and all types of technological and scientific research and development. The Submission deadline is March 15, 2021
  • Recommendations through international advisors: 15 international advisors who have reputation and credibility in the field will recommend projects and help to encourage wider ranges of participants as well as a geographical and gender balance. These recommended projects will be contacted by the organizers and asked to submit their project via the submission platform. So the same process and deadlines will be applied as for the open submissions. The international advisors serve as facilitators to identify relevant works and projects during the submission process. However, they will not be part of the jury meeting and therefore will not have voting rights.

Jury Process


  • Nomination through the Juries of the Prix Ars Electronica categories: Since the Prix Ars Electronica’s main categories focus explicitly on art and technology, the submissions made in these categories correspond exactly to the criteria of the STARTS Prize. Projects submitted for a Prix Ars Electronica category are therefore also eligible for consideration for the STARTS Prize. The juries will nominate a number of projects per Prix Ars Electronica category for the STARTS Prize.


  • All eligible projects will be judged by the STARTS Prize Jury. They will determine 30 finalist projects, from which the two prize-winning projects and up to ten honorary mentionsare chosen from. The jury consists of internationally distinguished personalities from the fields of business, science and the arts. In addition to the works entered by participants, each jury member may also nominate other works. The jury’s decision is final.
TransVision

Presentations

  • Awards Ceremony and Symposium: The STARTS Prize award presentation will take place during the Ars Electronica Festival in Linz. Winners of the STARTS Prize make a commitment to accept their awards in person and to present their works at the STARTS Prize Forum. Groups and institutions are requested to nominate a representative to fulfill this commitment.
  • Exhibition: If the submitted work is selected and honored by the jury the artist is committed to present the submitted work at the Ars Electronica Festival 2021 as well as at BOZAR 2021.

Contact

Ars Electronica Linz GmbH & Co KG
Ars-Electronica-Straße 1
4040 Linz, Austria
Code: STARTS Prize

Project producer:
Karla Spiluttini
Tel. +43.699.1778.1578
startsprize@ars.electronica.art

Allgemein

  • Um am STARTS Prize teilzunehmen, müssen Sie sich online registrieren und alle erforderlichen Angaben online übermitteln. Eine Einreichung ist nur dann vollständig und für die Teilnahme am Wettbewerb gültig, wenn sämtliche Angaben online übermittelt wurden und die Einreichung online abgeschlossen wurde. Sobald alle erforderlichen Dokumente übermittelt wurden, wird eine Einreichbestätigung per E-Mail an Sie versandt.
  • Jedes eingereichte Projekt muss zum Zeitpunkt der Einreichung entweder fertiggestellt sein oder zumindest soweit realisiert sein, dass es der Jury möglich ist, dessen Umsetzungsmöglichkeit und Qualität zu beurteilen. Gleiches gilt für Kooperationen, die zum Zeitpunkt der Einreichung bereits bestehen und sich in einem Stadium der Umsetzung befinden müssen. Reine Konzepte, Ideen oder Vorschläge für eine Zusammenarbeit werden nicht berücksichtigt.
  • Projekte sollten nicht älter als zwei Jahre sein oder innerhalb der letzten zwei Jahre signifikant aktualisiert oder weiterentwickelt worden sein.
  • Die Teilnahme am STARTS Prize 2021 ist kostenlos.
  • Ein*e Künstler*in darf mehr als eine Arbeit einreichen.
  • Wenn Ihre Einreichung einen Preis gewinnt, wird das eingereichte Material für den Katalog, die DVD (CD) und die Website oder andere Kommunikationsformen von Ars Electronica, BOZAR, Waag Society, INOVA+, T6 Ecosystems, French Tech Grande Provence and Frankfurter Buchmesse. oder der Europäischen Union verwendet (siehe Rechte). Die Teilnehmer*innen werden daher gebeten, ihr Bild- und Textmaterial sorgfältig vorzubereiten.
  • Wenn Sie zusätzliches Material zu Ihrer Einreichung per Post schicken wollen, senden Sie dieses bis zum festgesetzten Einsendeschluss (maßgeblich ist das Datum des Poststempels) an:
    Ars Electronica Linz GmbH & Co KG
    Ars-Electronica-Straße 1
    4040 Linz, Austria
    Code: STARTS Prize

STARTS Prize – Prix Ars Electronica

  • Sie haben die Möglichkeit, ein Projekt sowohl für den STARTS Prize als auch für eine Kategorie des Prix Ars Electronica einzureichen.
  • Jede Einreichung für den Prix Ars Electronica kann zusätzlich auch für den STARTS Prize berücksichtigt werden. Es ist also möglich, mit ein und demselben Projekt sowohl den STARTS Prize 2021 als auch die Goldene Nica des Prix Ars Electronica zu gewinnen. Wie das geht? Ganz einfach: Am Ende der Prix Ars Electronica Online-Einreichung braucht nur das entsprechende Häkchen gesetzt werden.
  • Ein für den STARTS Prize eingereichtes Projekt ist automatisch auch für den Ars Electronica Award for Digital Humanity angemeldet.

Unterlagen

  • Eine Videodokumentation (Länge ca. 3 Minuten).
  • Bilder (JPG, TIF, BMP, PNG) in höchstmöglicher Auflösung – komprimierte Dateien (wie etwa .zip oder .lzh-Dateien) werden nicht akzeptiert.
  • Eine detaillierte und klare Beschreibung des künstlerischen Konzepts, der Art der Interaktion und der technischen Realisierung. Da für eine Präsentation vor Ort (etwa im Rahmen des Ars Electronica Festival) spezifische Anforderungen erfüllt sein müssen, braucht es möglichst detaillierte Angaben zu Hard- und Software als auch zu räumlichen Voraussetzungen. Des Weiteren ist bekannt zu geben, was für eine solche Präsentation vor Ort von Seiten der*des Einreichenden beigetragen werden kann und was von der Ars Electronica Linz bereitgestellt werden müsste.
  • Ein druckfähiges Porträtfoto und eine Biografie des*der Künstler*in
  • Optional kann zusätzliches Material (weitere Bilder oder Dokumente und Zeichnungen (als PNG oder PDF) mit eingereicht werden.
  • Die Teilnehmer*innen werden ersucht, keine unersetzbaren Originale einzureichen, da das eingereichte Material nicht retourniert werden kann.

Zeitplan

  • Die Einreichphase zum STARTS Prize 2021 startet am 11. Jänner 2021, Einreichschluss ist der 15. März 2021. Die Einreichplattform ist zwischen 11. Jänner und 15. März 2021 auf starts-prize-call.aec.at zu erreichen.
  • Jurysitzung (23. – 25. April 2021): Alle Einreichungen werden von einer Expert*innenjury in der Reihenfolge ihres Eingangs beurteilt. Zusätzlich zu den von den Teilnehmer*innen eingereichten Arbeiten kann jede Jury auch andere Arbeiten nominieren. Die Zusammensetzung der Jury wird von der Ars Electronica bekannt gegeben. Die Entscheidung der Jury ist endgültig und unanfechtbar.
  • Verständigung: Die Gewinner*innen des STARTS Prize werden bis spätestens Mitte Juni 2021 verständigt (Die Ars Electronica verschickt nur dann Verständigungen, wenn das Projekt für einen Preis ausgewählt wurde.) Im Interesse aller Teilnehmer*innen ist erforderlich, dass der*die Teilnehmer*in (oder ein*e von ihm*ihr ernannte*r Vertreter*in) während des Zeitraums verfügbar ist, in dem die Gewinner*innen an der im Einreichformular genannten Adresse eine Verständigung erhalten.
  • Auszahlung: Der*die Preisträger*in erhält ein Preisgeld von € 20.000,–. Diese Summe wird nach dem Ars Electronica Festival 2021 und nach Vorlage einer Rechnung mit Angabe „Prize Money STARTS Prize 2021“ direkt auf Ihr Bankkonto überwiesen. Dies ist die einzige von der Ars Electronica akzeptierte Zahlungsart für die Geldüberweisung. Das Preisgeld kann nur als Nettobetrag ausgezahlt werden, wenn die Ars Electronica etwa 1 Woche vor der Ausstellung das unterzeichnete Formular ZS-QU1 (ZS-QU2 für juristische Personen) mit einer amtlichen Bestätigung der ausländischen Steuerbehörden erhält. Ohne diese Bestätigung kann die Ars Electronica den Betrag nicht als Nettosumme ausbezahlen und muss gemäß internationalen Steuergesetzen 20 % Quellensteuer (vorbehaltlich einer Änderung des Steuersatzes) einbehalten.

Einreichprozess

Um eine hohe Vielfalt an Einreichungen zu gewährleisten, arbeitet der STARTS Prize mit einem dualen Ansatz für Einreichungen.

  • Einreichung über eine öffentliche Ausschreibung: Mit dem STARTS Prize sollen Visionen und Errungenschaften an der Schnittstelle von Innovation und Kreation, die sowohl von Wissenschaft/Technologie als auch von Kunst bestimmt sind, präsentiert und gewürdigt werden. Eingereicht werden können alle Formen künstlerischer Arbeit und alle Arten technologischer und wissenschaftlicher Forschung und Entwicklung. Einreichschluss ist der 15. März 2021
  • Empfehlungen durch internationale Berater*innen: 15 internationale Berater*innen, die in diesem Feld über Renommee und Expertise verfügen, werden Projekte empfehlen und darüber hinaus ein breiteres Spektrum an Teilnehmer*innen zur Teilnahme ermutigen sowie auf eine Ausgewogenheit hinsichtlich Geschlecht und geografischer Herkunft der Teilnehmer*innen achten. Die Urheber*innen der empfohlenen Projekte werden von den Veranstalter*innen kontaktiert und ersucht, ihr Projekt über die Einreichplattform einzureichen. Es gelten demnach dieselben Fristen und dieselbe Vorgangsweise wie bei der öffentlichen Ausschreibung. Die internationalen Berater*innen fungieren als Vermittler*innen und haben die Aufgabe, während des Einreichverfahrens relevante Arbeiten und Projekte zu eruieren. Sie nehmen jedoch nicht an der Jurysitzung teil und haben kein Stimmrecht.

Juryprozess


  • Nominierungen durch die Jurys der Prix Ars Electronica Kategorien: Da in den Hauptkategorien des Prix Ars Electronica der Fokus ausdrücklich auf Kunst und Technologie liegt, entsprechen die in diesen Kategorien erfolgten Einreichungen exakt den Kriterien des STARTS Prize. Projekte, die für eine Kategorie des Prix Ars Electronica eingereicht wurden, können daher auch für den STARTS Prize berücksichtigt werden. Die Jury wird eine Reihe von Projekten pro Prix Ars Electronica Kategorie für den STARTS Prize nominieren.
  • Alle zugelassenen Projekte werden von der STARTS Prize Jury bewertet. Sie legt schließlich 30 Finalisten fest, aus denen die zwei Siegerprojekte und bis zu 10 Anerkennungen ausgewählt werden. Die Jury besteht aus renommierten internationalen Personen aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Kunst. Zusätzlich zu den von den Teilnehmer*innen eingereichten Arbeiten kann jedes Jurymitglied auch weitere Arbeiten nominieren. Die Entscheidung der Jury ist endgültig und unanfechtbar.
TransVision

Präsentationen

  • Preisverleihung und Symposium: Die Preisträger*innen des STARTS Prize verpflichten sich, ihre Preise persönlich bei der Preisverleihung entgegenzunehmen und ihre Arbeiten im Rahmen des STARTS Prize Forums, eines künstlerischen Symposiums, zu präsentieren. Gruppen und Institutionen werden gebeten, eine*n Repräsentanten*in zu ernennen, der*die diese Aufgabe übernimmt.
  • Ausstellung: Wird die eingereichte Arbeit ausgewählt und von der Jury prämiert, ist der*die Künstler*in verpflichtet, diese beim Ars Electronica Festival 2021 sowie bei weiteren Veranstaltungen der Konsortiumspartner zu präsentieren.

Kontakt

Ars Electronica Linz GmbH & Co KG
Ars-Electronica-Straße 1
4040 Linz, Austria
Code: STARTS Prize

Projektorganisation:
Karla Spiluttini
Tel. +43.699.1778.1578
startsprize@ars.electronica.art