Ugly

ugly

Nomination

Nikita Diakur

Inspired by the story Ugly the Cat found on a website featuring wisdom quotes and sad stories, Ugly is a broken simulated short film about a Native American chief and an ugly cat trying to find peace in an evil neighborhood.

Animation in Ugly is a combination of puppeteering and dynamic computer simulation and varies between physically accurate and broken. The Ugly characters are ragdolls built from connected dynamic body parts, which can collide with the environment. Like a marionette, the character is connected via simulated strings to animated controllers.

Animating like this feels like real-life filmmaking–the animator sets the direction and the simulated characters interpret the action similarly to real actors.

The process relies on experimentation and the results are unpredictable and prone to errors, which is difficult to deal with when trying to animate a specific movement. At the same time, the loss of control is liberating and the outcome is spontaneous and always unique.

Credits

Direction: Redbear Easterman & Nikita Diakur
Music: Enrica Sciandrone, Cédric Dekowski, Felix Reifenberg
Recording, Mix, Sound Design: Nicolas Martigne, David Kamp/studiokamp
Mastering: Bernd Thurig
Animation Assistance: Gerhard Funk, Phil Maron, Nicolas Trotignon
End Titles: Bastian Schiffer
Assets & FX: Ozan Korkut, Chris Lühning, Mitch Martinez / mitchmartinez.com, Julia Merkschien, Hannes Raff
Associate Producer: Amid Amidi
Production Funding Liaison: Karsten Matern

Nikita Diakur (RU/DE) is a Russian-born filmmaker based in Mainz, Germany. He studied Animation Direction at the Royal College of Art in London, where he produced Fly on the Window that went on to screen at a number of international film festivals including Zagreb, Annecy, and Edinburgh. Nikita Diakur is now making short films influenced by prominent internet stories and animated via the experimental process of computer simulation.

Ugly

ugly

Nomination

Nikita Diakur

Ugly ist ein auf dynamischen Simulationen basierender Kurzfilm in gebrochener Optik über einen Indianerhäuptling und eine hässliche Katze, die versuchen, in einem feindlichen Umfeld etwas Frieden zu finden. Als Vorlage diente die Story Ugly the Cat, die auf einer Website nebst Lebensweisheiten, Zitaten und traurigen Geschichten zu finden ist.

Diese Animation ist eine Kombination aus Marionettenspiel und dynamischer Computersimulation und balanciert zwischen Perfektion und dem Flair des Unfertigen, Brüchigen. Die Figuren von Ugly sind Stoffpuppen, die aus miteinander verbundenen, dynamischen Körperteilen konstruiert wurden und mit der Umgebung kollidieren können. Wie Marionetten hängen sie an simulierten Fäden im digitalen Raum und werden mithilfe digitaler Animation in Bewegung gebracht.

Produziert man einen Animationsfilm mit dieser Technik, hat man das Gefühl, einen Realfilm zu machen – der/die AnimateurIn gibt die Richtung vor und die simulierten Charaktere interpretieren die Handlung ähnlich wie echte SchauspielerInnen.

Das Verfahren beruht auf Experimenten, die Ergebnisse sind unvorhersehbar und fehleranfällig, was durchaus mit Schwierigkeiten verbunden ist, wenn man versucht, eine bestimmte Bewegung zu animieren. Gleichzeitig wirkt der Kontrollverlust befreiend und das Ergebnis ist immer spontan und einzigartig.

Credits

Regie: Redbear Easterman & Nikita Diakur
Musik: Enrica Sciandrone, Cédric Dekowski, Felix Reifenberg
Aufnahme, Mix, Sounddesign: Nicolas Martigne, David Kamp/studiokamp
Mastering: Bernd Thurig
Assistenz Animation: Gerhard Funk, Phil Maron, Nicolas Trotignon
Nachspann: Bastian Schiffer
Digitale Spezialeffekte: Ozan Korkut, Chris Lühning, Mitch Martinez / mitchmartinez.com, Julia Merkschien, Hannes Raff
Aufnahmeleitung: Amid Amidi
Kontakte Produktionsförderung: Karsten Matern

Nikita Diakur (RU/DE) wurde in Moskau geboren und lebt und arbeitet heute als Filmemacher in Mainz, Deutschland. Er studierte Animation am Royal College of Art in London, wo er auch den Film *Fly on the Window* produzierte, der bei zahlreichen Filmfestivals, u.a. in Zagreb, Annecy und Edinburgh, gezeigt wurde. Derzeit widmet sich Nikita Diakur der Produktion von Kurzfilmen, die von populären Internetgeschichten beeinflusst sind und mittels Computersimulation animiert werden.