Smog Free Project

smogfree

Nomination

Daan Roosegaarde and his team of experts

The Smog Free Project offers a journey through innovation, as an experience of a clean future and a local solution for parks and public spaces. It consists of the largest outdoor vacuum cleaner in the world, the Smog Free Tower, and Smog Free Jewellery, made from its captured smog.

The 7-meter-high Smog Free Tower, opened last fall in Beijing, is the largest air purifier in the world which creates a local solution for citizens in parks to experience clean air for free. It cleans 30.000 m³ per hour via patented ozone-free ion technology and uses a small amount of green electricity. It efficiently captures and collects up to 75% of PM2.5 and PM10 airborne smog particles and releases clean air around the tower with a 360-degree coverage creating an almost circular zone of clean air in its surrounding.

The Smog Free Jewellery is a tangible souvenir of the Smog Free Project. The Smog Free Ring and Smog Free Cufflinks are made from compressed smog particles collected from the Smog Free Tower. By sharing a Smog Free Ring, you donate 1000 m³ of clean air.

The Smog Free Project is a part of Roosegaarde’s larger oeuvre Landscapes of the Future, which connects people, technology, and space to improve the quality of daily life in urban environments.

Credits

The Smog Free Project was made possible with the kind support of the China Central Government, Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in China, Win World, City of Rotterdam, Stichling Doen and Port of Rotterdam. The Smog Free Project is developed by Daan Roosegaarde in collaboration with the engineers and designers of Studio Roosegaarde, ENS Technology and early advisor Ursem (till 2013).

Photo: Derrick Wang

Artist and innovator Daan Roosegaarde (NL) is a creative thinker and maker of social designs which explore the relation between people, technology, and space. Roosegaarde has been driven by nature’s gifts such as light-emitting fireflies and jellyfishes since an early age. His fascination for nature and technology is reflected in his iconic designs such as Smart Highway (roads which charge from sunlight and glow at night), Waterlicht (a virtual flood) and Smog Free Project (the largest outdoor air purifier in the world which makes jewellery from smog).

Smog Free Project

smogfree

Nomination

Daan Roosegaarde and his team of experts

The Smog Free Project ermöglicht die Erfahrung einer sauberen Zukunft als lokale Lösung für Parks und den öffentlichen Raum. Das innovative Projekt basiert auf dem größten „Outdoor-Staubsauger“ der Welt, dem sogenannten Smog Free Tower, der aus dem gesammelten Smog Schmuck herstellt – Smog Free Jewellery.

Der sieben Meter hohe Smog Free Tower, der vergangenen Herbst in Peking eingeweiht wurde, ist der größte Luftreiniger der Welt, der BürgerInnen die Erfahrung sauberer Luft in Parks ermöglicht. Mithilfe einer patentierten ozonfreien Ionentechnologie reinigt er 30.000 m3 pro Stunde, wobei er nur eine kleine Menge Ökostrom verbraucht. Er sammelt effizient bis zu 75 % der PM2,5- und PM10-Smogpartikel in der Luft und schafft im gesamten Umkreis des Turmes eine Zone mit sauberer Luft.

Smog Free Jewellery, Schmuck aus Smog, ist gleichsam ein materielles Andenken an das Smog Free Project. Aus den komprimierten Smogpartikeln, die der Smog Free Tower einfing, werden ein Smog Free Ring und Smog Free Cufflinks (Manschettenknöpfe) hergestellt. Verschenkt man einen Smog Free Ring, spendet man gleichzeitig 1000 m3 saubere Luft.

Das Smog Free Project ist Teil von Roosegaardes größerem Projekt Landscapes of the Future (Landschaften der Zukunft), das durch die Interaktion von Mensch, Technologie und Raum die Lebensqualität im urbanen Raum verbessern will.

Credits

Das Smog Free Project wurde durch die freundliche Unterstützung der Zentralregierung der Volksrepublik China, der Botschaft des Königreichs der Niederlande in China, von Win World, der Stadt Rotterdam, Stichting Doen und dem Hafen Rotterdam ermöglicht. Smog Free Project wurde von Daan Roosegaarde in Kooperation mit Technikern und Designern des Studio Roosegaarde, ENS Technology und dem Berater Ursem (bis 2013) entwickelt.

Foto: Derrick Wang

Der Künstler und Erfinder Daan Roosegaarde (NL) ist ein kreativer Designer und Entwickler sozialer Designs, die die Beziehung zwischen Menschen, Technologie und Raum ausloten. Roosegaarde ist seit seiner Kindheit von Naturphänomenen wie Licht emittierenden Glühwürmchen und Quallen fasziniert. Diese Begeisterung für Natur und Technologie spiegelt sich in seinen renommierten Designs und Projekten Smart Highway (Straßen, die durch Sonnenlicht aufgeladen werden und nachts leuchten), Waterlicht (einer virtuellen Flut) und Smog Free Project (dem größten Outdoor-Luftreiniger der Welt, der Schmuck aus Smog produziert).