Silk

silk

Nomination

::vtol::, Dmitry  Morozov

The installation Silk tracks the real time changes in the market activities related to cryptocurrencies Bitcoin and Litecoin. The constantly changing currency rate of Bitcoin against major world currencies is influencing the strain of strings in installation and the way the picks are hitting them. The robotic system of the artwork is directed by a computer algorithm–influenced by dynamic changes of data, the installation sounds like a complex sound instrument.

Each stand sprouts 5 diagonal strings which correspond to 5 currencies (US dollar, yuan, euro, Canadian dollar and Russian ruble). These strings are pulled on special automatic tuners moved by stepper motors directed by a computer algorithm.

This piece explores how new technologies and progress in such areas of knowledge as cryptography, mathematics, and computer science influence the financial system, inevitably changing the social structure of society.

Credits

The project is co-commissioned by Laboratoria Art&Science Space and Lykke AG

::vtol:: is the alias of Moscow-based media artist Dmitry Morozov (RU). He focuses on technological art–robotics, sound art, and science art. He is the laureate of the Sergei Kuryokhin Prize (St.Petersburg, 2013) and Prix Cube (France, 2014). Dmitry received honorable mentions at the VIDA 16.0 (Spain, 2014) and Prix Ars Electronica (Austria, 2015).

Silk

silk

Nomination

::vtol::, Dmitriy  Morozov

Die Installation Silk trackt alle Echtzeit-Veränderungen der Marktaktivitäten in Zusammenhang mit den Kryptowährungen Bitcoin und Litecoin. Die sich stetig verändernden Wechselkurse von Bitcoin gegenüber den wichtigsten Weltwährungen beeinflussen die Spannung der Saiten in dieser Installation und erzeugen je nach Stärke der Schwankungen unterschiedliche Töne. Das robotische System des Kunstwerks wird von einem Computeralgorithmus gesteuert – unter dem Einfluss dynamischer Datenveränderungen bringt die Installation Klangharmonien und -variationen hervor, die jenen eines komplexen Instruments nicht nachstehen.

Auf zwei Metallständern sind fünf diagonale Saiten angebracht, die fünf Währungen (US-Dollar, Yuan, Euro, kanadischer Dollar und russischer Rubel) entsprechen. Diese Saiten sind an speziellen automatischen Stimmgeräten angebracht, die mittels Schrittmotoren, welche von einem Computeralgorithmus gesteuert werden, die Spannung der Saiten regulieren.

Die Installation untersucht, wie neue Technologien und Fortschritte in Bereichen wie Kryptografie, Mathematik und Computerwissenschaft das Finanzsystem beeinflussen und die soziale Struktur der Gesellschaft unweigerlich verändern.

Credits

Das Projekt wurde von Laboratoria Art&Science Space und Lykke AG beauftragt.

::vtol:: ist das Alias des russischen Medienkünstlers Dmitry Morozov (RU). Seine Interessensschwerpunkte sind technologische Kunst/Robotik, Klangkunst sowie Schnittstellen von Wissenschaft und Kunst. Seine Arbeiten wurden mit dem Sergei-Kurjochin-Preis (St. Petersburg, 2013) und dem Prix Cube (Frankreich, 2014) ausgezeichnet. Dmitry Morozov erhielt lobende Erwähnungen bei der VIDA 16.0 (Spanien, 2014) sowie beim Prix Ars Electronica (Österreich, 2015).