Sentient Veil

sentientveil

Honorary Mention

Philip Beesley

Sentient Veil is a jewel-like canopy containing multiple miniature sound processors interwoven with hundreds of digitally controlled lights installed within the historic galleries of the lsabella Stewart Gardner Museum. The work pursues intimacy and sensitivity through intricate miniature components and layers of diffusive, hovering material close to the scale of a human body. Sentient Veil is composed of digitally fabricated cellular textile lining floating over the ceiling surface of the gallery. The work is composed of finely detailed interlinking skeletal components containing distributed computational controls with soft LED lighting and whispering interactive sound functions. Movement of visitors within the space triggers choruses of whispering responses emanating from miniature custom acoustic resonators integrated within the fabric of the sculpture. Glass vessels containing chemical protocells and carrying interactive LED lighting are also integrated within the sculpture.

The work contains textile-like details that respond to iconography within a religious painting by the 15th-century ltalian master Fra Angelico, located within an adjacent gallery. A direct dialogue with adjacent paintings, where the hybrid new fabric of the sculpture, carrying ambivalent, alien synthetic qualities, resonates and enriches the subtle meanings of traditional fabrics seen within the painting of nearby masters.

Hardware

Sentient Veil’s structure is composed of thermally expanded and laser cut acrylic diagrid spars that provide substantial strength while at the same time retaining flexibility, suggesting that the structures are capable of handling architectural-scale forces. Tensegrity coupling is featured, employing metal rod cores that stabilize the system. This structure offers minimal material consumption. Borosilicate glass and Mylar populate the acrylic canopy, adding density. Embedded within this structure are distributed infrared sensors that sense external movement generated by the audience as well as its own internal actions. These sensor networks provide feedback between controls and kinetic mechanisms while generating kinetic movement in actuators. Modulation systems in the environment are controlled by Teensy boards running off of the popular open source Arduino platform. Fed by data received from sensors, these custom­designed boards in turn communicate over custom-designed cabling, while running the software that generates complex behavior in actuators. The combination of computational and physical systems creates substantial complexity and unpredictability. For example, interactions with sensors at one location influence the behaviors of actuators both locally and globally.

Software

Sentient Veil’s software is structured as a modular hierarchy, consisting of a low-level layer and a high-level layer. The two layers are connected physically through USB. A low-level layer of firmware written in C++ runs on Teensy 3.2 USB-based development boards, which interface with peripheral boards connected to actuators and sensors. High-level software written in Python runs on a Raspberry Pi that provides flexibility for development, free from the limited processing power inherent to the Teensy microcontrollers. Software controls the interactive components of the installation including interactive LEDs and soundscapes.

Credits

Photo: PBAI

Sentient Veil by Philip Beesley

Philip Beesley Studio: Gabriella Bevilacqua, Adam Francey, Joey Jacobson, Nicole Jazwiec, Salvador Miranda, Reza Nik, Jordan Prosser, Filip Vranes
Collaborators: Augmented Reality: Katy Borner, Andreas Bueckle
Engineering: Rob Gorbet, David Kadish, Dana Kulic,
Sound Design: Alex Young
Sponsors: Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, University of Waterloo

Philip Beesley (CA) is a practising visual artist, architect, and Professor in Architecture at the University of Waterloo. Beesley’s work is widely cited in contemporary art and architecture, focused in the rapidly expanding technology and culture of responsive and interactive systems. His Toronto-based practice, Philip Beesley Architect lnc., combines the disciplines of professional architecture, science, engineering, and visual art. The studio’s methods incorporate industrial design, digital prototyping, instrument making, and mechatronics engineering.

Jury Statement

Philip Beesley has succeeded in composing layers of cellular textiles, a multitude of LED lights, and glass vessels containing chemical photocells glimmering in color, into generic beauty. Looking at this work, one imagines the experience as being akin to walking into an ancient dreamy forest, and like such forest, it recognizes you, hissing, breathing, and groaning. The jury appreciated this work for its combination of intricate technology and strong yet elegant aesthetics; a thought provoking installation that invites us to ponder about our most elemental state of being.

Sentient Veil

sentientveil

Honorary Mention

Philip Beesley

Sentient Veil ist ein an einen Baldachin erinnerndes skulpturales Gebilde aus Stoff in den historischen Galerieräume des lsabella Stewart Gardner Museum. In diese Skulptur sind zahlreiche Miniatur-Klangprozessoren verwoben, die mit Hunderten digital gesteuerten Leuchten verbunden sind. Durch die komplexen Miniaturbauteile und die Schichten schwebend auseinanderstrebender Materialien schafft die Skulptur, die etwa die Größe des menschlichen Körpers hat, eine Atmosphäre subtiler Intimität. Sentient Veil wurde aus digital gefertigten „Cellular Textiles“, Textilien, die aus ineinandergreifenden Zellen bestehen und von der Decke der Galerie schweben, hergestellt. Die Arbeit besteht aus detailliert ausgearbeiteten, miteinander verbunden Basiskomponenten, in die verteilte computergestützte Steuerelemente mit weichem LED-Licht und interaktiven Klangfunktionen integriert sind. Bewegen sich die BesucherInnen im Raum, ertönt ein chorales Wispern aus den in das Gebilde eingepassten, maßgefertigten Mini-Resonanzkörpern. Auch mit interaktiven LED-Leuchten ausgestattete Glasgefäße, die chemische Protozellen enthalten, sind in die Skulptur eingebaut.

Die Arbeit besticht durch textil anmutende Details, die auf die Ikonografie eines in der angrenzenden Galerie hängenden religiösen Gemäldes aus dem 15. Jahrhundert des italienischen Meisters Fra Angelico anspielen. Ein direkter Dialog mit den Gemälden im Umfeld entsteht, in dem das neue hybride Gewebe der Skulptur mit seinen ambivalenten, fremden und synthetischen Qualitäten die subtilen Bedeutungen traditioneller Stoffe in den Gemälden der alten Meister im Umfeld aufgreift und bereichert.

Hardware

Die Konstruktion des Sentient Veil besteht aus einem thermisch erweiterten und lasergeschnittenen Acryltragwerk mit Rautenstruktur, Diagrid genannt, das für die erforderliche Stärke und gleichzeitig für Flexibilität sorgt und darauf schließen lässt, dass die Konstruktion Kräfte in architektonischem Maßstab aufnehmen kann. Die Konstruktion verwendet Metallkernstäbe für Tensegrity-Verbindungen zur Stabilisierung des Systems und benötigt sehr wenig Material. Borosilikatglas und Mylar verleihen dem Acrylgebilde Dichte. In die Konstruktion integriert sind verteilte Infrarotsensoren, die Bewegungen des Publikums sowie eigene interne Aktionen wahrnehmen. Diese Sensorennetze sorgen für Feedback zwischen den Steuereinheiten und den kinetischen Mechanismen, während sie gleichzeitig kinetische Bewegung in Aktoren erzeugen. Die Modulationssysteme im Umfeld werden von Teensy Boards gesteuert, die unter der beliebten Open-Source-Plattform Arduino arbeiten. Diese maßgefertigten Boards kommunizieren über ebenfalls maßgefertigte Kabelverbindungen und sind mit einer Software ausgestattet, die komplexe Aktionen in den Aktoren bewirkt. Die Kombination aus rechnergestützten und physischen Systemen sorgt für Komplexität und Überraschungen. So beeinflussen etwa Interaktionen mit Sensoren an dem einem Ort das Verhalten der Aktoren sowohl lokal als auch global.

Software

Die Software von Sentient Veil ist als modulare Hierarchie organisiert und besteht aus einer Low-Level- und einer High-Level-Ebene. Die beiden Ebenen sind mittels USB verbunden. Eine Low-Level-Ebene mit Firmware, die in der Programmiersprache C++ geschrieben ist, läuft auf USB-basierten Teensy 3.2 Entwicklungsboards mit Schnittstelle zu Peripherie-Boards, die mit Aktoren und Sensoren verbunden sind. High-Level-Software in der Programmiersprache Python läuft auf einem Raspberry Pi, der – unabhängig von der eingeschränkten Rechenleistung der Teensy-Mikrocontroller – Flexibilität in der Entwicklung garantiert. Die Software steuert die interaktiven Komponenten der Installation einschließlich der interaktiven LEDs und Soundscapes.

Credits

Foto: PBAI

Sentient Veil von Philip Beesley

Philip Beesley Studio: Gabriella Bevilacqua, Adam Francey, Joey Jacobson, Nicole Jazwiec, Salvador Miranda, Reza Nik, Jordan Prosser, Filip Vranes

MitarbeiterInnen:
Augmented Reality: Katy Borner, Andreas Bueckle
Technik: Rob Gorbet, David Kadish, Dana Kulic
Sounddesign: Alex Young
Sponsoren: Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, University of Waterloo

Philip Beesley (CA) ist bildender Künstler, Architekt und Professor für Architektur an der University of Waterloo. Beesleys Arbeiten mit Fokus auf der rasant sich entwickelnden Technologie und der Kultur responsiver und interaktiver Systeme werden in der zeitgenössischen Kunst und Architektur häufig zitiert. Sein Studio in Toronto, Philip Beesley Architect lnc., arbeitet interdisziplinär an den Schnittstellen von Architektur, Wissenschaft, Technik und bildender Kunst. Das Studio arbeitet mit Methoden wie Industrial Design, digitaler Protypenherstellung, Instrumentenbau und Mechatronik.

Jury Statement

Philip Beesley gelang es, Schichten von „Cellular Textiles“, d.h. Textilien, die aus ineinandergreifenden Zellen bestehen, und eine Vielzahl von LEDs und Glasgefäßen, die farbig schimmernde chemische Fotozellen enthalten, zu kombinieren und ein Objekt von exemplarischer Schönheit zu schaffen. Betrachtet man diese Arbeit, meint man durch einen uralten verträumten Wald zu streifen und von diesem atmenden, knarzenden und knacksenden Dickicht auch wahrgenommen zu werden. Die Jury würdigte die Kombination aus komplexer Technologie und ausdrucksstarker, eleganter Ästhetik; eine zum Nachdenken anregende Installation, die uns einlädt, die universalen Bedingungen des Seins zu reflektieren.