Research Institute for Arts and Technology

riatresearch

Honorary Mention

Research Institute for Arts and Technology

Production in the 21st century works with distributed authorship and identities-artists present their processes “coded” in the fragmentations of global networks. Contemporary artistic output is developed out of collective inquiries, research processes are results of distributed agency between humans, machines, and programs. There is nothing more than to leave ‘traces’, not to produce “final” products but “process artefacts”. RIAT – The Research Institute for Arts and Technology – welcomes and embraces the ephemeral nature of meatspace, as it only consists of collectively held and performed visions of desirable futures.

The blockchain (through Bitcoin) is unarguably the key invention of the 21st century. The accelerating forces of decentralization do not only change how we think about electronic cash, but also changed our perception of organizations, trust and non-human agency through the introduction of immutable and unstoppable code on the blockchain. RIAT examines the global crypto-economic condition and its effects on culture and society.

RIAT is an independent research cluster based in Vienna, Austria. RIAT investigates how technology and art relate and inform each other-the key fields being blockchain technologies, open (source) hardware, experimental publishing, and epistemic cultures. RIAT explores and actively stress-tests the role of art in the age of the network society through formats such as the Coded Cultures festival for fringe research and experimental arts, and Making Artistic Technology-a conceptual framework extending creative technology.

Credits

Photo: RIAT CC-BY

RIAT – the Research Institute for Arts and Technology (AT) emerged in 2015, collecting clans of experimental artists and researchers who were working critically with technology, especially those immersed in the blockchain and/or open hardware. The institute was formed from the crypto-art collective Artistic Bokeh, the artist group 5uper.net and the experimental Artistic Technology Lab that was previously situated at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna.

Jury Statement

The RIAT – Research Institute for Arts & Technology based in Vienna acts as a platform for counter movement by creating space outside of academia and the established gallery system. The RIAT activists do not hesitate to tackle the most difficult and disturbing problems of our contemporary society such as creating crypto-currencies to change the course of our world. Moreover, they have initiated the Journal for Research Cultures to communicate their thoughts and experiences to the global community of academics and beyond. Artistic Bokeh at the Museumsquartier in Vienna and the Coded Cultures festival for fringe research and experimental arts are further activities. RIAT shows successfully how the reference to “Art” can provide an umbrella for unconventional and even revolutionary thinking.

Research Institute for Arts and Technology

riatresearch

Honorary Mention

Research Institute for Arts and Technology

Im 21. Jahrhundert werden Werke mit verteilter Autorschaft und verteilten Identitäten produziert – die KünstlerInnen präsentieren ihre Arbeitsprozesse „kodiert“ in den zerstreuten Strukturen globaler Netzwerke. Das zeitgenössische künstlerische Schaffen wird in kollektiver Praxis entwickelt, Forschungsprozesse sind Ergebnisse eines zwischen Menschen, Maschinen und Programmen verteilten Agens. Es können lediglich „Spuren“ hinterlassen werden, geht es doch nicht mehr darum, „Endprodukte“ zu liefern, sondern „prozessuale Artefakte“. RIAT – The Research Institute for Arts and Technology – begrüßt und bejaht die flüchtige Natur einer realen Welt, die nur aus kollektiv entwickelten und umgesetzten Visionen erstrebenswerter Zukunftsszenarien besteht.

Blockchain (die Grundlage von Bitcoin) ist zweifelsohne die entscheidende Erfindung des 21. Jahrhunderts. Die sich beschleunigenden Kräfte der Dezentralisierung verändern nicht nur unsere Einstellung zu elektronischem Zahlungsverkehr, sondern durch die Unveränderbarkeit und Unaufhaltsamkeit der Blockchain auch unsere Wahrnehmung von Organisationen, von Vertrauen und nicht-menschlichen agentiellen Potenzialen. RIAT setzt sich mit der globalen Kryptoökonomie und ihren Auswirkungen auf Kultur und Gesellschaft auseinander.

RIAT ist ein unabhängiger Forschungscluster mit Sitz in Wien. RIAT untersucht das Verhältnis und die Schnittstellen von Technologie und Kunst – wesentliche Handlungsfelder sind Blockchain-Technologien, Open (Source)-Hardware, experimentelle Formen der Publikation und epistemische Kulturen. RIAT erforscht die Rolle der Kunst im Zeitalter der vernetzten Gesellschaft und unterzieht sie Belastungstests in unterschiedlichen Formaten wie etwa dem Coded Cultures Festival for fringe research and experimental arts oder Making Artistic Technology – einem Rahmenkonzept zur  Erweiterung der Spielräume kreativer Technologie.

Credits

Foto: RIAT CC-BY

RIAT – the Research Institute for Arts and Technology (AT) entstand 2015 und kooperiert mit Gruppen experimenteller KünstlerInnen und ForscherInnen, die sich kritisch mit Technologie, insbesondere mit Blockchain und/oder offener Hardware, auseinandersetzen. Das Institut wurde von dem Kryptokunst-Kollektiv Bokeh, der Künstlergruppe 5uper.net und dem experimentellen Artistic Technology Lab, das zuvor an der Universität für angewandte Kunst in Wien untergebracht war, gegründet.

Jury Statement

Das RIAT – Research Institute for Arts & Technology in Wien fungiert als Plattform für eine Gegenbewegung, indem es neue Räume außerhalb von Akademien und des etablierten Galeriesystems schafft. Die RIAT-AktivistInnen zögern nicht, die schwierigsten und beunruhigendsten Probleme der heutigen Gesellschaft in Angriff zu nehmen, etwa indem sie Kryptowährungen entwickeln, um die Welt zu verändern. Weiters haben sie das Journal for Research Cultures initiiert, um der globalen ForscherInnen-Community und Interessierten ihre Ideen und Erfahrungen kommunizieren zu können. Weitere Aktivitäten der Plattform sind der Ausstellungsort Artistic Bokeh im Museumsquartier in Wien und das Coded Cultures Festival for fringe research and experimental arts. RIAT zeigt erfolgreich, wie durch die Verbindung von Kunst und Technologie eine Dachstruktur für unkonventionelles, ja revolutionäres Denken entstehen kann.