Rediscovery of Anima

RediscoveryOfAnima

Nomination

Akinori Goto

The aim of this project is to discover “anima,” which could have existed, but did not exist. The word “Anima” means “life” or “soul” in Latin, and “animation” derives from this word.

When I was creating the “toki-“series, which uses a 3D printer to create time from movement and give shape to this “time,” I realized that the reason this creation worked was not because the current technology exists. This creation could have existed a long time ago, just as long as the idea and inspiration existed. So I did not at all use the digital technology I have previously used and instead used technology that could have existed in the 19th century, when movies were born, as well as in ancient times, and tried to rediscover the anima. I explored what kind of connections the creation could have had with society if the anima did exist.

Through this I wish to once again pose the thrill and happiness one can feel from seeing movement, in the modern era, a time when technology is advanced and images are being consumed in various places.

Credits

Akinori Goto (JP), born in Gifu in 1984, is an artist. He graduated from Musashino Art University, Department of Visual Communication Design. His works, capturing invisible connections and relationships by combining cutting edge technology with methods and media that existed long ago, are now on exhibition. The main exhibitions in which he recently participated include Ars Electronica Festival 2017, SXSW ART PROGRAM 2017, and STOP LICHT exhibition 2017. His works are being publicly collected by the National Media Museum in the UK.

Thanks to:
Sotaro Sawamura and Taichi Kagami
Kota Endo
Support: Project to Support the Nurturing of Media Arts Creators, 2017

Rediscovery of Anima

Akinori Goto

Nomination

Das Ziel dieses Projektes ist es, „Anima“ zu entdecken, die existiert haben könnte, aber nicht existierte. Das Wort „Anima“ bedeutet „Leben“ oder „Seele“ im Lateinischen, und aus diesem Wort leitet sich „Animation“ ab. Als ich die „toki“-Serie kreierte, die mit einem 3-D-Drucker Zeit aus Bewegung erzeugt und dieser „Zeit“ Form gibt, wurde mir klar, dass diese Erfindung
nicht deshalb funktionierte, weil die aktuelle Technologie existiert. Diese Kreation hätte schon vor langer Zeit existieren können, wenn die Idee und Inspiration existiert hätte. Also habe ich keine digitale Technologie verwendet, die ich vorher benutzt habe, sondern eine Technologie, die im 19. Jahrhundert, als Filme geboren wurden, wie auch in der Antike existierte, und habe versucht, die Anima wiederzuentdecken. Ich untersuchte, welche Verbindungen die Schöpfung mit der Gesellschaft hätte haben können, wenn es die Anima gegeben hätte. Hierdurch
möchte ich noch einmal den Nervenkitzel und das Glück zum Ausdruck bringen, das man empfinden kann, wenn man in der Neuzeit, in einer Zeit, in der die Technik fortschrittlich ist und Bilder an verschiedenen Orten konsumiert werden, Bewegung sieht.

 

Credits

Akinori Goto (JP), geboren 1984 in Gifu, ist Künstler. Er ist Absolvent der Musashino Art University, Abteilung für visuelles Kommunikationsdesign. Seine Arbeiten fangen die unsichtbaren Verbindungen und Beziehungen ein, indem sie Spitzentechnologie mit längst existierenden Methoden und Medien verbinden. Zu den wichtigsten Ausstellungen, an denen er zuletzt teilnahm, gehören das Ars Electronica Festival 2017, das SXSW ART PROGRAM 2017 und die Ausstellung STOP LICHT 2017. Seine Werke werden vom National Media Museum in Großbritannien öffentlich gesammelt.

Thanks to:
Sotaro Sawamura and Taichi Kagami
Kota Endo
Support: Project to Support the Nurturing of Media Arts Creators, 2017