Project KOVR

kovr

Nomination

Leon Baauw, Marcha Schagen

We humans are creating an enormous invisible network on top of our existing biosphere–the infosphere. The infosphere consists of networks and radio waves. lt’s our new, ever-expanding environment that is growing at a staggering rate. Yet we roam around unprotected with privacy­-sensitive data, which might easily be tracked and misused by virtually anyone. We are not in control of our own privacy anymore. And privacy is what makes us human.

Clothing has always been a means to protect ourselves against the threats of the biosphere, and Project KOVR protects the individual from the infosphere. By testing and combining different layers of metalliferous fabrics, Dutch designers Schagen and Baauw found an effective solution to protect the individual and his/her everyday tech-devices from radio waves and radiation. The black pockets allow the wearer to still be reachable with their device of choice. Project KOVR is a wearable countermovement designed for people who want to regain control.

Credits

Telefication Zevenaar, the Netherlands

Photo: Suzanne Waijers

Started in 2016, Project KOVR (pronounced cover) is an ongoing project of Dutch designers Marcha Schagen (NL) and Leon Baauw (NL). The name originates from Esperanto, created to be an easy­-to-learn, universal language that puts aside political and cultural differences and enhances communication transparency. The project is a result of a unique complementary and multidisciplinary collaboration between two designers embodying different fields of work. Whereas Utrecht based Schagen (1991) creates fashion, wearable objects, and performances, Baauw (1991), works as a (graphic) designer, researcher, and educator from Rotterdam. Their shared vision and interest in contemporary and future social affairs led to what is now known as Project KOVR.

Project KOVR

kovr

Nomination

Leon Baauw, Marcha Schagen

Wir Menschen schaffen ein gigantisches unsichtbares Netzwerk über unserer Biosphäre: die Infosphäre. Diese aus einem unsichtbaren Netzwerk und Funkwellen bestehende Infosphäre ist unser neues, sich unablässig erweiterndes Umfeld, das in atemberaubendem Tempo wächst. Das Problem dabei ist, dass wir uns in diesem Raum schutzlos mit Daten bewegen, die sensible Informationen privater Natur enthalten, und einfach von jedem nachverfolgt und missbraucht werden könnten. Wir haben die Kontrolle über unsere Privatsphäre verloren. Doch erst Privatsphäre macht uns zu Menschen.

Kleidung hat seit jeher dazu gedient, uns vor den Gefahren der Biosphäre zu schützen. Project KOVR schützt uns nun vor der Infosphäre. Die niederländischen DesignerInnen Schagen und Baauw testeten und kombinierten verschiedene Schichten metallhaltiger Stoffe, bis sie eine wirksame Lösung fanden, um den Einzelnen und seine technischen Geräte vor Funkwellen und Strahlung zu schützen. Die schwarzen Taschen ermöglichen es dem Träger bzw. der Trägerin, auf dem Gerät seiner/ihrer Wahl nach wie vor erreichbar zu sein. Project KOVR versteht sich als Gegentrend im Bereich Wearables und ist für Menschen gedacht, die wieder die Kontrolle über ihr Leben erlangen wollen.

Credits

Telefication Zevenaar, Niederlande

Foto: Suzanne Waijers

Das 2016 gestartete Project KOVR (Aussprache: cover) ist ein laufendes Projekt der niederländischen DesignerInnen Marcha Schagen (NL) und Leon Baauw (NL). Der Name kommt aus dem Esperanto, einer leicht erlernbaren universellen Sprache, die politische und kulturelle Differenzen ausklammert und die Transparenz von Kommunikation fördert. Das Projekt resultiert aus einer komplementären und multidisziplinären Kooperation zwischen zwei DesignerInnen, die unterschiedliche Arbeitsfelder verkörpern. Die in Utrecht ansässige Marcha Schagen kreiert Mode, Wearables und Performances, Leon Baauw (1991) lebt und  arbeitet als (Grafik-)Designer, Forscher und Pädagoge in Rotterdam. Project KOVR entstand aus einer gemeinsamen Vision und dem gemeinsamen Interesse an zeitgenössischen und zukünftigen gesellschaftlichen Entwicklungen.