Out of Exile

outofexile

Honorary Mention

Nonny de la Peña, Emblematic Group

When Daniel Ashley Pierce is confronted about his sexual orientation by his family in a “religious intervention,” the scene becomes startlingly dramatic and violent. Using real audio combined with virtual reality to put the audience inside the story, Out of Exile is a powerful parable of the kind of hostility faced by so many in the LGBTQ community. With 40% of homeless youth in America identifying LGBTQ, the piece shines light on this terrible statistic and further reveals that the majority of those facing homelessness come from communities of color. In equal parts tragic and hopeful, the piece ends with resilience and courage as Daniel and three other LGBTQ youth share their triumph over despair and remind us that all young people need to be true to themselves.

Credits

Lead Artist: Nonny de la Peña, Emblematic Group
Producer: Julie Young
Executive Producers: Sara Ramirez, Michael Licht
VR Technical Director: Jonathan Yomayuza
Developer: Alex Batty
Composer: Gingger Shankar
Narrator: Sara Ramirez
Associate Producers: Ivana Coleman, Eren Aksu, Cedric Gamelin;
Actors: Kyle Wills, Julene Renee, Deborah Cartwright, Ed Mehler, Rudy Whitcomb, Donna Callaway

Nonny de la Peña (US), founder of Emblematic Group (US), uses digital reality technologies to tell important stories both fictional and news-based that create intense, empathic engagement on the part of viewers. Called The Godmother of Virtual Reality by Engadget and The Guardian, she was also named “One of the People Who Made the World More Creative” by Fast Company.

Jury Statement

Nonny del la Peña is known by many as the ‘Godmother of VR’. Committed to new ways of storytelling and immersive journalism, she experimented with virtual reality at the UCLA Creative Technology Lab long before the current hype. Her approach has inspired the first Oculus prototype, as well as many other technology companies, media outlets, and journalists. The jury agreed that she has the ability to use the power of virtual reality in a unique way to transport people inside stories and situations to create empathy and raise awareness for real world problems.

Out of Exile

outofexile

Honorary Mention

Nonny de la Peña, Emblematic Group

Als Daniel Ashley Pierce von seiner Familie in einer Art „religiösen Intervention“ mit seiner sexuellen Orientierung konfrontiert wird, gewinnt die Filmszene an Dramatik und eskaliert. Out of Exile, eine eindringliche Parabel über die Anfeindungen, denen so viele Mitglieder der LGBTQ-Community ausgesetzt sind, kombiniert Original-Audioaufnahmen mit Virtual-Reality-Technologie, um die ZuseherInnen in die Geschichte hineinzuziehen. 40 Prozent der obdachlosen Jugendlichen in Amerika identifizieren sich mit der LGBTQ-Community: Das Stück thematisiert diese erschreckende Statistik und zeigt auf, dass die Mehrheit der von Obdachlosigkeit Betroffenen Farbige sind. Das ebenso tragische wie hoffnungsvolle Stück endet mit einem Aufruf zu Widerstandsfähigkeit: Daniel und drei andere Jugendliche der LGBTQ-Community triumphieren gemeinsam über ihre Verzweiflung und machen jungen Menschen Mut, sich selbst treu zu bleiben.

Credits

Künstlerin: Nonny de la Peña, Emblematic Group
Produzentin: Julie Young
ProduktionsleiterInnen: Sara Ramirez, Michael Licht
Technische Leitung VR: Jonathan Yomayuza
Entwickler: Alex Batty
Komponistin: Gingger Shankar
Erzählerin: Sara Ramirez
AufnahmeleiterInnen: Ivana Coleman, Eren Aksu, Cedric Gamelin;
SchauspielerInnen: Kyle Wills, Julene Renee, Deborah Cartwright, Ed Mehler, Rudy Whitcomb, Donna Callaway

Nonny de la Peña (US), Gründerin der Emblematic Group (US), erzählt mithilfe von Digital-Reality-Technologien brisante Geschichten, die sowohl fiktiv als auch nachrichtenbasiert sind und eine intensive, empathische Beteiligung der BetrachterInnen bewirken. Sie wurde von dem Blog-Netzwerk Engadget und der Zeitschrift The Guardian als „Patin der virtuellen Realität“ bezeichnet, das Magazin Fast Company beschrieb sie als „eine der Personen, die die Welt kreativer machten“.

Jury Statement

Nonny del la Peña ist vielen als „Patin der virtuellen Realität“ bekannt. Fasziniert von neuen Möglichkeiten des Geschichtenerzählens und des immersiven Journalismus, experimentierte sie – lange vor dem derzeitigen Hype – am Creative Technology Lab der UCLA mit Virtual Reality. Ihr Ansatz war nicht nur Inspiration für den ersten Oculus-Prototypen, sondern auch für viele andere Technologie- und Medienunternehmen sowie JournalistInnen. Die JurymitgliederInnen waren sich einig, dass sie die Fähigkeit hat, das Potenzial der virtuellen Realität auf außergewöhnliche Weise zu nutzen, um Menschen in Geschichten und Situationen hineinzuziehen und Empathie zu fördern sowie das Bewusstsein für die realen Probleme der Welt zu schärfen.