nonvisual-art

nonvisualart

Honorary Mention

Lisa Buttinger

Why the title nonvisual? “My image emerges in a realm that’s invisible to us, a gray area in which science (physics) meets material. To shift this encounter into the visible realm, I need two things: light and the refractive properties of the material. Plus, a space takes shape in this flat object; something virtual resonates within it, something intangible that, although it’s ‘not there,’ leaves behind the impression of real dimensions.” (Lisa Buttinger)

nonvisual-art is an image that, at first glance, seemingly doesn’t even exist optically. But upon closer inspection, an enchanted world appears—a hidden domain brought to light by light. The image materializes via the refraction of light on the surface of elements made of cellophane foil and air bubbles trapped in an adhesive substance. The positioning of these elements on an LED panel seems to have occurred randomly but is actually the result of precise calculation, and this yields a surprising visual experience. Lisa Buttinger summons forth the physics inherent in these common, everyday disposable products. She conducted experimental research on the light-refracting characteristics of these materials and thereby turned “natural science” into a pictorial tool. In going about using it, she works with various modes of seeing and perceiving, which is what makes the invisible images visible in the first place. A polarizing filter refracts “the unseen spectrum” into colors. Then, when installation visitors wearing 3-D glasses look at her work, they behold a spatially scaled configuration that virtually draws the viewer into its midst. Lisa Buttinger painstakingly crafts her cellophane foil images on a computer and then structures their arrangement on an LED panel so as to bring out their extraordinary qualities. Even the slightest change in positioning on the panel’s surface produces a change in the invisible image. She literally custom-builds her colorful, enchanted world. Lisa Buttinger created this work—presented here in front of an LED panel—in conjunction with a design project for an advanced course in image processing she took in 2017. A theoretical investigation of the topic “illusion” for her diploma thesis constituted the basis of this artistic work.

Text: Tereza Szente

Credits

Photo: Ars Electronica / Martin Hieslmair

Lisa Maria Buttinger (AT) was born in 1997 in Braunau, Upper Austria. She attended Schalchen Elementary School 2004-08, Braunau Preparatory School 2008-12, and then Linz High School for Artistic Design, from which she graduated in April 2017. While at prep school, an enriched program for gifted youngsters enabled her to also attend Schloss Traunsee Academy. In 2014, in conjunction with a mandatory internship, she got four weeks of experience in the private sector at media.dot.

Jury Statement

One can never know from where the next groundbreaking idea comes. What will start the next wave of artistic expression? And what else might this lead to?  nonvisual-art was passed over to the STARTS Prize jury from the u19 category and it was immediately agreed that this project deserves an Honorary Mention. It is strong in its curious investigation while at the same time it is controlled and very open to its “handmade” expression. Not only did Lisa create enchanted images, she also invented her own new media with everyday materials. She used her knowledge of natural science and turned it into an artistic tool where new, beautiful, almost magic images appear. This project is a really good example of how artistic exploration can lead to new expressions, new innovative tools brought to us by a very young artist who has received the right support to enable her to follow and develop her artistic skills and curiosity.

nonvisual-art

nonvisualart

Honorary Mention

Lisa Buttinger

Warum non-visual als Titel? „Mein Bild entsteht in einer für uns unsichtbaren Grauzone, wo Naturwissenschaft (Physik) auf Materie trifft. Um diese Begegnung ins Sichtbare zu übersetzen, brauche ich beides: Licht und die lichtbrechende Eigenschaft der Materie. Darüber hinaus entsteht in diesem flachen Objekt ein Raum, es schwingt etwas Virtuelles, Nicht-Fassbares mit, das, obwohl es „nicht da“ ist, den Eindruck realer Dimensionen hinterlässt.“ (Lisa Buttinger)

nonvisual-art ist ein Bild, das visuell gar nicht zu existieren scheint, bei genauer Betrachtung jedoch eine Zauberwelt darstellt: eine verborgene Welt, die erst durch Licht ans Licht kommt. Das Bild entsteht durch die Brechung des Lichts in der Oberfläche von Elementen aus Zellophanfolie und in in einem Kleber eingeschlossenen Luftbläschen. Die Positionierung dieser Elemente auf einem LED-Panel scheint zufällig zu erfolgen, ist aber genau berechnet und führt zu einem überraschenden Seherlebnis. Lisa Buttinger fordert die Physik hinter diesen banalen Alltagsabfällen heraus. Sie hat die lichtbrechenden Eigenschaften dieser Materialien experimentell erforscht und macht so quasi „die Naturwissenschaft“ zum bildnerischen Werkzeug. Dabei arbeitet sie mit unterschiedlichen Seh- und Wahrnehmungsmodi, die das unsichtbare Bild für den Betrachter erst sichtbar machen: Ein Polarisationsfilter bricht das „Unsichtbare“ in Farben auf, und betrachtet man ihr Werk dann mit einer 3D-Brille, ergibt sich eine Raumstaffelung, die den Betrachter förmlich einsaugt. Lisa Buttinger bringt ihre am Computer sorgfältig erstellten Zellophanfolien-Bilder nach einer ausgeklügelten Struktur auf ihrer Spielwiese, einem LED-Panel, an. Jede kleine Veränderung in der Positionierung auf der Fläche führt zu einer Veränderung des unsichtbaren Bildes: Sie baut sich ihre bunte Zauberwelt wortwörtlich zurecht. Ihre Arbeit ist im Unterrichtsfach Bildbearbeitung im Rahmen des Gestaltungsprojektes des 5. Jahrgangs 2017 entstanden und wird vor einem LED-Panel präsentiert. Die theoretische Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema „Illusion“ in ihrer Diplomarbeit diente ihr als Grundlage für die künstlerische Arbeit.

Text: Tereza Szente

Credits

Foto: Ars Electronica / Martin Hieslmair

Lisa Maria Buttinger (AT), geboren 1997 in Braunau am Inn, besuchte von 2004 bis 2008 die Volksschule Schalchen, danach von 2008 bis 2012 das Gymnasium Braunau und schließlich die HBLA für künstlerische Gestaltung in Linz, die sie im April 2017 abgeschlossen hat. Im Rahmen eines Talentförderangebotes besuchte sie während der Schulzeit am Gymnasium die Schloss Traunsee Akademie. Im Rahmen eines Pflichtpraktikums arbeitete sie 2014 vier Wochen lang bei dem Unternehmen media.dot.

Jury Statement

Man kann nie wissen, woher die nächste bahnbrechende Idee kommt. Was wird den nächsten künstlerischen Trend auslösen? Und wo könnte dieser hinführen? Als der STARTS-PRIZE-Jury das Projekt nonvisual-art von der Wettbewerbskategorie „U19 – Create Your World“ vorgelegt wurde, war man war sich sofort einig, dass es einen Anerkennungspreis verdient. Es überzeugt durch Wissbegier und Forschungsdrang, die handgefertigte Ästhetik zeugt zugleich von akribischer Feinarbeit und spielerischer Offenheit. Lisa schuf nicht nur zauberhafte Bilder, sondern erfand auch ein neues Medium aus alltäglichen Materialien. Sie entwickelte mit ihrem theoretischen Kenntnissen aus den Naturwissenschaften ein künstlerisches Werkzeug, um neuartige Bilder von fast magischer Schönheit zu schaffen. Dieses Projekt ist ein wirklich gutes Beispiel dafür, wie künstlerische Forschung neue Ausdrucksformen, neue innovative Tools hervorbringen kann. Diese werden uns hier von einer sehr jungen Künstlerin vorgestellt, der es durch entsprechende Unterstützung ermöglicht wurde, ihrer Neugier nachzugehen und ihre künstlerischen Fähigkeiten zu entwickeln.