Making Sense – Citizen Sensing Toolkit

makingsense

Honorary Mention

Making Sense Team

Making Sense was a project funded by the European Commission within the H2020 Call ICT2015 Research and Innovation, under the CAPS “Collective Awareness Platforms for Sustainability and Social Innovation” programme. It was designed to show how open-source software, open-source hardware, digital maker practices and open-source design could be used effectively by local communities to appropriate their own sensing tools to make sense of their environments, and address environmental problems, mainly in air pollution, noise and nuclear radiation. Based on nine elaborate pilots in Amsterdam, Barcelona and Prishtina, Making Sense developed a toolkit for participatory sensing, aimed at deepening our understanding of the processes which can enable collective awareness for sustainability. The toolkit consists of hardware, software and guidelines.

The pilots have led us to develop a conceptual and methodological framework for participatory environmental maker practices, which we call “citizen sensing”. This framework acts as a guide to providing citizens, communities and middle ground organisations with the tools to enhance our everyday environmental awareness; in turn, these tools enable active intervention in our surroundings, change in our individual and collective practices, and ultimately, a hands-on transformation of the environment in which we live.

We have brought the learnings of the project together in a Creative Commons licensed, on-line and printed book containing the Making Sense framework, 25 tools, 6 cases, multiple portraits and seven key insights. The book was authored by 23 researchers and practitioners. Furthermore, we updated the Smart Citizen Kit and its platform. Making Sense ran between 2015 and 2018, and combined the efforts of Waag Society; University of Dundee; Fab Lab Barcelona at the Institute for Advanced Architecture in Catalonia; the Joint Research Centre of the European Commission; the Peer Educators Network, and University of Twente.

Credits

Primary authors for the toolkit:

Making Sense project: Mara Balestrini, Sihana Bejtullahu, Stefano Bocconi, Gijs Boerwinkel, Marc Boonstra, Douwe-Sjoerd Boschman, Guillem Camprodon, Saskia Coulson, Tomas Diez, Ioan Fazey, Drew Hemment, Christine van den Horn, Trim Ilazi, Ivonne Jansen-Dings, Frank Kresin, Dan McQuillan, Susana Nascimento, Emma Pareschi, Alexandre Pólvora, Ron Salaj, Michelle Scott, Gui Seiz, Mel Woods

Design of the book: Lyall Bruce

Furthermore, we have a substantial list of collaborators, to be found on pages 220 and 221 of the Citizen Sensing Toolkit (2018)

Making Sense was funded by the European Commission within the H2020 Call ICT2015 Research and Innovation, specifically under the CAPS “Collective Awareness Platforms for Sustainability and Social Innovation” programme (grant number 688620).

The Making Sense Team is comprised of activists, artists, critics, designers, makers, programmers, thought-leaders and researchers that together have extensive expertise and hands-on experience in citizen science, as well as in developing technology for social innovation and empowerment, aka Digital Social Innovation. They have initiated and taken part in previous European projects that put people, their desires, needs and abilities first in developing new applications of mostly open source hard- and software. Making Sense brought them together based on their complementary skills, and a shared passion for providing tools to enable communities to rise up and take ownership of their data, their city and their collective future, based on a sound integration of public research and practice.

Mara Balestrini

Mara is a Human Computer Interaction (HCI) researcher and a technology strategist. She is the CEO of Ideas for Change, a think tank and consultancy firm advising cities, businesses and institutions on innovation, open and collaborative strategies, civic tech, and exponential growth (see the frameworks @Pentagrowth and @The Bristol approach). She is also a Senior Research Fellow at the Fab Lab Barcelona where she coordinates Making Sense, a European project that seeks to empower citizens through personal digital manufacturing applied to the design of environmental sensors, and co-founder of SalusCoop, the first Spanish cooperative for citizens’ health data. Mara co-directs the Master in Design for Emergent Futures at the Institute for Advanced Architecture of Catalonia. She earned a PhD in Computer Science from the Intel Collaborative Research Institute on Sustainable Connected Cities at University College London. Mara_Balestrini_Bio.pdf

Stefano Bocconi

Stefano Bocconi was born on the 12.10.1967 in Florence, Italy. Stefano has worked as a researcher in computer science in the Netherlands at TU Delft, VU University Amsterdam, and Elsevier Amsterdam and in Italy at the University of Turin. He has worked as a software engineer at Lucent Technologies and other companies.

He obtained his PhD Automatic Generation of Video Documentaries at CWI, Amsterdam in 2005, and has a masters degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Florence, Italy.

Susana Figueiredo do Nascimento

Susana Nascimento is a Policy Analyst at the European Commission, Joint Research Centre, EU Policy Lab / Foresight, Behavioural Insights and Design for Policy Lab Unit. She is a social scientist interested in qualitative approaches to engage a broader, collaborative and inclusive range of people in creating new solutions for complex issues. Specializing in science and technology studies, her recent focus is on future oriented technology, blockchain and DLTs, transdisciplinarity, codesign for policy innovation, open science and technology, maker cultures and citizen engagement. Prior to joining the JRC she worked as researcher in CETCOPRA / Centre d’Etude des Techniques, des Connaissances et des Pratiques, CIES-IUL / Center for Research and Studies in Sociology, Vitruvius FabLab, and IPSC-JRC / Institute for the Protection and Security of the Citizen. She holds a PhD in Philosophy from Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne and a PhD in Sociology from ISCTE-IUL / University Institute of Lisbon under joint tutorship. She held prior research positions working on human-computer interaction, AI and robotics, phenomenology, cognitive and life sciences, science fiction cultures, ethics and values in technology.

Drew Hemment

Drew Hemment is an artist, curator and academic researcher. He is founder and Creative Director of FutureEverything, and a Dundee Fellow, Reader at Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design, University of Dundee.

Drew is currently leading the FAULT LINES talent development programme for artists in technology innovation (Ambition for Excellence). He is Artistic Director of the FutureEverything Festival, Manchester’s digital culture festival since 1995, and was commissioned by the Singapore Government in 2015 to curate FutureEverything Singapore, the flagship digital culture component of the 50th anniversary of the founding of Singapore. He has introduced art and culture into the flagship IoT and Smart Cities programmes of the UK (CityVerve) and EU, and is Coordinator and Project Lead of the GROW Observatory, a Citizens’ Observatory funded by EC Horizon 2020.

Over 20 years, his work has been covered by New York Times, BBC and NBC and recognised by awards from the arts, technology and business sectors, including the Lever Prize and Prix Ars Electronica. He is on the Editorial Board of Leonardo. Journal of Art, Sciences and Technology, and was a leadership role-model on a pilot leadership programme for the AHRC. He was involved in seminal events in 1980s dance culture, and in 1990 was the DJ at the biggest peace time mass arrest in British history. In 1999, awarded a PhD at Lancaster University, in 2010 an Eyebeam resident (USA), and in 2009 elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of the Arts (UK).

Ivonne Dorine Jansen-Dings

As Head of Programme at Waag Society, Ivonne investigates how we can make citizens resilient to the onset of smart city technologies. By raising awareness about the risks for society, she hopes to empower people and help them to create viable alternatives. Although we should not be naive about the way our personal lives and democratic structures are being influenced by centralized and closed technology, she is optimistic about the different ways people are finding to harness the same power for social innovation and the common good.

Coming from an interaction design background she has been a project manager, project developer and team leader for many years in the ICT and innovation domain. Her expertise lies in understanding the uncertainties disruptive technologies can bring and building practical bridges between the different stakeholders involved. Whether this is through agile development approaches, co-creation workshops, hackathons, manifestos, labs, pilots or other types of creative research.

As Head of Program at Waag Society she has led large European projects like Apps for Europe and is now spearheading the Smart Citizens Lab. From the beginning of the Open Data movement in the Netherlands she have been a vocal advocate of Open Government practices, through projects like Apps for Amsterdam, Code for NL, Making Sense, Clarity and E-Dem.nl. She specialises in the way peer-to-peer technology and bottom-up participation influences the policy making process.

Currently she is a board member of the ISOC foundation and Code for NL and is a mother of three children.

Frank Kresin

Frank Kresin (b. 1972) is the Managing Director at the DesignLab at the University of Twente. The DesignLab is the creative hub of the University, where academic research and societal challenges meet, mediated by design processes. He has been trained as a film maker, and earned a Master’s degree in Artificial Intelligence in 1997. He worked as a film maker and designer at the University of Amsterdam, and was a programme manager at the Digital University consortium. From 2006 until 2016, Frank has been affiliated with Waag Society, first as a programme manager, and from 2010 as its Research Director. He was responsible for Waag Society’s research programme aimed at developing and questioning technologies to address a wide range of societal issues.

Frank has been involved in a great number of projects and programmes focusing on Creative Care, Future Internet, Maker Movement, Smart Cities and Smart Citizens. He is the co-founder of Apps for Europe, City SDK, CineGrid, Code 4 Europe, Digital Social Innovation, Making Sense and the Smart Citizens Lab. He regularly publishes on transdisciplinary research in the creative industries and he gives presentations on this topic. Furthermore, Frank is a board member of the Dutch The Internet Society and The Mobile City, and serves at the supervisory boards of Tetem and V2_, Institute for Instable Media.

More information: https://www.linkedin.com/in/kresin/

Twitter: @kresin 20180214_Frank_Kresin_LinkedIn_CV.pdf

Alexandre Roque Mendes Pólvora

Alexandre Pólvora is a Policy Analyst and Researcher at the EU Policy Lab of the Joint Research Centre, European Commission, with current focus on participatory and distributed technology models and collaborative and transdisciplinary frameworks for policy advice. Main research and publication fields ranging from everyday life studies and qualitative social analysis to co-creation and action research. He was previously Researcher at CETCOPRA of Université Paris 1 / Panthéon- Sorbonne; Associate Researcher at Vitruvius Fab Lab, and at the Centre for Research and Studies in Sociology as MC of COST Action ‘Investigating Cultural Sustainability’, both at ISCTE-IUL / University Institute of Lisbon; Visiting Researcher at the Department of STS of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; and Associate Researcher and Consultant in participatory and community-based CSO/NGO projects at national and international levels.

Mel Woods

Mel Woods is Reader at University of Dundee where she develops highly collaborative and interdisciplinary approaches to practice in the Creative and Digital Economy. A central research interest is in designing for creative intelligence with a focus on people, future technologies, societal challenges and change-making. She is passionate about issues of environmental concern at local and global level.

Jury Statement

The CAPS EU funded project Making Sense, coordinated by Stichting Waag Society, shows how citizens can use open source technology and open sensors to collectively act at the civic level. Making Sense developed an easy to install Toolkit—including a sensor kit and a data platform—which allows citizens to collect, share, and interpret open data about temperature, humidity, noise, and air quality. The project enables citizens, city halls, and communities to use data for the common good, since it can improve citizens’ environmental awareness. The smart Citizen Sensing Toolkit fosters citizens’ engagement in solving urban environmental issues they care about. It also facilitates their collaboration with experts and technologists to achieve positive change through real world pilots.

Making Sense – Citizen Sensing Toolkit

Making Sense Team

Honorary Mention

Making Sense war ein von der Europäischen Kommission im Rahmen des H2020 Call ICT2015 Research and Innovation im Zuge des des CAPS-Programms „Collective Awareness Platforms for Sustainability and Social Innovation“ finanziertes Projekt. Es wurde entwickelt, um zu zeigen, wie Open-Source-Software, Open-Source-Hardware, Digital-Maker-Praktiken und Open-Source-Design effektiv von den lokalen Gemeinden genutzt werden können, um sich Sensor-Tools anzueignen, mit denen sie ihre Umgebung verstehen und Umweltprobleme, vor allem bei Luftverschmutzung, Lärm und nuklearer Strahlung, angehen können. Basierend auf neun aufwendigen Pilotprojekten in Amsterdam, Barcelona und Priština entwickelte Making Sense ein Toolkit für partizipatives Sensing, um unser Verständnis der Prozesse zu vertiefen, die ein kollektives Bewusstsein für Nachhaltigkeit ermöglichen können. Das Toolkit besteht aus Hardware, Software und Richtlinien. Die Pilotphase hat uns veranlasst, einen konzeptionellen und methodischen Rahmen für partizipative Umweltpraktiken zu entwickeln, den wir „citizen sensing“ nennen. Dieser Rahmen dient als Leitfaden, um BürgerInnen, Gemeinden und Mittelstandsorganisationen die Instrumente in die Hand zu geben, mit denen wir unser alltägliches Umweltbewusstsein stärken können; diese Instrumente wiederum ermöglichen ein aktives Eingreifen in unsere Umgebung, eine Veränderung unserer individuellen und kollektiven Praktiken und letztlich eine praktische Veränderung der Umwelt, in der wir leben. Wir haben die Erkenntnisse aus dem Projekt unter Creative Commons lizenziert und online bzw. als gedrucktes
Buch zusammengefasst, welches das Making Sense Framework – 25 Tools, sechs Fälle, mehrere Porträts und sieben Schlüsselerkenntnisse – enthält. Das Buch wurde von 23 ForscherInnen und PraktikerInnen verfasst. Außerdem haben wir das Smart Citizen Kit und seine Plattform aktualisiert. Making Sense lief zwischen 2015 und 2018 und vereinte die Bemühungen der Waag Society, der University of Dundee, des Fab Lab Barcelona am Institute for Advanced Architecture in Katalonien, des Joint Research Centre der Europäischen Kommission, des Peer Educators Network und der Universität Twente.

Credits

Hauptautoren für das Toolkit:

Making Sense project: Mara Balestrini, Sihana Bejtullahu, Stefano Bocconi, Gijs Boerwinkel, Marc Boonstra, Douwe-Sjoerd Boschman, Guillem Camprodon, Saskia Coulson, Tomas Diez, Ioan Fazey, Drew Hemment, Christine van den Horn, Trim Ilazi, Ivonne Jansen-Dings, Frank Kresin, Dan McQuillan, Susana Nascimento, Emma Pareschi, Alexandre Pólvora, Ron Salaj, Michelle Scott, Gui Seiz, Mel Woods

Gestaltung des Buches: Lyall Bruce

Außerdem haben wir eine umfangreiche Liste von Mitarbeitern, die Sie auf den Seiten 220 und 221 des Citizen Sensing Toolkit (2018) finden.

Making Sense wurde von der Europäischen Kommission im Rahmen des H2020 Call ICT2015 Research and Innovation, insbesondere im Rahmen des CAPS-Programms „Collective Awareness Platforms for Sustainability and Social Innovation“ (Förderkennzeichen 688620) gefördert.

Das Making Sense Team besteht aus Aktivisten und Aktivistinnen, KünstlerInnen, KritikerInnen, DesignerInnen, MacherInnen, ProgrammiererInnen, VordenkerInnen und ForscherInnen, die zusammen über umfassende Expertise und praktische Erfahrung in der Bürgerwissenschaft sowie in der Entwicklung von Technologien für soziale Innovation und Empowerment, auch bekannt als Digital Social Innovation, verfügen. Sie haben frühere europäische Projekte initiiert und daran teilgenommen, die Menschen, ihre Wünsche, Bedürfnisse und Fähigkeiten in den Mittelpunkt der Entwicklung neuer Anwendungen von meist Open Source Hard- und Software zu stellen. Making Sense brachte sie zusammen, basierend auf ihren komplementären Fähigkeiten und einer gemeinsamen Leidenschaft für die Bereitstellung von Werkzeugen, die es den Gemeinden basierend auf einer soliden Integration von öffentlicher Forschung und Praxis ermöglichen, ihre Daten, ihre Stadt und ihre kollektive Zukunft in Besitz zu nehmen.

Mara Balestrini

Mara ist eine Human Computer Interaction (HCI) Forscherin und Technologiestrategin. Sie ist CEO von Ideas for Change, einem Think Tank und Beratungsunternehmen, das Städte, Unternehmen und Institutionen in den Bereichen Innovation, offene und kollaborative Strategien, Bürgertechnologie und exponentielles Wachstum berät (siehe die Frameworks @Pentagrowth und @The Bristol approach). Sie ist außerdem Senior Research Fellow am Fab Lab Barcelona, wo sie Making Sense koordiniert, ein europäisches Projekt, das darauf abzielt, die BürgerInnen durch persönliche digitale Fertigung bei der Entwicklung von Umweltsensoren zu unterstützen, und Mitbegründerin von SalusCoop, der ersten spanischen Genossenschaft für Gesundheitsdaten von BürgerInnen. Mara leitet den Master in Design for Emergent Futures am Institut für fortgeschrittene Architektur in Katalonien. Sie promovierte in Informatik am Intel Collaborative Research Institute on Sustainable Connected Cities am University College London.

Stefano Bocconi

Stefano Bocconi wurde am 12.10.1967 in Florenz, Italien, geboren. Stefano hat als Forscher in den Niederlanden an der TU Delft, der VU University Amsterdam und Elsevier Amsterdam sowie in Italien an der Universität Turin gearbeitet. Er hat als Software-Ingenieur bei Lucent Technologies und anderen Unternehmen gearbeitet.

Er promovierte 2005 am CWI, Amsterdam, und hat einen Master-Abschluss in Elektrotechnik von der Universität Florenz, Italien.

Susana Figueiredo do Nascimento

Susana Nascimento ist Policy-Analystin bei der Europäischen Kommission, Joint Research Centre, EU Policy Lab / Foresight, Behavioural Insights and Design for Policy Lab Unit. Sie ist eine Sozialwissenschaftlerin, die an qualitativen Ansätzen interessiert ist, um ein breiteres, kollaboratives und integratives Spektrum von Menschen in die Entwicklung neuer Lösungen für komplexe Probleme einzubeziehen. Sie hat sich auf Wissenschafts- und Technikforschung spezialisiert und konzentriert sich auf zukunftsorientierte Technologien, Block-Chain und DLTs, Transdisziplinarität, Co-Design für politische Innovation, offene Wissenschaft und Technologie, Herstellerkulturen und bürgerschaftliches Engagement. Vor ihrem Eintritt in die GFS arbeitete sie als Forscherin im CETCOPRA / Centre d’Etude des Techniques, des Connaissances et des Pratiques, CIES-IUL / Center for Research and Studies in Sociology, Vitruvius FabLab und IPSC-JRC / Institute for the Protection and Security of the Citizen. Sie hat einen Doktortitel in Philosophie von der Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne und einen Doktortitel in Soziologie vom ISCTE-IUL / Institut der Universität Lissabon. Zuvor hatte sie Forschungspositionen in den Bereichen Mensch-Computer-Interaktion, KI und Robotik, Phänomenologie, Kognitions- und Lebenswissenschaften, Science-Fiction-Kulturen, Ethik und Werte in der Technik inne.

Drew Hemment

Drew Hemment ist Künstler, Kurator und wissenschaftlicher Forscher. Er ist Gründer und Creative Director von FutureEverything und Dundee Fellow, Reader am Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design, University of Dundee.

Drew leitet derzeit das Talentförderungsprogramm FAULT LINES für Künstler im Bereich Technologieinnovation (Ambition for Excellence). Er ist künstlerischer Leiter des FutureEverything Festivals, des Festivals für digitale Kultur in Manchester seit 1995, und wurde 2015 von der Regierung Singapurs beauftragt, FutureEverything Singapore zu kuratieren, die Flaggschiffkomponente der digitalen Kultur zum 50. Jubiläum der Gründung Singapurs. Er hat Kunst und Kultur in die Vorzeigeprogramme IoT und Smart Cities des Vereinigten Königreichs (CityVerve) und der EU eingeführt und ist Koordinator und Projektleiter des GROW-Observatoriums, einem von EC Horizon 2020 finanzierten Bürgerobservatorium.

Seit über 20 Jahren wird seine Arbeit von der New York Times, BBC und NBC veröffentlicht und mit Preisen aus den Bereichen Kunst, Technologie und Wirtschaft ausgezeichnet, darunter dem Lever Prize und dem Prix Ars Electronica. Er ist im Editorial Board von Leonardo. Journal of Art, Sciences and Technology und war ein Vorbild für ein Pilot-Führungsprogramm der AHRC. Er war an wegweisenden Ereignissen in der Tanzkultur der 1980er Jahre beteiligt. 1990 war er der DJ bei der größten Massenverhaftung in Friedenszeiten in der britischen Geschichte. 1999 Promotion an der Lancaster University, 2010 Eyebeam Resident (USA) und 2009 Fellow der Royal Society of the Arts (UK).

Ivonne Dorine Jansen-Dings

Als Programmleiterin der Waag Society untersucht Ivonne, wie wir die Bürgerinnen und Bürger gegen den Einsatz intelligenter Stadttechnologien widerstandsfähig machen können. Indem sie das Bewusstsein für die Risiken für die Gesellschaft schärft, will sie die Menschen stärken und ihnen helfen, tragfähige Alternativen zu schaffen. Obwohl wir nicht naiv sein sollten, wie unser persönliches Leben und unsere demokratischen Strukturen durch zentralisierte und geschlossene Technologie beeinflusst werden, ist sie optimistisch, dass die Menschen die gleiche Kraft für soziale Innovationen und das Gemeinwohl nutzen können.

Als Interaction Designerin ist sie seit vielen Jahren als Projektmanagerin, Projektentwicklerin und Teamleiterin im Bereich ICT und Innovation tätig. Ihre Expertise liegt darin, die Unsicherheiten zu verstehen, die störende Technologien mit sich bringen können, und praktische Brücken zwischen den verschiedenen beteiligten Akteuren zu bauen. Ob durch agile Entwicklungsansätze, Co-Creation-Workshops, Hackathons, Manifeste, Labore, Piloten oder andere Formen der kreativen Forschung.

Als Programmleiterin der Waag Society hat sie große europäische Projekte wie *Apps for Europe* geleitet und leitet nun das Smart Citizens Lab. Seit den Anfängen der Open Data-Bewegung in den Niederlanden ist sie mit Projekten wie Apps for Amsterdam, Code for NL, Making Sense, Clarity und E-Dem.nl für Open Government Praktiken eingetreten. Sie ist darauf spezialisiert, wie Peer-to-Peer-Technologie und Bottom-up-Beteiligung den politischen Entscheidungsprozess beeinflussen.

Zurzeit ist sie Vorstandsmitglied der ISOC-Stiftung und Code for NL und Mutter von drei Kindern.

 

Frank Kresin

Frank Kresin (geb. 1972) ist Geschäftsführer im DesignLab der Universität Twente. Das DesignLab ist die kreative Drehscheibe der Universität, in der sich akademische Forschung und gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen treffen, vermittelt durch Designprozesse. Er wurde zum Filmemacher ausgebildet und erwarb 1997 einen Master-Abschluss in Künstlicher Intelligenz. Er arbeitete als Filmemacher und Designer an der Universität Amsterdam und war Programmmanager im Konsortium der Digital University. Von 2006 bis 2016 war Frank Mitglied der Waag-Gesellschaft, zunächst als Programmmanager und ab 2010 als Forschungsdirektor. Er war verantwortlich für das Forschungsprogramm zur Entwicklung und Infragestellung von Technologien für ein breites Spektrum gesellschaftlicher Fragestellungen.

Frank war an einer Vielzahl von Projekten und Programmen mit den Schwerpunkten Creative Care, Future Internet, Maker Movement, Smart Cities und Smart Citizens beteiligt. Er ist Mitbegründer von Apps for Europe, City SDK, CineGrid, Code 4 Europe, Digital Social Innovation, Making Sense und dem Smart Citizens Lab. Er publiziert regelmäßig über transdisziplinäre Forschung in der Kreativwirtschaft und hält Vorträge zu diesem Thema. Darüber hinaus ist er Vorstandsmitglied der niederländischen The Internet Society und The Mobile City und sitzt in den Aufsichtsräten von Tetem und V2_, Institute for Instable Media.

Mehr Informationen: https://www.linkedin.com/in/kresin/

Twitter: @kresin 20180214_Frank_Kresin_LinkedIn_CV.pdf

Alexandre Roque Mendes Pólvora

Alexandre Pólvora ist Policy Analyst und Forscher am EU Policy Lab des Joint Research Centre der Europäische Kommission. Der aktuelle Fokus liegt auf partizipativen und verteilten Technologiemodellen und kollaborativen sowie transdisziplinären Rahmenbedingungen für Politikberatung. Forschungsschwerpunkte und Publikationsfelder reichen von Alltagsstudien und qualitativen Sozialanalysen bis hin zu Ko-Kreations- und Aktionsforschung. Zuvor war er Forscher am CETCOPRA von Université Paris 1 / Panthéon- Sorbonne; Associate Researcher am Vitruvius Fab Lab und am Centre for Research and Studies in Sociology als MC von COST Action ‚Investigating Cultural Sustainability‘, beide am ISCTE-IUL / University Institute of Lisbon; Visiting Researcher am Department of STS des Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; und Associate Researcher und Consultant in partizipativen und gemeindebasierten CSO/NGO Projekten auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene.

Mel Woods

Mel Woods ist Vortragende an der University of Dundee, wo sie sehr kooperative und interdisziplinäre Ansätze für die Praxis in der kreativen und digitalen Wirtschaft entwickelt. Ein zentrales Forschungsinteresse gilt der Gestaltung kreativer Intelligenz mit Fokus auf Menschen, Zukunftstechnologien, gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen und Veränderungsprozesse. Sie beschäftigt sich leidenschaftlich mit Fragen des Umweltschutzes auf lokaler und globaler Ebene.

Jury Statement

Das von der EU geförderte CAPS-Projekt Making Sense, koordiniert vom Fab Lab Barcelona, zeigt, wie BürgerInnen Open-Source-Technologie und offene Sensoren nutzen können, um gemeinsam auf zivilgesellschaftlicher Ebene zu handeln. Making Sense entwickelte ein einfach zu installierendes Toolkit – einschließlich eines Sensor-Kits und einer Datenplattform – das es den BürgerInnen ermöglicht, offene Daten über Temperatur, Feuchtigkeit, Lärm und Luftqualität zu sammeln, auszutauschen und zu interpretieren. Das Projekt ermöglicht es BürgerInnen, Rathäusern und Gemeinden, Daten für das Gemeinwohl zu nutzen, da es das Umweltbewusstsein der BürgerInnen verbessern kann. Das intelligente Citizen Sensing Toolkit fördert das Engagement der Bevölkerung bei der Lösung städtischer Umweltprobleme. Es erleichtert auch die Zusammenarbeit mit Experten und Expertinnen sowie Technologen und Technologinnen, um positive Veränderungen in der Praxis zu erreichen.