Library of Ourselves

libraryofourselves

Honorary Mention

BeAnotherLab

Library of Ourselves is an interdisciplinary and distributed project to create transformative encounters between communities in conflict. It was built using The Machine To Be Another (TMBA), a highly adaptable Creative Commons system that bridges cognitive science and virtual reality techniques to create empathic-driven experiences.

Scientific research of ’embodiment’ systems using VR has shown that inducing a perceptual illusion of inhabiting another person’s body has great potential in reducing implicit racial bias and promoting altruism. Library of Ourselves combines a novel embodiment system, an immersive archive, and a distributed research toolkit to allow users to exchange perspectives, bodies, and stories. It is designed as a highly scalable and accessible tool to foster and investigate empathy between groups.

lmplemented in social and cultural institutions, this multipurpose tool of physical and virtual encounters works as a door to the perspective of others, designed to bridge cultures and to promote mutual understanding.

The Library of Ourselves functions as more than just the “system”, “content”, or “event”; it is a replicable structure/methodology for:

  • Creating content through collaboration with local communities/grassroots organizations.
  • Creating audiences in partnership with local arts/culture institutions.
  • Generating new insights on the effects of this content in collaboration with international academic partners.

The overarching goal of creating measurable social change in local communities around issues of migration and marginalization is amplified by creating interconnections to allow joint work between those involved. For example audiences and grassroots organizations and audiences affected by content can engage more deeply with community organizing issues through co-designed opportunities, creating real world change.

Credits

BeAnotherLab: Philippe Bertrand (FR/BR), Christian Cherene (UK), Norma Deseke (DE), JJ Devereaux (IE), Daniel Gonzalez Franco (CO), Daanish Masood (SA), Marte Roel (MX), Arthur Tres (FR),
Alessandra Vidotti (IT/BR)

BeAnotherLab is an interdisciplinary multinational group dedicated to understanding, communicating, and expanding subjective experience. Their work focuses on understanding the relationship between identity and empathy from an embodied perspective. Since 2012 the group has used virtual reality and techniques derived from neuroscientific research in developing innovative applications in art, scientific research, social projects, healthcare, and education, putting a strong emphasis on the impact of their work on people’s lives. Their work is based on an inclusive distributed model of action research and collaborative design methods.

Jury Statement

The jury felt that BeAnotherLab team is successfully utilizing virtual reality technology as a true empathy machine by placing you in another person’s body and making you see the world through their eyes. While changing gender, age, race, or origin we potentially change somebody’s perspective and view on the ‘others’ and on themselves. These experiments, artistically driven, and in close collaboration with several universities, investigate the feeling of embodiment and empathy and are impacting research areas in perception, psychology, neuroscience, and social relations.

Library of Ourselves

libraryofourselves

Honorary Mention

BeAnotherLab

Library of Ourselves ist ein interdisziplinäres und standortübergreifendes Projekt zur Ermöglichung konstruktiver Begegnungen zwischen Konfliktparteien. Es basiert auf The Machine To Be Another (TMBA), einem besonders anpassungsfähigen Creative-Commons-System, das Kognitionswissenschaft und Virtual-Reality-Techniken verbindet, um von Empathie getragene Erfahrungen zu ermöglichen.

Die wissenschaftliche Forschung zu Embodiment-Systemen, die Virtual-Reality-Technologie einsetzen, hat gezeigt, dass das Hervorrufen der Wahrnehmungsillusion, in den Körper einer anderen Person schlüpfen zu können, großes Potenzial hat, implizite rassistische Vorurteile abzubauen und Altruismus zu fördern. Library of Ourselves besteht aus einem neuen Embodiment-System, einem immersiven Archiv und einem mobilen Forschungsinstrumentarium und ermöglicht den NutzerInnen, Perspektiven, Körper und Geschichten auszutauschen. Es wurde als flexible, skalierbare und zugängliche Methodik entwickelt, mit deren Hilfe sich Empathie zwischen Gruppen fördern und erforschen lässt.

Wird dieses Mehrzweckinstrument in gesellschaftlichen und kulturellen Institutionen implementiert, fungiert es als Pforte zur Wahrnehmung der anderen, wodurch zwischen Kulturen vermittelt und wechselseitiges Verständnis gefördert werden kann.

Die Library of Ourselves ist mehr als nur „System“, „Content“ oder „Event“ und funktioniert wie eine replizierbare Struktur/Methodik, die:

  • in Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Communitys/Basisorganisationen Content kreiert,
  • gemeinsam mit lokalen Kunst-/Kulturinstitutionen Zielgruppen schafft,
  • in Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen wissenschaftlichen Partnern neue Einblicke in die Auswirkungen dieses Contents gibt.

Das übergeordnete Ziel, einen messbaren gesellschaftlichen Wandel in lokalen Communitys in Hinblick auf Themen wie etwa Migration und Marginalisierung einzuleiten, wird durch die Herstellung von Querverbindungen, die eine gemeinsame Arbeit der involvierten Personen ermöglichen, erweitert. So können sich beispielsweise Zielgruppen und Basisorganisationen sowie vom Content betroffene Zielgruppen durch gemeinsam entwickelte Projekte, die eine tatsächliche Veränderung der Realität bewirken, intensiver auf Community Organizing einlassen.

Credits

BeAnotherLab: Philippe Bertrand (FR/BR), Christian Cherene (UK), Norma Deseke (DE), JJ Devereaux (IE), Daniel Gonzalez Franco (CO), Daanish Masood (SA), Marte Roel (MX), Arthur Tres (FR),
Alessandra Vidotti (IT/BR)

BeAnotherLab ist ein interdisziplinäres, multinationales Künstlerkollektiv, das sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, subjektive Erfahrung zu verstehen, zu kommunizieren und zu erweitern. Arbeitsschwerpunkt ist die Beziehung zwischen Identität und Empathie aus einer dialogischen Perspektive. Seit 2012 verwendet die Gruppe Virtual Reality und Techniken aus der neurowissenschaftlichen Forschung für die Entwicklung innovativer Anwendungen in Kunst, wissenschaftlicher Forschung, sozialen Projekten sowie im Gesundheits- und Bildungsbereich, wobei stets im Vordergrund steht, wie sich die jeweiligen Aktionen auf das Leben der Menschen auswirken. Die Arbeit des Kollektivs basiert auf einem integrativen, dezentralen Handlungsmodell und kollaborativen Designmethoden.

Jury Statement

Die Jury kam zu dem Schluss, dass es dem Team von BeAnotherLab gelang, die Virtual-Reality-Technologie buchstäblich als Empathie-Maschine einzusetzen, indem ermöglicht wird, in den Körper einer anderen Person zu schlüpfen und die Welt durch ihre zu Augen sehen. Mit der Veränderung von Geschlecht, Alter, Rasse oder Herkunft verändern sich auch die Perspektive und der Blick auf die anderen und auf uns selbst. Diese künstlerisch ausgerichteten Experimente, die in enger Zusammenarbeit mit mehreren Universitäten entstanden, untersuchen Embodiment und Empathie und beeinflussen Forschungsfelder in Bereichen wie Wahrnehmung, Psychologie, Neurowissenschaft und soziale Beziehungen.