[IGNIS AER AQUA TERRA]

ignisaer

Honorary Mention

Yuima Nakazato

Long ago in history was the belief that the four elements–fire, wind, water, and earth–could combine together as one to birth a never before known substance. Today, this is an unrealistic fantasy, however, by incorporating the latest in technology, the designer imagined the future of clothing in this collection.

In the near future, textiles will be made for the individual who wears it. By function, aesthetics, touch, form, and other factors, clothing will be able to transform instantaneously. Eventually, in fashion, no two garments will be the same.

This is based on a long-term project towards a vision for the future in which Yuima Nakazato would like to realize: “to each individual, his own design”. lf clothing can be created without being sewn, the concept of designing, manufacturing, and distribution will change greatly. Designing for specific individuals will be made possible. Each item in this collection is created without a single thread or needle, each formed simply of thousands of components, which we name Units. The patterns depicted show the Units that make up each piece.

Credits

Photo: Yuima Nakazato

Yuima Nakazato (JP) was raised in a house that his sculptor father took over 20 years to build. His mother was a jeweler, so he spent his childhood surrounded by an environment of modern art, handmade furniture and clothing, and various forms of expression. After studying fashion design at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts Antwerp’s Fashion Department, Nakazato began costume designing for both domestic and international recording artists, films, and theater. lt was then that he discovered the appeal of creating custom designs for individuals and felt the desire to spread this experience to a greater audience.

Jury Statement

The title of this long project by fashion designer Yuima Nakazato is from the names of the elements in Latin Fire, Air, Water and Earth. Here we see the vision of each individual wearing their clothes as an extension of their personality and physical attributes. The jury recognized the importance of the idea of having clothing created without being sewn but instead being formed from thousands of components or units. We see this trend in many areas of society and technological development, and to have it also reflected in individual expression is an important contribution to new ways of envisioning the fashion design industry.

[IGNIS AER AQUA TERRA]

ignisaer

Honorary Mention

Yuima Nakazato

Vor langer Zeit glaubte man, dass die vier Elemente – Feuer, Wind, Wasser und Erde – durch Mischung die Vielfalt der Stoffe bilden. Zwar gilt diese Vorstellung heute als überholt, doch hat die Idee, durch Kombination eine unendliche Vielfalt schaffen zu können, Yuima Nakazato zu dieser Modekollektion inspiriert, die mithilfe neuester Technologien realisiert wird.

In naher Zukunft werden Textilien individuell für den Träger bzw. die Trägerin maßgeschneidert werden können. Funktion, Ästhetik, Haptik, Design und andere Faktoren der Kleidung werden sich je nach Bedarf binnen Sekunden verändern können. Letztendlich werden nicht zwei Kleidungsstücke in der Modewelt einander gleichen.

Dieses Projekt basiert auf einer langfristigen Zukunftsvision von Yuima Nakazato: „Jedem Individuum sein eigenes Design“. Wenn Kleidung hergestellt werden kann, ohne genäht werden zu müssen, werden sich die Prinzipien des Entwerfens, der Herstellung und des Vertriebs von Kleidung von Grund auf verändern. Das Design wird auf bestimmte Personen abgestimmt werden können. Jedes einzelne Modell dieser Kollektion wurde ohne Nadel und Faden hergestellt, einfach aus tausenden Komponenten, die Units genannt werden, gebildet. Die abgebildeten Muster zeigen die Units, aus denen jedes Modell besteht.

Credits

Yuima Nakazato (JP) wuchs in einem künstlerischem Umfeld auf: Sein Vater war Bildhauer und baute über zwanzig Jahre am Haus der Familie, seine Mutter war Schmuckherstellerin; er verbrachte seine Kindheit umgeben von moderner Kunst, handgefertigten Möbeln, Kleidungsstücken und anderen Kunstobjekten. Nach seinem Modedesignstudium am Institut für Mode an der Königlichen Akademie der Schönen Künste in Antwerpen begann Yuima Nakazato sowohl für Privatpersonen als auch internationale Künstler, Film- und Theaterproduktionen Kleider und Kostüme zu entwerfen. Dabei entdeckte er den Reiz kundenspezifischen Designs, das er in der Folge einem breiteren Interessentenkreis zugänglich machen wollte.

Jury Statement

Der Titel dieses langfristigen Projekts des Modedesigners Yuima Nakazato ist auf die lateinische Bezeichnung der vier Elemente Feuer, Luft, Wasser und Erde zurückzuführen. Nakazato ist geleitet von der Vision, dass Kleidung als individuelle Erweiterung der Persönlichkeit und körperlicher Attribute betrachtet und getragen werden soll. Die Jury würdigte die Tragweite der Idee, dass Kleider nicht genäht werden müssen, sondern aus Tausenden Komponenten oder Einheiten kreiert werden. Dieser Fertigungstrend ist in vielen Bereichen der Gesellschaft und der technologischen Entwicklung zu beobachten, dass er auch in Hinblick auf individuelle Ausdrucksformen verhandelt wird, ist ein wesentlicher Beitrag zu neuen Vorstellungen von der Modeindustrie der Zukunft.