#FindingSomethingBondingSounding

findingsomething

Nomination

#WhiteMatter

A Blue Vinyl / MusicBricks award incubation program project.

Is the mind separated from the body? #FindingSomethingBondingSound addresses this ancient philosophical question by using state-of-the-art technology to hack the brain & the body and translate their activity into sounds and images related to the deepest feelings, emotions, and motivations.

In #FindingSomethingBondingSound the brain can act as an audiovisual sampling system and the body movements (gestures) act as an effects modulator. The mind controls audio and video samples organized in a playlist according to neurofeedback paradigms. It uses states of mind, in 7 steps, from low arousal to high arousal and the body gestures control some effects.

It uses several technologies including: Emotiv Epoc; R-IoT sensors (IRCAM); Audio Interfaces; Dj Mixers; Video Projectors, HoMy_EmoRAW (available at the Emotiv store); Max 7 (Cycling74); Live (Ableton), MnM/FTM filters (IRCAM). It also uses Video editors for non-linear editing and post-production.

About

#WhiteMatter is a collective formed by the MuArts (Francisco Marques Teixeira and Horácio Tomé-Marques) and RUMEX (Fanni Fazakas).

Francisco Marques-Teixeira (PT). His passion is brain technology.  He has been working with techie developers, geeky artists, and hackers who want to link the brain to the IoT and the digital world so we can enter in a transhumanism age and promote brain computer interactions. He wants to understand how this new media, mainly interactivity and immersion, can alter our brain. Currently he is the Neurofeedback director at Neurobios – Neuroscience Institute and partner at MuArts.

Horácio Tomé-Marques (PT) Is a multidisciplinary artist and teacher (Multimedia and Performing Arts). His PhD research deals with the relationship between Music, Reason and Emotion where he uses Brain to computer interfaces and innovative arts approaches. It follows a dual framework: 1) science: that studies the brainwaves, synchronization, phase-lock, resonance; 2) art: artworks (e.g., live visuals, sound narratives) are anchored in the empirical findings.

Fanni Fazakas (HU) is RUMEX, an audiovisual artist and music producer. RUMEX integrates music production, media design, and experimentation to form a unique visual and audio experience. RUMEX is also involved with new technologies of neuro and bio-feedback. RUMEX is project manager at the 4D sound and plans on using the brand new sound system for a live show. RUMEX graduated from Moholy-Nagy University of Art and Design where she studied Media Design.

#FindingSomethingBondingSounding

findingsomething

Nominierung

#WhiteMatter

Ein Projekt des Blue Vinyl / MusicBricks award incubation program.

Ist der Geist vom Körper getrennt? #FindingSomethingBondingSound geht auf diese alte philosophische Frage mithilfe aktuellster Technologien ein, die Gehirn und Körper hacken und deren Aktivitäten in Geräusche und Bilder übersetzen, die sich auf tiefste Gefühle, Emotionen und Motivationen beziehen.

Im Projekt #FindingSomethingBondingSound verhält sich das Gehirn als audiovisuelles Samplingsystem und Körperbewegungen (Gesten) als Effektmodulatoren. Gedanken steuern Audio- und Videosamples, die gemäß Neurofeedbackmodellen in einer Playlist angeordnet sind, die Gemütsverfassungen in sieben Abstufungen ordnet, von niedriger bis hoher Erregung, während die körperlichen Gesten verschiedene Effekte steuern.

Verschiedene Technologien werden bedient, unter anderem Emotiv Epoc, R-IoT-Sensoren (IRCAM), Audioschnittstellen, DJ-Mixers, Videoprojektoren, HoMy_EmoRAW (im Emotiv-Store erhältlich), Max 7 (Cycling ʼ74), Live (Ableton) und MnM/FTM-Filter (IRCAM). Außerdem kommen Videoschnittprogramme für nichtlinearen Videoschnitt und Postproduktion zum Einsatz.

Credits

#WhiteMatter ist ein von MuArts (Francisco Marques Teixeira und Horácio Tomé-Marques) und RUMEX (Fanni Fazakas) gegründetes Kollektiv.

Francisco Marques-Teixeira (PT). Seine Leidenschaft gilt der Gehirntechnologie. Er arbeitet mit Tech-EntwicklerInnen, Künstler-Geeks und HackerInnen, die das Gehirn mit dem IdD und der digitalen Welt verbinden wollen, um in ein transhumanes Zeitalter überzugehen und die Interaktion von Gehirn und Computer voranzutreiben. Er will verstehen, wie diese neuen Medien, vornehmlich Interaktivität und Immersion, das Gehirn verändern könnten. Zur Zeit ist er Leiter der Abteilung Neurofeedback am Neurobios – Neuroscience Institute und Partner von MuArts.

Horácio Tomé-Marques (PT) ist ein interdisziplinärer Künstler und Lehrer (Multimedia und darstellende Kunst). Sein Doktorstudium widmet er der Beziehung zwischen Musik, Vernunft und Emotion, die er mithilfe von Gehirn-Computer-Schnittstellen und innovativer künstlerischer Ansätze erforscht. Seine Vorgehensweise ist zweigleisig: 1) Wissenschaftlich in der Erforschung von Gehirnwellen, Synchroninsation, Phasenregelschleifen, Resonanz; 2) Künstlerisch, insofern als Kunstwerke in den empirischen Forschungsergebnissen verankert sind (z.B.: Live Visuals, Klangnarrative).

Fanni Fazakas (HU) ist RUMEX, eine audiovisuelle Künstlerin und Musikproduzentin. RUMEX vereint Musikproduktion, Mediendesign und Experimentierfreude zu einem einzigartigen visuellen und auditiven Erlebnis. RUMEX bindet auch neue Technologien in den Bereichen Neuro- und Biofeedback ein. Sie ist Projektmanagerin bei 4DSOUND und plant, dieses brandneue Soundsystem in Liveshows zu verwenden. RUMEX schloss ihr Mediendesignstudium an der Moholy-Nagy-Universität für Kunsthandwerk und Gestaltung ab.