Casa Jasmina

casajasmina

Nomination

Team Casa Jasmina

Casa Jasmina is a two-year pilot project in the field of domestic electronic networking, or “the Internet of Things in the Home.” The aim is to integrate traditional Italian skills in furniture and interior design with emergent skills in open-source electronics. The project is a showplace inside a large industrial building already shared by Toolbox Co-Working, Fablab Torino, and Officine Arduino.

Casa Jasmina has three main functions:

  • A real-world test bed for hacks, experiments, innovative IoT, and digital fabrication projects.
  • A curated space for public exposure of excellent artifacts and best practices.
  • A guesthouse for occasional visitors to Toolbox, Officine Arduino, and Fablab Torino.

Casa Jasmina was founded in order to encourage:

  • Makers, designers, digital artists, IoT experts, students, and universities to research, experiment, and use new technologies and new production methods related to open source and IoT.
  • Factories, industries, corporate companies, and start-ups to be interested in IoT and to try to overcome the boundary between classical and open source production. Industries that will create tomorrow’s living spaces.
  • Ordinary people interested in testing the IoT in everyday life in the house of the future.

Although it resembles an apartment home, Casa Jasmina is actually a combination of lab, gallery space, and B&B, so it needs dynamic management. Casa Jasmina is not merely a kitchen, library, bedroom, and bathroom. It’s a public interface for a larger Internet-of-Things process of building things, acquiring and installing things, removing things, repairing and maintaining things, storing things, recording and linking to things, and, last but not least, getting rid of things.

Casa Jasmina is an incubator, and its purpose is industry-boosting in the Torino and Piemonte IoT space. The successors of the Casa Jasmina project will be real homes with real, innovative products inside.

About

Team Casa Jasmina consists of the curators and mentors Massimo Banzi and Bruce Sterling, project manager Lorenzo Romagnoli, who is also interaction designer and maker, product designer and community manager Alessandro Squatrito, and blogger and mentor Jasmina Tešanović. During the year students or freelancers collaborate with the team on the project. Apart from the core team, Casa Jasmina is open to people from Fablab Torino (the first Italian Fablab) and their projects, Interaction and product designers who are interested in Internet of Things or open source projects. Casa Jasmina is active on the IoT council and organizes meetups and panels. The entire project is open source, anybody can visit Casa Jasmina, can be a guest, can try out all the projects inside.

Curators: Bruce Sterling, Massimo Banzi
Project manager: Lorenzo Romagnoli
Blogger: Jasmina Tešanović
Community manager: Alessandro Squatrito

Casa Jasmina is mainly supported by:
Arduino/ Genuino
Toolbox coworking
Fablab Torino
Casa Jasmina is also supported by:
Lavazza
Energy@home
Valcucine

Casa Jasmina

casajasmina

Nominierungen

Team Casa Jasmina

Casa Jasmina ist ein zweijähriges Pilotprojekt im Bereich des häuslichen elektronischen Netzwerkens oder des „Internets der Dinge zu Hause“. Ziel des Projekt ist es, traditionelle italienische Fertigkeiten im Bereich Möbel- und Innendesign mit Fähigkeiten zu verbinden, die soeben in der Open-Source-Elektronik entstehen. Das Projekt findet in einem Schauraum eines großen Industriegebäudes statt, das sich bereits die Unternehmen Toolbox Coworking, Fablab Torino und Officine Arduino teilen.

Casa Jasmina hat drei Hauptfunktionen:

  • eine praxisorientierte Testumgebung für Hacks, Experimente, innovative IdD und digitale Fabrikationsprojekte.
  • ein kuratierter Ort für die öffentliche Präsentation von herausragenden Artefakten und Best Practices.
  • ein Gästehaus für gelegentliche BesucherInnen von Toolbox, Officine Arduino und Fablab Torino.

Casa Jasmina wurde gegründet, um:

  • Makers, Designer, Digitalkünstler, IdD-Experten, Studenten und Universitäten zu motivieren, Technologien und neue Produktionsarten im Bereich Open Source und IdD zu erforschen, zu verwenden und mit ihnen zu experimentieren
  • bei Fabriken, Industrien, Unternehmen und Startups das Interesse an IdD zu wecken und die Kluft zwischen klassischer und Open-Source-Produktion zu überbrücken – Industrien also, die die Lebensräume von morgen schaffen
  • einfache Menschen zu fördern, die daran interessiert sind, das IdD im Alltag im Haus der Zukunft auszutesten

Obwohl es einem Wohnhaus ähnelt, ist Casa Jasmina eigentlich eine Kombination aus Labor, Galerieraum und B&B, also bedarf sie eines dynamischen Managements. Casa Jasmina ist nicht nur Küche, Bibliothek, Schlaf- und Badezimmer, sondern auch eine öffentliche Schnittstelle für einen größeren IdD-Prozess, bei dem Dinge konstruiert, angeschafft und installiert, entfernt, repariert und instand gehalten, gelagert, aufgezeichnet, mit anderen Dingen verbunden und – nicht zuletzt – beseitigt werden.

Casa Jasmina ist ein Inkubator, der die Ankurbelung des Gewerbes im IdD-Raum von Torino und Piemonte bezweckt. Die Nachfolger des Projekts Casa Jasmina werden in wirklichen Häusern wohnen, die mit wirklichen innovativen Produkten ausgestattet sind.

Credits

Das Team Casa Jasmina besteht aus den Kuratoren und Mentoren Massimo Banzi und Bruce Sterling, dem Projektmanager Lorenzo Romagnoli, der zugleich Interaktionsdesigner und Maker ist, dem Produktdesigner und Community Manager Alessandro Squatrito und der Bloggerin und Mentorin Jasmina Tešanović. Das ganze Jahr über arbeiten StudentInnen und freie MitarbeiterInnen gemeinsam mit dem Team an diesem Projekt. Neben dem Kernteam ist Casa Jasmina für MitarbeiterInnen des Fablab Torino (des ersten italienischen Fablab) und ihre Projekte geöffnet sowie für verschiedenartige Interaktionen und für ProduktdesignerInnen, die am Internet der Dinge und an Open-Source-Projekten interessiert sind. Das gesamte Projekt basiert auf Open Source, jeder kann Casa Jasmina besuchen, dort zu Gast sein und alle darin enthaltenen Projekte ausprobieren.

Curators: Bruce Sterling, Massimo Banzi
Project manager: Lorenzo Romagnoli
Blogger: Jasmina Tešanović
Community manager: Alessandro Squatrito

Casa Jasmina is mainly supported by:
Arduino/ Genuino
Toolbox coworking
Fablab Torino
Casa Jasmina is also supported by:
Lavazza
Energy@home
Valcucine