Artifical Skins and Bones

Artificial Skins and Bones

Grand Prize – Innovative Collaboration: Awarded for innovative collaboration between industry or technology and the arts (and the cultural and creative sectors in general) that open new pathways for innovation.

Artificial Skins and Bones Group (DE)

Nature’s patterns, structures, and functions are an endless source of inspiration. We started off our project course Artificial Skins and Bones by looking into our body’s design, and examining elements that may be applied to the design process of artificial bodies. The idea for this topic developed through our collaboration with Ottobock, the world market leader in prosthetics. Through workshops with their technicians and physiotherapists, interviews with amputees, and a visit to Ottobock’s research and production hub in Duderstadt, we added additional topics to our agenda: the language of sensation, interaction with artificial body parts, and the aesthetics of artificial bodies and their relationship to the aesthetics of natural bodies.

Visible Strength

by Lisa Stohn and Jhu-Ting Yang proposes a flexible, creature-like textile surface that, like an octopus, changes its color and pattern in various ways through muscle stimuli.

Trans.fur

by Karina Wirth and Natalie Peter is the development of intelligent textiles, capable of altering moisture permeability by adjusting their surface structures. Inspiration for this project was the most versatile organ in the human body: skin.

Technology, Temperature, and Textiles

by Stephanie Natrass is an e-textiles material research project that embeds sensing and actuation into textile surface constructions.

Naturanslation

by Babette Wiezorek explores the nature and potential of organically inspired 3D grid structures by applying algorithmic design and 3D printing to microstructures.

Audio Gait

by Agnes Rosengren and Bernardo Aviles-Busch sonifies movements to aid the understanding of body balance while walking. The portable system is an easy learning aid for shin prosthetics training, which translates walking movements into auditory feedback.

Active

by Hans Illiger looks into the rehabilitation process of lower limb amputees, and proposes a service design concept as well as a hardware solution for gathering movement data.

Shortcut

by David Kaltenbach, Maximilian Mahal, and Lucas Rex is a customizable Human Interface Device (HID) for upper limb amputees. The bracelet detects sensory muscular impulses in the phantom hand, translating them into contactless and intuitive computer controlling.

Tactile Sensation

by Nina Rossow explores two possibilities of displaying information through tactile feedback: Sens_mat allows passive tactile recognition of materials when direct contact is not possible. Sens_dia simplifies descriptions in pain diagnostics and offers a non-verbal and body specific communication.

The Aesthetics of the Uncanny

by Carmina Blank and Sandra Stark explores the delicate balance between familiar prosthesis design standards and uncanniness. The team researched how targeted material conception can help to understand and control this phenomenon, and can be taken into conscious consideration during the design process.

Interview

Read an interview elaborating on “Artificial Skins and Bones” at our Ars Electronica Blog.

Artificial Skins and Bones Group

The Artificial Skins and Bones Group (DE) is an interdisciplinary group of young designers from Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin. Their expertise ranges from textile, surface and product design to fashion and visual communications. In the Artificial Skins and Bones project the group freely explored the design of, and interaction with, artificial bodies and body parts. The projects presented illustrate a great variety of possible starting points, prototyping techniques, and application scenarios. We hope that the outcome is a valuable contribution to the future exploration of artificial bodies and prosthetic designs.

Project credits

Artificial Skins and Bones Group:
Course Instructors: Prof. Wolf Jeschonnek, Prof. Mika Satomi
Participating Students: Bernardo Aviles-Busch, Carmina Blank, Hans Illiger, David Kaltenbach, Maximilian Mahal, Stephanie Nattrass, Natalie Peter, Lucas Rex, Agnes Rosengren, Nina Rossow, Sandra Stark, Lisa Stohn, Babette Wiezorek, Karina Wirth, Jhuting Yang

Main project partners:
Kunsthochschule Berlin Weißensee, Fab Lab Berlin, Ottobock Healthcare GmbH, Makea Industries GmbH

Artifical Skins and Bones

Artificial Skins and Bones

Grand Prize – Innovative Collaboration: Für innovative Zusammenarbeit zwischen Industrie oder Technologie und den Künsten (sowie dem Kultur- und Kreativbereich im Allgemeinen), die neue Wege der Innovation eröffnen.

Artificial Skins and Bones Group (DE)

Die Muster, Strukturen und Funktionen der Natur sind eine nie versiegende Quelle der Inspiration. Wir begannen mit unserem Projekt Artificial Skins and Bones, indem wir das Design unseres eigenen Körpers betrachteten und die Elemente untersuchten, die wir im Designprozess künstlicher Körper anwenden könnten. Die Idee zu diesem Thema wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit Ottobock, dem Weltmarktführer für Prothesen, entwickelt. Durch Workshops mit TechnikerInnen und PhysiotherapeutInnen von Ottobock, Interviews mit amputierten Menschen sowie einem Besuch der Forschungs- und Produktionszentrale in Duderstadt setzten wir auch folgende Themen auf unsere Agenda: die Sprache der Sinneswahrnehmung, die Interaktion mit künstlichen Körperteilen und die Ästhetik künstlicher Körperteile im Verhältnis zur Ästhetik natürlicher Körper.

Visualisierte Kraft

von Lisa Stohn und Jhu-Ting Yang bietet eine flexible, kreaturenhafte Textiloberfläche, die, ähnlich wie ein Oktopus, durch Muskelreize in verschiedene Farben und Muster verändert.

Trans.fur

von Karina Wirth und Natalie Peter. In diesem Projekt wurden intelligente Textilien entwickelt, die durch Anpassung ihrer Oberflächenstruktur in der Lage sind, den Grad der Feuchtigkeitsdurchlässigkeit zu verändern. Vorbild für dieses Projekt war das vielseitigste Organ des menschlichen Körpers: die Haut.

Technologie, Temperatur und Textilien

von Stephanie Nattrass. Das e-Textilien-Forschungsprojekt bettet Sensorik und Ingangsetzung in textile Oberflächenkonstruktionen ein.

Naturanslations

von Babette Wiezorek erforscht durch die Anwendung algorithmischer Gestaltungsmethoden und 3D-Druck von Mikrostrukturen den Charakter und das Potenzial organisch inspirierter 3D-Rasterstrukturen.

Audio Gait

von Agnes Rosengren und Bernardo Aviles-Busch unterstützt mittels der Vertonung von Bewegungen unser Verständnis von Körperbalance während des aufrechten Gangs. Das tragbare System ist ein einfacher Lernbehelf für das Training mit Schienbeinprothesen, der Gehbewegungen in auditives Feedback übersetzt.

Active

von Hans Illiger untersucht den Rehabilitationsprozess von Menschen, denen untere Gliedmaßen amputiert wurden, und ist sowohl ein Service-Design-Konzept als auch eine Hardwarelösung für das Sammeln von Bewegungsdaten.

Shortcut

von David Kaltenbach, Maximilian Mahal und Lucas Rex ist ein anpassbares Human Interface Device (HID) für Menschen, denen obere Gliedmaßen amputiert wurden. Das Armband nimmt sensorische Muskelimpulse in der Phantomhand wahr und übersetzt sie in berührungslose und intuitive Programmsteuerung.

Tactile Sensation

von Nina Rossow untersucht zwei Möglichkeiten des Informationsdisplays mittels taktilen Feedback: Sens_mat ermöglicht passives taktiles Erkennen von Materialien, wenn ein direktes Berühren nicht möglich ist. Sens_dia vereinfacht die Beschreibung im Bereich der Schmerzdiagnostik durch nonverbale und körperspezifische Kommunikation.

The Aesthetics of the Uncanny

Eine der hitzigsten Diskussionen während der Ideenfindungsphase fand zum Konzept des Uncanny Valley bzw. der Akzeptanzlücke statt. The Aesthetics of the Uncanny von Carmina Blank und Sandra Stark erforscht das fragile Gleichgewicht von bekannten Standards im Prothesendesign und dem Unheimlichen. Das Team untersuchte, wie dieses Phänomen des Uncanny Valley durch gezielte Materialgestaltung verstanden, kontrolliert und im Designprozess bewusst berücksichtigt werden kann.

Interview

Lesen Sie außerdem ein Interview zu „Artificial Skins and Bones“ auf unserem Ars Electronica Blog.

Artificial Skins and Bones Group

Die Artificial Skins and Bones Group (DE) ist eine interdisziplinäre Gruppe junger DesignerInnen der Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin. Ihre Expertise reicht von Textil-, Oberflächen- und Produktdesign über Mode bis hin zu visueller Kommunikation. Im Projekt Artificial Skins and Bones hatte die Gruppe freie Hand in der Erforschung der Gestaltung von und der Interaktion mit künstlichen Körpern und Körperteilen. Die präsentierten Projekte zeugen von der großen Bandbreite an möglichen Ausgangspunkten, Entwicklungsmethoden von Prototypen und Anwendungsszenarien. Wir hoffen, dass das Ergebnis einen wertvollen Beitrag zur zukünftigen Erforschung künstlicher Körper und Prothesendesigns leistet.

Credits

Artificial Skins and Bones Group:
KursleiterInnen: Prof. Wolf Jeschonnek, Prof. Mika Satomi
Teilnehmende StudentInnen: Bernardo Aviles-Busch, Carmina Blank, Hans Illiger, David Kaltenbach, Maximilian Mahal, Stephanie Nattrass, Natalie Peter, Lucas Rex, Agnes Rosengren, Nina Rossow, Sandra Stark, Lisa Stohn, Babette Wiezorek, Karina Wirth, Jhuting Yang

Hauptprojektpartner:
Kunsthochschule Berlin Weißensee, Fab Lab Berlin, Ottobock Healthcare GmbH, Makea Industries GmbH