Apostroph

Apostroph

Nomination

Manfred Hild, Mitsuru Muramatsu, Shunji Yamanaka

Apostroph is a prototype of a robot designed to study the intrinsic behaviors of living organisms. Standing up and counteracting gravity is characteristic of living organisms. We fight gravity and stand on our feet, adopting the posture that puts the least strain on our body joints. In Apostroph, the joint contains the motor which is programmed to resist external force. These motors rotate in the opposite direction to the rotation caused by gravity. Apostroph tries to lift its body, in the same way as a human being stands up. The unique movements of Apostroph―constantly transforming from a bridge-like arc, slipping just past its own skeletal framework, and rolling into a wheel―is a form of exploration to reach the point of stability, much like our own efforts to stand up on our own feet.

About

Manfred Hild (DE) studied mathematics and psychology at the University of Konstanz and got his doctoral degree at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Since 2014 he is professor for Digital Systems at the Beuth University of Applied Sciences Berlin.

Mitsuru Muramatsu (JP) is a designer / researcher. He received the Master of Media and Governance and completed the PhD Program without a degree at Keio University.
He won the Grand Prize in the interactive art category of the Asia Digital Art Award 2015.

Shunji Yamanaka (JP) is a product designer / professor at the University of Tokyo. He has received many awards including the 2004 Mainichi Design Award, the iF Product Design Award, and the Good Design Gold Award.

Apostroph

Apostroph

Nominierung

Manfred Hild, Mitsuru Muramatsu, Shunji Yamanaka

Apostroph ist der Prototyp eines Roboters, der die inhärenten Verhaltensweisen von Lebewesen untersucht. Das Aufrechtstehen und Entgegenwirken zur Schwerkraft ist ein Charakteristikum von Lebewesen. Wir kämpfen gegen die Schwerkraft an und stehen auf den Füßen, nehmen eine Haltung ein, die unsere Körpergelenke am wenigsten belastet. In Apostroph enthalten die Gelenke Motoren, die auf den Widerstand gegen äußere Einwirkungen programmiert sind. Die Motoren rotieren in die entgegengesetzte Richtung der von der Schwerkraft ausgelösten Rotation. Apostroph versucht, den eigenen Körper so zu erheben wie ein Mensch sich erhebt. Die einzigartigen Bewegungen von Apostroph – sich dauerhaft von einem brückenähnlichen Bogen transformierend, gerade noch am eigenen Skelettbau vorbeigleitend, sich in ein Rad rollend – sind eine Form von Erkundung, um Stabilität zu finden, ähnlich unserer eigenen Bemühungen, auf den eigenen Beinen zu stehen.

Credits

Manfred Hild (DE) studierte Mathematik und Psychologie an der Universität Konstanz und erlangte den Doktortitel an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Seit 2014 ist er Professor für Digitale Systeme an der Beuth Hochschule für Technik Berlin.

Mitsuru Muramatsu (JP) ist Designer/Forscher. Er erlange den Titel Master of Media and Governance und schloss sein Doktoratsstudium ohne Titel an der Keiō-Universität ab.

Shunji Yamanaka (JP) ist Produktdesigner/Professor an der Universität Tokio. Er wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet, unter anderem dem Mainichi Design Preis 2014, dem iF Product Design Award und dem Good Design Gold Award.