Amsterdam Smart Citizens Lab

Amsterdam Smart Citizens LabCredit: Jimena Gauna for Waag Society

Honorary Mention

The Amsterdam Smart Citizens Lab empowers a vivid community of committed citizens to use inexpensive, open source technology to understand their environments (the air they breathe, the noise they hear, the water they drink & swim in, and the soil they grow on) better and to take action based on their findings. They are coached by experts and hackers who put their knowledge to use in answering the participants’ questions, and help them to measure, analyze, and interpret data that would have been beyond their reach a few years ago. This is expected to lead to more engagement, more insight, better-informed dialogues between citizens and their governments, and in the end to more enjoyable, liveable, and creative cities.

Photos: Jimena Gauna for Waag Society

While our environments have a large impact on our short and long term health, the data to understand them are sparse, obscure, and often inadequate. Pollution is measured in averages and then modeled to fill in the gaps, whereas their levels vary hugely from street to street and moment to moment. Some places can even be considered ‘toxic’ during some moments of the day. Even so, the available data are taken to be ‘objective’, whilst decisions made about what to measure, their norms, and interpretations, are subjective and political. Citizens, meanwhile, suffer: from pollution, lack of knowledge and trust in measurement bodies, and from a lack of options to act.

The Amsterdam Smart Citizens Lab aims to provide a solution. It is open to inquisitive people who are interested in learning about their surroundings and want to team up to share their skills and time. Collectively they draft measuring strategies and campaigns, build or appropriate sensors, collect data, and interpret and act on the outcomes. The Lab builds on the existing infrastructures and communities from the Amsterdam Fablab & Open Wetlab, and consists of various meetings and group activities that last over long stretches of time. It was conceived and started by the Amsterdam-based media lab Waag Society, which has been researching and developing emergent technologies for social innovation for over 20 years. The Lab has attracted many partners (hackers, universities, city officials, official measuring bodies & the city of Amsterdam) to provide experts and expertise, and to learn from the outcomes.

From over almost a hundred enthusiasts at the start in 2014, the community has grown to over 600 that are currently registered at the meetup page. They are a mixed group of old & new Amsterdamers, including many people from abroad that are interested in contributing to the city they live in. The results, as well as the methodology, are described in Creative Commons Licensed publications and on the Web. Our aim is to extend and verify our methodology, thereby helping people all around the world to implement it, check it, expand it, and turn their own participatory sensing projects into a success.

We feel like we’re part of the birth and growth of a movement of citizens that know where they can get the knowledge and support to use public networks of open source sensors and eventually use self-gathered data to make smarter choices. By embracing this bottom-up movement and enabling creativity, we want to facilitate citizens to maximize their capacity to act. With more data and more evenly distributed knowledge, we see impactful dialogues between citizens and governments arising. In short: we feel we are on to something and will continue in these efforts.

Waag Society

Waag Society—institute for art, science and technology—is a pioneer in the field of digital media. Over the past 22 years, the foundation has developed into an institution of international stature, a platform for artistic research and experimentation, and has become both a catalyst for events and a breeding ground for cultural and social innovation. Waag Society explores emerging technologies, and provides art and culture a central role in the designing of new applications for novel advances in science and technology. Artists and designers know better than anyone that they must question technology in order to get to the bottom of things, overthrow sacred cows, stimulate imagination and fantasy, create unexpected connections, and—above all—search for meaning.

Project credits

Waag Society
www.waag.org
Waag Society runs the ASCL in conjunction with Gemeente Amsterdam, HvA, RIVM, SenseMakers, Alterra, AMS, Amsterdam Economic Board, KNMI, ECN, Fablab Amsterdam, and the Open Wetlab; and internationally with IAAC, Fablab Barcelona, Microgiants, FutureEverything, Dundee University, Peer Educators Network, Joint Research Center and others.

With special thanks to: Mara Balestrini, Ger Baron, Co de Boer, Pieter van Boheemen, Alessandro Bozzon, Jonathan Carter, Roberta Colavecchio, Guillermo José Rodríguez Fernández, Laurence Henriquez, Ester van der Geest, Christine van den Horn, Joske Houtkamp, Frank Kresin, Qijun Jiang, Folkert Lodewijks, Emma Pareschi, Edith van Putten, Cindy Regalado, Natasha de Sena, Pinar Temiz, Hester Volten, Maurice de Vries, Mathijs de Weerdt, Joost Wesseling and all the participants and supporters of the Lab.

Amsterdam Smart Citizens Lab

Amsterdam Smart Citizens LabCredit: Jimena Gauna for Waag Society

Anerkennung

Das Amsterdam Smart Citizens Lab Lab richtet sich an eine lebhafte Gemeinschaft engagierter BürgerInnen und fördert die Nutzung kostengünstiger Open-Source-Technologien, um die eigene Umgebung besser zu verstehen (die Luft, die sie atmen, den Lärm, den sie hören, das Wasser, das sie trinken und in dem sie schwimmen und den Boden, den sie bepflanzen) und auf Grundlage der daraus gewonnenen Erkenntnisse entsprechende Maßnahmen zu ergreifen. Die BenutzerInnen werden von ExpertInnen und HackerInnen gecoacht, die die Fragen der TeilnehmerInnen beantworten und ihnen dabei helfen, Daten zu messen, zu analysieren und zu deuten, die für sie noch vor ein paar Jahren unzugänglich gewesen wären. Dies soll zu höherem Engagement, besseren Einblicken, besser fundierten Dialogen zwischen BürgerInnen und ihren Regierungsvertretern und schließlich zu angenehmeren, lebenswerteren und kreativeren Städten führen.

Photos: Jimena Gauna for Waag Society

Obwohl unsere jeweilige Umgebung sowohl kurz- als auch langfristig großen Einfluss auf unsere Gesundheit hat, sind die zu ihrem Verständnis notwendigen Daten spärlich, unklar und oft unzureichend. Umweltverschmutzung wird in Durchschnittswerten gemessen und dann verformt, um Lücken zu füllen, wobei die jeweiligen Pegel von Straße zu Straße, von Augenblick zu Augenblick, oft stark variieren. Einige Orte können zu manchen Tageszeiten sogar als „toxisch“ kategorisiert werden. Dennoch werden die verfügbaren Daten als „objektiv“ betrachtet, während die Entscheidungen darüber, was mit welchen Normen gemessen und wie interpretiert wird, subjektiv und politisch motiviert sind. Währenddessen leiden die BürgerInnen unter der Verschmutzung, es mangelt an Wissen, an Vertrauen in die Messbehörden und an Handlungsmöglichkeiten.

Das Amsterdam Smart Citizens Lab arbeitet an Lösungen. Seine Türen sind für alle neugierigen Menschen offen, die daran interessiert sind, etwas über ihre Umgebung zu lernen und sich zusammenzuschließen, um ihre Fähigkeiten und ihre Zeit miteinander einzusetzen. Gemeinsam erarbeiten sie Messstrategien und Kampagnen, bauen neue Sensoren oder passen vorhandene an, sammeln Daten, werten Forschungsergebnisse aus und handeln auf deren Grundlage. Das Lab baut auf existierende Infrastrukturen und die Communities von Amsterdam Fablab und Open Wetlab auf und besteht aus verschiedenen Sitzungen und Gruppenaktivitäten, die über längere Zeiträume angelegt sind. Es wurde vom Amsterdamer Media-Lab Waag Society konzipiert und gegründet, das seit über 20 Jahren neue Technologien für soziale Innovation erforscht und entwickelt. Das Lab konnte im Laufe der Zeit viele Partner für sich gewinnen (HackerInnen, Universitäten, StadtbeamtInnen, offizielle Messbehörden und die Stadt Amsterdam), um Expertise zu sammeln und von Ergebnissen zu lernen.

Die Gemeinschaft ist von fast einhundert begeisterten TeilnehmerInnen zu Beginn des Projekts im Jahr 2014 auf mehr als 600 derzeit auf der Einstiegsseite Registrierte gewachsen. Es handelt sich um eine buntgemischte Gruppe älterer und junger Amsterdamer, darunter viele mit Migrationshintergrund, die ihren Beitrag zu der Stadt, in der sie leben, leisten wollen. Die Ergebnisse und die Methoden werden in Publikationen mit Creative-Commons-Lizenz und im Internet veröffentlicht. Unser Ziel ist es, unsere Methode auszubauen und zu verifizieren und dabei Menschen aus aller Welt zu helfen, sie umzusetzen, zu prüfen, auszuweiten und ihre eigenen Participatory-Sensing-Projekte erfolgreich zu gestalten.

Wir sind der Auffassung, dass wir an der Geburtsstunde und am Wachstumsprozess einer neuen BürgerInnenbewegung teilhaben, deren Mitglieder wissen, wie sie an Informationen und Unterstützung gelangen, um öffentliche Open-Source-Sensing-Netzwerke zu nutzen und schließlich mit selbst gesammelten Daten bessere Entscheidungen zu treffen. Indem wir diese Bottom-up-Bewegung willkommen heißen und Kreativität fördern, wollen wir BürgerInnen dabei unterstützen, ihre Handlungsfähigkeiten zu maximieren. Mit mehr Daten und gleichmäßiger verteiltem Wissen sehen wir auch das Aufkommen wirkungsvoller Dialoge zwischen BürgerInnen und Regierungen. Kurz: Wir glauben, dass wir etwas Großem auf der Spur sind und werden unsere Bemühungen fortsetzen.

Waag Society

Waag Society, das Institut für Kunst, Wissenschaft und Technologie, ist ein Pionier im Bereich der Digitalen Medien. In den letzten 22 Jahren hat sich die Stiftung zu einer Institution von internationaler Statur entwickelt, einer Plattform für künstlerisches Forschen und Experimentieren, und ist ein Katalysator für Veranstaltungen und Nährboden für kulturelle und soziale Innovation geworden. Waag Society erforscht aufstrebende Technologien und räumt Kunst und Kultur eine zentrale Rolle im Design innovativer Anwendungen neuartiger Entdeckungen in Wissenschaft und Technologie ein. KünstlerInnen und DesignerInnen wissen besser als andere, dass sie Technologien hinterfragen müssen, um den Dingen auf den Grund zu kommen, heilige Kühe zu stürzen, die Fantasie anzuregen, unerwartete Verbindungen zu machen und vor allem nach dem Sinn zu suchen.

Project credits

Waag Society
www.waag.org
Waag Society betreibt die ASCL gemeinsam mit Gemeente Amsterdam, HvA, RIVM, SenseMakers, Alterra, AMS, Amsterdam Economic Board, KNMI, ECN, Fablab Amsterdam und dem Open Wetlab; auf internationaler Ebene mit IAAC, Fablab Barcelona, Microgiants, FutureEverything, Dundee University, Peer Educators Network, Joint Research Center und anderen.

Besonderer Dank geht an: Mara Balestrini, Ger Baron, Co de Boer, Pieter van Boheemen, Alessandro Bozzon, Jonathan Carter, Roberta Colavecchio, Guillermo José Rodríguez Fernández, Laurence Henriquez, Ester van der Geest, Christine van den Horn, Joske Houtkamp, Frank Kresin, Qijun Jiang, Folkert Lodewijks, Emma Pareschi, Edith van Putten, Cindy Regalado, Natasha de Sena, Pinar Temiz, Hester Volten, Maurice de Vries, Mathijs de Weerdt, Joost Wesseling und alle TeilnehmerInnen und UnterstützerInnen des Lab.