Aerocene Foundation

aerocene

Nomination

Tomás Saraceno

Aerocene is a multi-disciplinary project that proposes a new epoch. In the wake of the debates on the Anthropocene, the project foregrounds the artistic and scientific exploration of environmental issues, and promotes common links between social, mental, and physical ecologies. A synthesis of art, technology, and environmental awareness, Aerocene embodies a vision for fuel- and emissions-free travelling and living in the atmosphere.

Developed by the Aerocene Foundation, Aerocene manifests in the testing and development of solar sculptures that float without any need of fuel or gas, just capturing the heat of the sun and the infrared radiation of the earth’s surface.

The Aerocene Foundation–initiated by artist Tomás Saraceno–is a non-profit organisation devoted to community building, scientific research, artistic experience, and education. The Foundation works with artists, thinkers, scientists, researchers, balloonists, technologists, humanitarian workers, influencers, and visionaries to increase public awareness of global resource circulation, and reactivate a common imaginary towards new symbiotic relationships with the earth.

Credits

Aerocene is an open-source, multi-disciplinary project developing new technologies and solutions for aerosolar travel and living, with support from multiple partners and collaborators around the world. The Aerocene project’s primary partners are the Center for Art, Science & Technology (CAST) at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), CNES (French National Space Agency), CCK Argentina, Public Lab, Imperial College London, The Natural History Museum (London), The Royal College of Art, The Goethe Institute, Radioamateur, Freifunk, and IAK architecture-related Art Institute at Technische Universität Braunschweig.

Tomás Saraceno’s (AR) oeuvre can be seen as ongoing research, informed by the worlds of art, architecture, natural sciences, astrophysics, and engineering. His floating sculptures, community projects, and interactive installations propose and explore new, sustainable ways of inhabiting and sensing the environment. In 2015, Saraceno achieved the world record for the first certified solar manned flight. He was the first person to scan and reconstruct spiders’ complex weaved habitats, and holds the only three-dimensional spider web collection in existence. Saraceno lectures in institutions worldwide. He lives and works in and beyond the planet Earth.

Aerocene Foundation

aerocene

Nomination

Tomás Saraceno

Aerocene ist ein multidisziplinäres Projekt, das an das von WissenschaftlerInnen postulierte neue Zeitalter Anthropozän anknüpft und den Fokus auf die künstlerische und wissenschaftliche Erforschung von Umweltthemen sowie die Förderung von Verbindungen zwischen gesellschaftlichen, psychischen und physischen Aspekten der Ökologie legt. Als Synthese von Kunst, Technologie und Umweltbewusstsein repräsentiert Aerocene die Vision eines Treibstoff- und emissionsfreien Reisens und Lebens in der Atmosphäre.

Das von der Aerocene Foundation ins Leben gerufene Projekt Aerocene testet und entwickelt Solarskulpturen, die schweben, ohne fossile Energie zu verbrauchen, da sie lediglich die Sonnenwärme und die Infrarotstrahlung der Erdoberfläche nutzen.

Die von dem Künstler Tomás Saraceno initiierte Aerocene Foundation ist eine Nonprofit-Organisation, die sich der Gemeinschaftsbildung, der wissenschaftlichen Forschung, künstlerischer Erfahrung und Bildung widmet. Die Stiftung kooperiert mit KünstlerInnen, TheoretikerInnen, WissenschaftlerInnen, ForscherInnen, BallonfahrerInnen, TechnologInnen, humanitären Verbänden, MeinungsträgerInnen und VisionärInnen, um das Bewusstsein für den globale Ressourcenkreislauf zu schärfen und eine gemeinsame Vorstellung von einer neuen symbiotischen Beziehung zur Erde zu entwickeln.

Credits

Aerocene ist ein multidisziplinäres Open-Source-Projekt, das mit Unterstützung zahlreicher PartnerInnen und MitarbeiterInnen aus der ganzen Welt neue Technologien und Lösungen für „aerosolare“ Reisen und ein Leben in luftgetragenen Bauten entwickelt. Die wichtigsten Partner des Projekts Aerocene sind das Center for Art, Science & Technology (CAST) am Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), CNES (French National Space Agency), CCK Argentina, Public Lab, Imperial College London, The Natural History Museum (London), The Royal College of Art, das Goethe-Institut, Radioamateur, Freifunk, und das Institut für Architekturbezogene Kunst (IAK) an der Technischen Universität Braunschweig.

Tomás Saracenos (AR) Werk lässt sich als ein kontinuierliches Forschungprojekt betrachten, das von Kunst, Architektur, Naturwissenschaften, Astrophysik und Technik inspiriert wird. Seine schwebenden Skulpturen, Community-Projekte und interaktiven Installationen repräsentieren und erkunden neue nachhaltige Möglichkeiten, unsere Umwelt wahrzunehmen und zu bewohnen. 2015 stellte Saraceno mit dem ersten nachweislich aerosolar betriebenen bemannten Flug den Weltrekord auf. Er war auch der Erste, der die komplex gewobenen, filigranen Bauten der Spinne scannte und rekonstruierte und besitzt die einzige 3D- Spinnennetzsammlung der Welt. Saraceno hält Vorträge an Institutionen auf der ganzen Welt. Er lebt und arbeitet auf dem Planeten Erde und in höheren Sphären.