STARTS = Science + Technology + Arts

Artificial Skins and Bones, 2016 STARTS Prize winner

 

STARTS = Science + Technology + Arts

Artificial Skins and Bones, winners of the 2016 STARTS Prize

 

STARTS = Science + Technology + Arts

Magnetic Motion by Iris van Herpen, winner of the 2016 STARTS-Prize

 

STARTS = Science + Technology + Arts

Iris Van Herpen, winner of the 2016 STARTS Prize

1
1

STARTSPrize_Logo_81x324

STARTS – Grand prize of the European Commission honoring Innovation in Technology, Industry and Society stimulated by the Arts

logo_ce-en-rvb-lr

On behalf of the European Commission, Ars Electronica in collaboration with BOZAR and Waag Society issues an open call for entries to a competition that determined the second recipients of STARTS, prestigious and—with two €20,000 prizes—highly endowed awards. Expressly encouraged are innovative projects at the interface of science, technology and art.

  • The submission starts on January 11th, 2017. The deadline of the open call is on March 13th, 2017. There are no entry fees.
  • The prizewinners will be selected by an international jury on April 10th, 2017.
  • In May 2017, the prizewinners and their works will be presented to the public at a press conference.
  • They will be publically honored in September 2017.

Innovation in and for Europe

Science, technology and arts (STARTS for short) limn a nexus at which insightful observers have identified extraordinarily high potential for innovation. And innovation is precisely what’s called for if we’re to master the social, ecological and economic challenges that Europe will be facing in the near future. In this STARTS Prize initiative, the European Commission’s focus is on projects and people that can make meaningful contributions to this effort.

Art as Catalyst

Here, art is assigned the role of catalyst that propagates scientific and technological knowledge and skills among the general public and triggers innovative processes. Accordingly, STARTS is emphasizing, on one hand, artistic works that influence or change the way we look at technology, and, on the other hand, very promising forms of collaboration between the private sector and the world of art and culture. A prizewinning project will be singled out for recognition in both categories and each will be supported with €20,000 prize money.

STARTS = Science + Technology + Arts

Artificial Skins and Bones, Gewinner des STARTS-Prize 2016

 

STARTS = Science + Technology + Arts

Artificial Skins and Bones, GewinnerInnen des STARTS Prize 2016

 

STARTS = Science + Technology + Arts

Magnetic Motion von Iris Van Herpen, Gewinnerin des STARTS-Prize 2016

 

STARTS = Science + Technology + Arts

Iris Van Herpen, Gewinnerin des STARTS-Prize 2016

1
1

STARTSPrize_Logo_81x324

STARTS – Grand prize of the European Commission honoring Innovation in Technology, Industry and Society stimulated by the Arts

logo_ce-en-rvb-lr

Mit dem STARTS-Prize 2017 schreibt Ars Electronica in Zusammenarbeit mit BOZAR and Waag Society zum zweiten Mal einen prestigeträchtigen und mit zwei Mal 20.000 Euro hochdotierten Wettbewerb im Auftrag der Europäischen Kommission aus. Gesucht werden innovative Projekte an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft, Technologie und Kunst.

  • Die Online-Einreichung beginnt am 11. Jänner 2017 und endet am 13. März 2017, die Teilnahme ist kostenlos.
  • Die Siegerprojekte werden am 10. April 2017 von einer internationalen Jury prämiert.
  • Im Mai 2017 werden die prämierten Projekte im Rahmen einer Pressekonferenz vorgestellt.
  • Die offizielle Preisverleihung findet im September 2017 statt.

Innovation in und für Europa

Science, Technologie und Arts (STARTS) bilden zusammen jene Schnittmenge, der ein hohes Potential an Innovation attestiert wird. Innovation, die es braucht, um jene sozialen, ökologischen und ökonomischen Herausforderungen meistern zu können, die in naher Zukunft auf Europa zukommen. Mit dem STARTS-Prize rückt die Europäische Kommission Projekte und Menschen in den Mittelpunkt, die wesentliche Beiträge dazu liefern können.

Kunst als Katalysator

Der Kunst wird dabei die Rolle eines Katalysators zugeschrieben, der dafür sorgt, dass wissenschaftliches und technologisches Know-how in der breiten Öffentlichkeit ankommt und innovative Prozesse anstößt. Dementsprechend legt STARTS den Fokus einerseits auf künstlerische Arbeiten, die unseren Blick auf Technologie beeinflussen bzw. verändern sowie andererseits auf zukunftsweisende Kooperationen zwischen Industrie bzw. Technologie sowie Kunst und Kultur. In jeder dieser beiden Kategorien wird ein Gewinnerprojekt ausgewählt und mit 20.000 Euro unterstützt.