I'm Humanity

Etsuko Yakushimaru, 2017 Grand Prize Artistic Exploration


Rock Print

Gramazio Kohler Research, ETH Zurich und Self-Assembly Lab, MIT / 2017 Grand Prize Innovative Collaboration



STARTS Prize – Grand prize of the European Commission honoring Innovation in Technology, Industry and Society stimulated by the Arts


On behalf of the European Commission, Ars Electronica in collaboration with BOZAR and Waag Society issued an open call for entries to a competition that determined the second recipients of STARTS Prize, prestigious and—with two €20,000 prizes—highly endowed awards. Expressly encouraged were innovative projects at the interface of science, technology and art.

  • The submission starts on January 11th, 2017. The deadline of the open call is on March 13th, 2017. There are no entry fees.
  • The prizewinners will be selected by an international jury on April 10th, 2017.
  • In May 2017, the prizewinners and their works will be presented to the public at a press conference.
  • They will be publically honored in September 2017.

Innovation in and for Europe

Science, technology and arts (STARTS for short) limn a nexus at which insightful observers have identified extraordinarily high potential for innovation. And innovation is precisely what’s called for if we’re to master the social, ecological and economic challenges that Europe will be facing in the near future. In this STARTS Prize initiative, the European Commission’s focus is on projects and people that can make meaningful contributions to this effort.

Art as Catalyst

Here, art is assigned the role of catalyst that propagates scientific and technological knowledge and skills among the general public and triggers innovative processes. Accordingly, STARTS is emphasizing, on one hand, artistic works that influence or change the way we look at technology, and, on the other hand, very promising forms of collaboration between the private sector and the world of art and culture. A prizewinning project will be singled out for recognition in both categories and each will be supported with €20,000 prize money.