2019 Winners

These are the winners of the STARTS Prize – Grand prize of the European Commission honoring Innovation in Technology, Industry and Society stimulated by the Arts 2018:

Grand Prize 2019


Ciutat Vella's Land-use Plan

Ciutat Vella’s Land-use Plan

300.000 Km/s
TrophyGrand Prize – Innovative Collaboration: Awarded for innovative collaboration between industry or technology and the arts (and the cultural and creative sectors in general) that open new pathways for innovation.

Project Alias

Project Alias

Bjørn Karmann, Tore Knudsen
TrophyGrand Prize – Artistic Exploration: Awarded for artistic exploration and art works where appropriation by the arts has a strong potential to influence or alter the use, deployment or perception of technology.

Honorary Mentions 2019

Foto Credit: Vita Larvo
This is grown.
Jen Keane

This is grown. was motivated by a frustration with plastics and a visible disparity between scientific research and design manifestations around natural materials. After all, nature has had 3.8 billion years to perfect the ultimate circular economy: Life. Maybe we can still learn something.

Foto Credit: Forensic Architecture
The Murder of Pavlos Fyssas
Forensic Architecture

Shortly after midnight on 18 September 2013, Pavlos Fyssas, a young Greek anti-fascist rapper, was murdered in his home neighbourhood of Keratsini, Athens. Both the killer and others who participated in the attack were members of the neo-Nazi organization Golden Dawn.

SLAP_2000x1000
SLAP – See Like A Pony
Sabine Engelhardt

With SLAP I want to make robotics not only understandable but truly approachable. Clifford Nass drew the comparison of robots with domesticated animals. They are useful, but also dangerous. But, how do we communicate with animals? Can we feel them? How does it work?

BLP_2000x1000
BLP-2000 / Black List Printer
BCL – Georg Tremmel and Shiho Fukuhara

An unofficial ‘Black List’ of potentially harmful and forbidden DNA Sequences has been created and is shared amongst the companies—officially for bio-security reasons. Because of the expensive chemicals involved in the process, it was not really feasible to create a DIY DNA Synthesiser—until now.

AI_Atlas_2000x1000
Anatomy of an AI System
Kate Crawford / AI Now Institute and Vladan Joler / SHARE Lab

Anatomy of an AI System is a large-scale map and long-form essay investigating the human labor, data, and planetary resources required to build and operate an Amazon Echo. The exploded view diagram combines and visualizes three central, extractive processes that are required to run a large-scale artificial intelligence system: material resources, human labor, and data.

Foto Credit: Swann El Mokkeddem
SimCath
Fernando Bello, ICCESS & Salomé Bazin, Cellule studio

How do surgeons prepare for an operation, when they know that the smallest mistake could be the line between life and death? That was the question Cellule faced when developing SimCath, a cardiology suite for simulation training.

Foto Credit: Bruno Gomes and Karapotó Plak-ô Community
Arte Eletrônica Indígena
Thydêwá

The Arte Electrônica Indígena (AEI) project was designed and executed by the NGO Thydêwá. It consisted of a series of ten short artistic residencies in indigenous communities in the Brazilian Northeast in order to cocreate works of electronic art. These were exhibited to the public at the Museum of Modern Art, Salvador da Bahia, in August 2018 and have since toured the indigenous communities themselves.

ICCMR, University of Plymouth
Biocomputer Rhythms
Eduardo Reck Miranda

Biocomputer Rhythms is a piece for prepared piano and percussion. It is a musical duet between a piano and a biocomputer: the biocomputer listens to the piano and produces musical responses during the performance. The responses are played on percussion instruments and on the same piano played by the pianist.

Nominations 2019

Wastelands_2000x1000
Wastelands
Tagny Duff

Wastelands is a playful, yet serious biological art project exploring speculative fiction scenarios and current bioengineering practices applying methanogenic bacteria, archaea and bacteriophage to regu-late methane production through anaerobic degradation.

Image Credit: May Qi
PatentPandas.org
Jie Qi, Carol Lin, May Qi, Ira Winder

PatentPandas.org is a resource built to explain (scary!) patent law using (not-scary!) panda comics. The website has three core parts: Resources, Stories, Get Help.

Foto Credit: Luca Girardini
Meandering River
onformative, kling klang klong

Meandering River is an audiovisual art installation comprised of real-time visuals and music composed by an A.I. through machine learning. The piece reinterprets the shifting behavior of rivers in the landscape, regarded from a bird’s eye view.

Journey_2000x1000
Journey on the Tongue
Ayako Suwa, Evala, Yasuaki Kakehi

Journey on the Tongue is a totally new taste and sound installation which invites you on a spectacular multi-sensory journey. Realized by the three artists Ayako Suwa, the pursuer of "Expressive food," sound artist Evala, the founder of “See by Your Ears,” and media artist Yasuaki Kakehi, who explores new haptic experiences.

Foto Credit: 30°
30°
Mathias Foot, Janna Nikoleit, Franziska Rast, Stephan Schakulat

The more frequent and more comprehensive studies are being conducted, the more accurate predictions can be made about the future. These predictions directly influence political, economic, and social decision-making processes on a global scale.

Foto Credit: Thijs Biersteker
Voice of Nature
Thijs Biersteker

Using the real time data coming from a living tree in order to talk about the urgency of climate change, Voice of Nature aims to provoke a new relationship with nature surrounding us.

SoundShirt_2000x1000
SoundShirt 2.0
CuteCircuit

The SoundShirt brings music to life in a way that it can be felt physically, live, in real time, on the body, in a tactile language unique to each piece of music being performed, opening new and diverse ways of enjoying music for the audience.

StopMotionVR_2000x1000
Stop-Motion VR
Denny Koch, Johannes Schubert

With Stop-Motion VR, the project team uses Stop-Motion Animation to transport one of the oldest and most traditional methods of film production into the interactive world of virtual reality.

Foto Credit: Weissensee Kunsthochschule Berlin / Natascha Unger & Idalene Rapp
Stone Web – Expanding Space
Idalene Rapp, Natascha Unger

In Stone Web, Basalt is transformed into a light, stable modular system that can be used for small scale applications such as furnishing or combined to create large, spatial structures or urban furniture.

Foto Credit: Studio Roosegaarde, European Space Agency
SPACE WASTE LAB
Studio Roosegaarde

SPACE WASTE LAB is the multi-year living lab with the European Space Agency and Studio Roosegaarde to capture space waste and upcycle it into sustainable products.

SolarPoweredWebsite_2000x1000
Solar Powered Website
Kris De Decker, Marie Otsuka, Roel Roscam Abbing, Lauren Traugott-Campbell

Low-tech Magazine questions the belief in technological progress, and highlights the potential of past knowledge and technologies for designing a sustainable society.

Alterplex_2000x1000
Alterplex
Hakan Lidbo

Alterplex is a strategic board game where the board is invisible, except seen through the pieces. The moving properties of the pieces are decided by the animations of the board, constantly changing, following a hidden pattern.

Amint_2000x1000
A-MINT
Alex Braga

A-MINT is a metaphor of a sustainable future, where man and machines work together in perfect symbiosis to cross a frontier that man alone could not dare.

MitigationofShock_2000x1000
Mitigation of Shock
Superflux

Mitigation of Shock (MOS) is an experiment giving the future consequences of climate change immersive, visceral form. Superflux wanted people to experience what living with climate-related resource scarcity might feel like, and potential adaptations for mitigating the worst of its effects.

Hexadome_2000x1000
ISM Hexadome
Institute for Sound & Music (ISM)

The ISM Hexadome is a platform for installation and live performance, featuring a 52-channel immersive sound system, assembled on a 15.5-meter wide, 7.9-meter high hexagonal structure, holding 6 projection screens. This system enabled artistic collaborations between both sound and visual artists to create immersive audio-visual installations and also perform live.

HelloShadow_2000x1000_02
Hello, Shadow!
Joon Moon

Hello, Shadow! is an interactive art installation implementing a kind of augmented reality mixed with a shadow. I have been developing this kind of AR media from my previous work Augmented Shadow(2010).

Foto Credit: Suzi Corker
Cave of Sounds
Tim Murray-Browne in collaboration with Dom Aversano, Susanna Garcia, Wallace Hobbes, Daniel Lopez, Tadeo Sendon, Panagiotis Tigas, Kacper Ziemianin

Cave of Sounds is a project connecting music’s prehistoric origins with the technological radicalism of the music hacker scene. It emerged from an open-ended process which I began in 2012 as composer in residence at Music Hackspace, London.

Foto Credit: © United Visual Artists, Beholder, 2018, courtesy BOM
Beholder
United Visual Artists

Beholder continues UVA’s investigations into time perception and the relativity of our experiences. It centers around the wonder of everyday phenomena as seen through autistic perspectives, inviting us to re-evaluate our perception of beauty.

Die GewinnerInnen 2019

Das sind die GewinnerInnen des „STARTS Prize – Grand prize of the European Commission honoring Innovation in Technology, Industry and Society stimulated by the Arts 2019:

Grand Prize 2019


Ciutat Vella's Land-use Plan

Ciutat Vella’s Land-use Plan

300.000 Km/s
TrophyGrand Prize – Innovative Collaboration: Für innovative Zusammenarbeit zwischen Industrie oder Technologie und den Künsten (sowie dem Kultur- und Kreativbereich im Allgemeinen), die neue Wege der Innovation eröffnen.

Project Alias

Project Alias

Bjørn Karmann, Tore Knudsen
TrophyGrand Prize – Artistic Exploration: Für künstlerische Erforschung und Kunstwerke, bei denen die Aneignung durch die Kunst großes Potenzial zur Beeinflussung und Veränderung von Technologie und deren Nutzung, Entwicklung und Wahrnehmung hat.

Anerkennungen 2019

Foto Credit: Vita Larvo
This is grown.
Jen Keane

This is grown. entstand aus einer Frustration über Kunststoffe und einer sichtbaren Diskrepanz zwischen wissenschaftlicher Forschung und Designmanifestationen rund um natürliche Materialien.

Foto Credit: Forensic Architecture
The Murder of Pavlos Fyssas
Forensic Architecture

Kurz nach Mitternacht am 18. September 2013 wurde Pavlos Fyssas, ein junger griechischer antifaschistischer Rapper, in seinem Heimatort Keratsini, Athen, ermordet. Sowohl der Mörder als auch andere am Angriff Beteiligte waren Mitglieder der neonazistischen Organisation Golden Dawn.

SLAP_2000x1000
SLAP – See Like A Pony
Sabine Engelhardt

Mit SLAP möchte ich die Robotik nicht nur verständlich, sondern auch wirklich zugänglich machen. Clifford Nass zog den Vergleich von Robotern mit domestizierten Tieren. Sie sind nützlich, aber auch gefährlich. Aber wie kommunizieren wir mit Tieren? Können wir sie spüren? Wie funktioniert es?

BLP_2000x1000
BLP-2000 / Black List Printer
BCL – Georg Tremmel and Shiho Fukuhara

Eine inoffizielle „Schwarze Liste“ potenziell schädlicher und verbotener DNA-Sequenzen wurde erstellt und wird zwischen den Anbietern weitergegeben – offiziell aus Gründen der biologischen Sicherheit. Aufgrund der teuren Chemikalien, die für den Prozess notwenig sind, war die Herstellung eines DIY-DNA-Synthesizer nicht realisierbar – bis jetzt.

AI_Atlas_2000x1000
Anatomy of an AI System
Kate Crawford / AI Now Institute and Vladan Joler / SHARE Lab

Anatomy of an AI System ist eine groß angelegte Karte und ein detailliertes Essay, welches die menschlichen Arbeits-, Daten- und Planetenressourcen untersucht, die für den Bau und Betrieb eines Amazon Echo erforderlich sind. Die Explosionszeichnung kombiniert und visualisiert drei zentrale, extrahierte Prozesse, die für den Betrieb eines groß angelegten künstlichen Intelligenzsystems erforderlich sind: materielle Ressourcen, menschliche Arbeitskraft und Daten.

Foto Credit: Swann El Mokkeddem
SimCath
Fernando Bello, ICCESS & Salomé Bazin, Cellule studio

Wie bereiten sich Chirurgen auf eine Operation vor, wenn sie wissen, dass der kleinste Fehler die Grenze zwischen Leben und Tod sein könnte? Mit dieser Frage war Cellule bei der Entwicklung von SimCath, einer kardiologischen Suite für Simulationstraining, konfrontiert.

Foto Credit: Bruno Gomes and Karapotó Plak-ô Community
Arte Eletrônica Indígena
Thydêwá

Das Projekt Arte Eletrônica Indígena (AEI) wurde von der NGO Thydêwá entworfen und durchgeführt. Es bestand aus einer Reihe von zehn kurzen künstlerischen Aufenthalten in indigenen Gemeinschaften im brasilianischen Nordosten, um elektronische Kunstwerke zu schaffen. Diese wurden im August 2018 im Museum of Modern Art, Salvador da Bahia, öffentlich vorgestellt und tourten anschließend durch die indigenen Gemeinden.

ICCMR, University of Plymouth
Biocomputer Rhythms
Eduardo Reck Miranda

Biocomputer Rhythms ist ein Stück für ein präpariertes Klavier und Schlaginstrumente. Es ist ein musikalisches Duett zwischen einem Klavier und einem Biocomputer: Der Biocomputer hört auf das Klavier und erzeugt während der Aufführung musikalische Reaktionen. Die Antworten werden auf Schlaginstrumenten und auf dem gleichen Klavier des Pianisten gespielt.

Nominierungen 2019

Wastelands_2000x1000
Wastelands
Tagny Duff

Wastelands ist ein spielerisches, dennoch ernsthaftes biologisches Kunstprojekt, das spekulative Fiktionsszenarien und aktuelle biotechnologische Praktiken untersucht, bei denen methanogene Bakterien, Archaeen und Bakteriophagen eingesetzt werden, um die Methanproduktion durch anaeroben Abbau zu regu-lieren.

Image Credit: May Qi
PatentPandas.org
Jie Qi, Carol Lin, May Qi, Ira Winder

PatentPandas.org ist eine Plattform zur Erklärung von Patentrechten (furchterregend!) unter Verwendung von Panda-Comics (nicht furchterregend!).

Foto Credit: Luca Girardini
Meandering River
onformative, kling klang klong

Meandering River ist eine audiovisuelle Kunstinstallation, die von einer KI durch maschinelles Lernen komponierten Musik mit Echtzeit-Visualisierungen kombiniert. Das Stück interpretiert das Wanderverhalten von Flüssen in der Landschaft aus der Vogelperspektive neu.

Journey_2000x1000
Journey on the Tongue
Ayako Suwa, Evala, Yasuaki Kakehi

Journey on the Tongue ist eine völlig neue Geschmacks- und Klanginstallation, die zu einer spektakulären multisensorischen Reise einlädt. Realisiert von den drei KünstlerInnen Ayako Suwa, der Verfechterin von "Expressive Food", dem Klangkünstler Evala, Gründer von "See by Your Ears", und dem Medienkünstler Yasuaki Kakehi, der sich mit neuen haptischen Erfahrungen auseinandersetzt.

Foto Credit: 30°
30°
Mathias Foot, Janna Nikoleit, Franziska Rast, Stephan Schakulat

Je häufiger und umfangreicher die Studien durchgeführt werden, desto genauer können Vorhersagen über die Zukunft getroffen werden. Diese Vorhersagen haben einen direkten Einfluss auf politische, wirtschaftliche und soziale Entscheidungsprozesse im globalen Maßstab.

Foto Credit: Thijs Biersteker
Voice of Nature
Thijs Biersteker

Mit den Echtzeitdaten, die von einem lebenden Baum stammen, will Voice of Nature eine neue Beziehung zur uns umgebenden Natur herstellen und über die Dringlichkeit des Klimawandels sprechen.

SoundShirt_2000x1000
SoundShirt 2.0
CuteCircuit

Das SoundShirt erweckt Musik zum Leben, sodass sie physisch, live, in Echtzeit, am Körper, in einer für jedes gespielte Musikstück einzigartigen taktilen Sprache spürbar wird und neue, vielfältige Möglichkeiten eröffnet, Musik zu genießen.

StopMotionVR_2000x1000
Stop-Motion VR
Denny Koch, Johannes Schubert

Mit Stop-Motion VR,transportiert das Projektteam mit Stop-Motion Animation eine der ältesten und traditionellsten Methoden der Filmproduktion in die interaktive Welt der virtuellen Realität.

Foto Credit: Weissensee Kunsthochschule Berlin / Natascha Unger & Idalene Rapp
Stone Web – Expanding Space
Idalene Rapp, Natascha Unger

In Stone Web, verwandelt sich Basalt in ein leichtes, stabiles modulares System, das für kleine Anwendungen wie Möbel oder in Kombinationen zu großen, räumlichen Konstruktionen oder Stadtmöbeln verwendet werden kann.

Foto Credit: Studio Roosegaarde, European Space Agency
SPACE WASTE LAB
Studio Roosegaarde

SPACE WASTE LAB ist das mehrjährige Living Lab mit der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation und dem Studio Roosegaarde, das Weltraumabfälle erfasst und zu nachhaltigen Produkten upcyclet.

SolarPoweredWebsite_2000x1000
Solar Powered Website
Kris De Decker, Marie Otsuka, Roel Roscam Abbing, Lauren Traugott-Campbell

Das Low-tech Magazine stellt den Glauben an den technologischen Fortschritt in Frage und hebt das Potenzial vergangener Erkenntnisse und Technologien für die Gestaltung einer nachhaltigen Gesellschaft hervor.

Alterplex_2000x1000
Alterplex
Hakan Lidbo

Alterplex ist ein strategisches Brettspiel, bei dem das Brett zunächst unsichtbar ist, und erst durch die Figuren erkennbar wird. Die Bewegungseigenschaften der Figuren werden durch die Animationen des Brettes bestimmt, die sich ständig ändern und einem verborgenen Muster folgen.

Amint_2000x1000
A-MINT
Alex Braga

A-MINT ist eine Metapher für eine nachhaltige Zukunft, in der Mensch und Maschine in perfekter Symbiose zusammenarbeiten, um eine Grenze zu überschreiten, die der Mensch allein nicht zu überschreiten vermag.

MitigationofShock_2000x1000
Mitigation of Shock
Superflux

Mitigation of Shock (MOS) ist ein Experiment, das die zukünftigen Folgen des Klimawandels in immersiver, viszeraler Form darstellt. Superflux wollte Menschen spüren lassen, wie sich das Leben mit klimabedingter Ressourcenknappheit anfühlen könnte, und wie mögliche Anpassungen zur Entschärfung der schlimmsten Auswirkungen aussehen könnten.

Hexadome_2000x1000
ISM Hexadome
Institute for Sound & Music (ISM)

Der ISM Hexadome ist eine Plattform für Installation und Live-Performance mit einem 52-Kanal-Immersive-Soundsystem, das auf einer 15,5 Meter breiten, 7,9 Meter hohen hexagonalen Struktur montiert ist und 6 Projektionswände enthält. Dieses System ermöglichte die künstlerische Zusammenarbeit zwischen KlangkünstlerInnen und bildenden KünstlerInnen, um eindringliche audiovisuelle Installationen zu schaffen und auch live zu performen.

HelloShadow_2000x1000_02
Hello, Shadow!
Joon Moon

Hello, Shadow! ist eine interaktive Kunstinstallation, die eine Form der Augmented Reality mit Schatten kombiniert.

Foto Credit: Suzi Corker
Cave of Sounds
Tim Murray-Browne in collaboration with Dom Aversano, Susanna Garcia, Wallace Hobbes, Daniel Lopez, Tadeo Sendon, Panagiotis Tigas, Kacper Ziemianin

ist ein Projekt, das die prähistorischen Ursprünge der Musik mit dem technologischen Radikalismus der Music Hacker Szene verbindet. Es ist in einem offenen Prozess entstanden, den ich 2012 als Composer in Residence bei Music Hackspace, London, begann.

Foto Credit: © United Visual Artists, Beholder, 2018, courtesy BOM
Beholder
United Visual Artists

Beholder setzt die Untersuchungen von UVA zur Zeitwahrnehmung und zur Relativität unserer Erfahrungen fort. Im Mittelpunkt steht das Wunder alltäglicher Phänomene, die durch autistische Perspektiven betrachtet werden, und uns einladen, unsere Wahrnehmung von Schönheit neu zu bewerten.