2017 Winners

These are the winners of the STARTS Prize – Grand prize of the European Commission honoring Innovation in Technology, Industry and Society stimulated by the Arts 2017:

Grand Prize

Rock Print

Gramazio Kohler Research, ETH Zurich and Self-Assembly Lab, MIT
Grand Prize – Innovative Collaboration: Awarded for innovative collaboration between industry or technology and the arts (and the cultural and creative sectors in general) that open new pathways for innovation.

I’m Humanity

Etsuko Yakushimaru
Grand Prize – Artistic Exploration: Awarded for artistic exploration and art works where appropriation by the arts has a strong potential to influence or alter the use, deployment or perception of technology.

Honorary Mentions

treelab

treelab

The goal of our artistic-scientific research project trees: Rendering Ecophysiological Processes Audible, was to connect sounds that occur in trees with ecophysiological processes and thus investigate and render perceptible processes in plants that are not noticeable to humans. The acoustic emissions of a tree in the Swiss Alps were recorded with special acoustic sensors, and all other non-auditory ecophysiological measurement data were sonified–that is, translated into sounds and music. The recordings and sonified measurements were implemented in a number of different media art installations under the preamble “treelab”, which at the same time served as a research environment, in order to display and examine the temporal and spatial connections between plant sounds, physiological processes, and environmental conditions in an artistic­scientific observation system.

sentientveil

Sentient Veil

Sentient Veil is a jewel-like canopy containing multiple miniature sound processors interwoven with hundreds of digitally controlled lights installed within the historic galleries of the lsabella Stewart Gardner Museum. The work pursues intimacy and sensitivity through intricate miniature components and layers of diffusive, hovering material close to the scale of a human body. Sentient Veil is composed of digitally fabricated cellular textile lining floating over the ceiling surface of the gallery. The work is composed of finely detailed interlinking skeletal components containing distributed computational controls with soft LED lighting and whispering interactive sound functions.

riatresearch

Research Institute for Arts and Technology

Production in the 21st century works with distributed authorship and identities-artists present their processes “coded” in the fragmentations of global networks. Contemporary artistic output is developed out of collective inquiries, research processes are results of distributed agency between humans, machines, and programs. There is nothing more than to leave ‘traces’, not to produce “final” products but “process artefacts”. RIAT – The Research Institute for Arts and Technology – welcomes and embraces the ephemeral nature of meatspace, as it only consists of collectively held and performed visions of desirable futures.

outofexile

Out of Exile

When Daniel Ashley Pierce is confronted about his sexual orientation by his family in a “religious intervention,” the scene becomes startlingly dramatic and violent. Using real audio combined with virtual reality to put the audience inside the story, Out of Exile is a powerful parable of the kind of hostility faced by so many in the LGBTQ community.

nonvisualart

nonvisual-art

nonvisual-art is an image that, at first glance, seemingly doesn’t even exist optically. But upon closer inspection, an enchanted world appears—a hidden domain brought to light by light. The image materializes via the refraction of light on the surface of elements made of cellophane foil and air bubbles trapped in an adhesive substance. The positioning of these elements on an LED panel seems to have occurred randomly but is actually the result of precise calculation, and this yields a surprising visual experience.

mimus

Mimus: Coming face-to-face with our companion species

Mimus is a giant industrial robot that’s curious about the world around her. Unlike in traditional industrial robots, Mimus has no pre-planned movements–she is programmed with the autonomy to roam about her enclosure. Mimus has no eyes, however she uses sensors embedded in the ceiling to see everyone around her simultaneously. lf she finds you interesting, Mimus may come over for a closer look and follow you around. But her attention span is limited–if you stay still for too long, she will get bored and seek out someone else to investigate.

libraryofourselves

Library of Ourselves

Library of Ourselves is an interdisciplinary and distributed project to create transformative encounters between communities in conflict. It was built using The Machine To Be Another (TMBA), a highly adaptable Creative Commons system that bridges cognitive science and virtual reality techniques to create empathic-driven experiences.

ignisaer

[IGNIS AER AQUA TERRA]

This is based on a long-term project towards a vision for the future in which Yuima Nakazato would like to realize: “to each individual, his own design”. lf clothing can be created without being sewn, the concept of designing, manufacturing, and distribution will change greatly. Designing for specific individuals will be made possible. Each item in this collection is created without a single thread or needle, each formed simply of thousands of components, which we name Units. The patterns depicted show the Units that make up each piece.

humanisingautonomy

Blink: Humanising Autonomy

Blink involves material embedded into the four corners of the autonomous vehicle, which display the silhouettes of pedestrians around the vehicle to show that the vehicle has acknowledged their presence. lf the intention of the pedestrian is unclear, Blink flashes their silhouette and emits a tone to ask the pedestrian what they want to do. The pedestrian can then directly communicate their intent back to the vehicle with a gesture, to which the vehicle responds by changing the color of their silhouette to either red or green (depending on gesture and speed of the vehicle) and emitting another accompanying tone to acknowledge the pedestrian’s intent.

3arabizi

3arabizi Keyboard

3arabizi is an Arabic chat language used for texting or writing in Arabic. The users don’t speak the language, they simply use their hands and fingers to communicate in it on different platforms.

Nominations

ugly

Ugly

Inspired by the story Ugly the Cat found on a website featuring wisdom quotes and sad stories, Ugly is a broken simulated short film about a Native American chief and an ugly cat trying to find peace in an evil neighborhood.

sonicplanet

sonicPlanet GeoComposer/GeoPlayer

GeoComposer is a location based 3D soundscape composition platform, an iOS app. Recordings can be placed as sound objects at GPS locations on the map and parameters can be assigned to define their behavior in a virtual 3D soundscape. You can walk on a physical environment and the position, an-gle/distance to the sound objects interacts in realtime to render the 3D soundscape through relevant parameters.

smogfree

Smog Free Project

The Smog Free Project offers a journey through innovation, as an experience of a clean future and a local solution for parks and public spaces. It consists of the largest outdoor vacuum cleaner in the world, the Smog Free Tower, and Smog Free Jewellery, made from its captured smog.

silk

Silk

The installation Silk tracks the real time changes in the market activities related to cryptocurrencies Bitcoin and Litecoin. The constantly changing currency rate of Bitcoin against major world currencies is influencing the strain of strings in installation and the way the picks are hitting them. The robotic system of the artwork is directed by a computer algorithm–influenced by dynamic changes of data, the installation sounds like a complex sound instrument.

kovr

Project KOVR

Clothing has always been a means to protect ourselves against the threats of the biosphere, and Project KOVR protects the individual from the infosphere. By testing and combining different layers of metalliferous fabrics, Dutch designers Schagen and Baauw found an effective solution to protect the individual and his/her everyday tech-devices from radio waves and radiation.

mds

Microbial Design Studio: 30-day Simit Diet

Microbial Design Studio is an automated and networked biolab that is designed to perform transgenic experiments, which interrogate ethnical, cultural, and political issues in life sciences. In this submission, the platform is introduced with the 30-day Simit Diet. Microbial Design Studio is used to generate a special diet using traditional Turkish simits (savory goods similar to bagels) to make a commentary on the desires of controlling the appearance, form, and aesthetics of the human body.

makedomend

Make Do and Mend

Make Do and Mend references the 75th anniversary of the first use of penicillin in a human patient in 1941 and takes the form of an altered wartime woman’s suit marked with the British Board of Trade’s utility logo CC41, which stands for ‘Controlled Commodity 1941’. The holes and stains in the suit have been patched with silk stained with pink colonies of E. coli bacteria, grown on dye-containing agar.

lightbarrier

Light Barrier 3rd Edition

The Light Barrier series of artworks create a semi-material mode of existence, materializing objects from light. The name refers to the light barrier in relativistic physics, which delineates between that which is material and that which is light. Light Barrier Third Edition is a new installment in this series of works, expressing the confusion and nonconformities at the boundaries between materials and non-materials, reality and illusion, and existence and absence, whilst crafting a surreal vision which twists the human instinct of time and space.

duoskin

DuoSkin

DuoSkin is a fabrication process that enables anyone to create customized functional devices that can be attached directly on their skin. Using gold metal leaf, a material that is cheap, skin-friendly, and robust for everyday wear, we demonstrate three types of on-skin interfaces: sensing touch input, displaying output, and wireless communication.

corpusnil

Corpus Nil

Corpus Nil is a performance exploring hybrid forms of identity and musicianship through an intense and ritualistic interaction between an artificially intelligent musical instrument, a human body, and sound.

bugsbeat

Bug’s Beat

Humans cannot normally hear the sound of a bug’s footsteps. But Bug’s Beat transmits the amplified sound of a bug’s footsteps directly to the human auditory system through directional speakers. And by vibrating the listening chair via vibration speakers every time the bug takes a step, this device allows the observer to perceive sound as a bodily sensation.

SC_theship

Brian Eno’s The Ship – A Generative Film

This is a music video project for The Ship a 21m20s minute long musical score released by Brian Eno, the harbinger of generative music genre. Considering how Eno constantly questions the approach and process of creating state-of-the-art music, instead of developing a conventional music video, the project utilized artificial intelligence to create a generative film, and questioned whether artificial intelligence can achieve human-like creativity.

blooms2

BLOOMS 2: Strobe Animated Sculptures

Blooms are 3D printed sculptures designed to animate when spun under a strobe light. Unlike a 3D zoetrope, which animates a sequence of small changes to objects, a bloom animates as a single self-contained sculpture.

auracalculata

aura calculata

The kinetic sculpture aura calculata weaves a continuously changing microtonal sound carpet by the variation of the water levels in 18 transparent acrylic glass pipes. The triangular growth pattern of a Pacific sea mussel exhibited on a separate column refers to the driving principle behind the sculpture: The tones are created without any directing control instance, but simply by the musical adaption of the self-organization principle of cellular automata.

algaeriumbioprinter

Algaerium Bioprinter and Algae Printing

Algaerium Bioprinter is an installation contextualizing the Algae Printing technology and points towards bioindustry–an emerging development within the field of biodesign from ‘intellectual consumption’ to ‘utilitarian consumption’.

aerocene

Aerocene Foundation

Aerocene is a multi-disciplinary project that proposes a new epoch. In the wake of the debates on the Anthropocene, the project foregrounds the artistic and scientific exploration of environmental issues, and promotes common links between social, mental, and physical ecologies. A synthesis of art, technology, and environmental awareness, Aerocene embodies a vision for fuel- and emissions-free travelling and living in the atmosphere.

Das sind die GewinnerInnen des „STARTS Prize – Grand prize of the European Commission honoring Innovation in Technology, Industry and Society stimulated by the Arts 2017“:

Grand Prize 2017

Rock Print

Rock Print

Gramazio Kohler Research, ETH Zurich, und Self-Assembly Lab, MIT
TrophyGrand Prize – Innovative Collaboration: Für innovative Zusammenarbeit zwischen Industrie oder Technologie und den Künsten (sowie dem Kultur- und Kreativbereich im Allgemeinen), die neue Wege der Innovation eröffnen.

I’m Humanity

I’m Humanity

Etsuko Yakushimaru
TrophyGrand Prize – Artistic Exploration: Für künstlerische Erforschung und Kunstwerke, bei denen die Aneignung durch die Kunst großes Potenzial zur Beeinflussung und Veränderung von Technologie und deren Nutzung, Entwicklung und Wahrnehmung hat.

Anerkennungen 2017

treelab
Treelab
Marcus Maeder, Roman Zweifel

Ziel unseres künstlerisch-wissenschaftlichen Forschungsprojekts trees: Ökophysiologishce Prozesse hörbar machen war es, Klänge, die in Bäumen durch ökophysiologischer Prozesse entstehen, aufzunehmen und zu verstärken und auf diese Weise für Menschen nicht wahrnehmbare Prozesse in Pflanzen erkennbar zu machen und zu erforschen. Die Schallemissionen eines Baumes in den Schweizer Alpen wurden mit speziellen akustischen Sensoren aufgezeichnet und alle anderen nicht hörbaren ökophysiologischen Messdaten sonifiziert, d.h. in Klänge und Musik übersetzt. Die Aufnahmen und die sonifizierten Messdaten wurden unter dem Titel „Treelab“ in unterschiedlichen Medienkunstinstallationen eingesetzt, die gleichzeitig als Forschungsumfeld dienen, um die zeitlichen und räumlichen Verbindungen zwischen Pflanzenklängen, physiologischen Prozessen und Umweltbedingungen in einem künstlerisch-wissenschaftlichen Beobachtungssystem zu untersuchen.

sentientveil
Sentient Veil
Philip Beesley

Sentient Veil ist ein an einen Baldachin erinnerndes skulpturales Gebilde aus Stoff in den historischen Galerieräume des lsabella Stewart Gardner Museum. In diese Skulptur sind zahlreiche Miniatur-Klangprozessoren verwoben, die mit Hunderten digital gesteuerten Leuchten verbunden sind. Durch die komplexen Miniaturbauteile und die Schichten schwebend auseinanderstrebender Materialien schafft die Skulptur, die etwa die Größe des menschlichen Körpers hat, eine Atmosphäre subtiler Intimität. Sentient Veil wurde aus digital gefertigten „Cellular Textiles“, Textilien, die aus ineinandergreifenden Zellen bestehen und von der Decke der Galerie schweben, hergestellt. Die Arbeit besteht aus detailliert ausgearbeiteten, miteinander verbunden Basiskomponenten, in die verteilte computergestützte Steuerelemente mit weichem LED-Licht und interaktiven Klangfunktionen integriert sind.

riatresearch
Research Institute for Arts and Technology
Research Institute for Arts and Technology

Im 21. Jahrhundert werden Werke mit verteilter Autorschaft und verteilten Identitäten produziert – die Künstler präsentieren ihre Arbeitsprozesse „kodiert“ in den zerstreuten Strukturen globaler Netzwerke. Das zeitgenössische künstlerische Schaffen wird in kollektiver Praxis entwickelt, Forschungsprozesse sind Ergebnisse eines zwischen Menschen, Maschinen und Programmen verteilten Agens. Es können lediglich „Spuren“ hinterlassen werden, geht es doch nicht mehr darum, „Endprodukte“ zu liefern, sondern „prozessuale Artefakte“. RIAT - The Research Institute for Arts and Technology - begrüßt und bejaht die flüchtige Natur einer realen Welt, die nur aus kollektiv entwickelten und umgesetzten Visionen erstrebenswerter Zukunftsszenarien besteht.

outofexile
Out of Exile
Nonny de la Peña, Emblematic Group

Als Daniel Ashley Pierce von seiner Familie in einer Art „religiösen Intervention“ mit seiner sexuellen Orientierung konfrontiert wird, gewinnt die Filmszene an Dramatik und eskaliert. Out of Exile, eine eindringliche Parabel über die Anfeindungen, denen so viele Mitglieder der LGBTQ-Community ausgesetzt sind, kombiniert Original-Audioaufnahmen mit Virtual-Reality-Technologie, um die Zuseher in die Geschichte hineinzuziehen.

nonvisualart
nonvisual-art
Lisa Buttinger

nonvisual-art ist ein Bild, das visuell gar nicht zu existieren scheint, bei genauer Betrachtung jedoch eine Zauberwelt darstellt: eine verborgene Welt, die erst durch Licht *ans Licht* kommt. Das Bild entsteht durch die Brechung des Lichts in der Oberfläche von Elementen aus Zellophanfolie und in in einem Kleber eingeschlossenen Luftbläschen. Die Positionierung dieser Elemente auf einem LED-Panel scheint zufällig zu erfolgen, ist aber genau berechnet und führt zu einem überraschenden Seherlebnis.

mimus
Mimus: Coming face-to-face with our companion species
Madeline Gannon

Mimus ist ein gigantischer Industrieroboter, der große Neugierde an seiner Umgebung und der Welt und hat. Im Unterschied zu herkömmlichen Industrierobotern, die vorprogrammierte Bewegungen ausführen, verfügt *Mimus* über die Autonomie, frei umherzustreifen. *An der Decke installierte Sensoren fungieren als Augen, die jede Bewegung der Betrachter in seinem Umfeld erfassen. Erweckt jemand das Interesse von *Mimus*, nähert er sich der Person, um sie genauer in Augenschein zu nehmen und ihr zu folgen. Geduld ist nicht gerade seine Stärke – bleibt die Person zu lange stehen, langweilt er sich und sieht sich nach jemand anderem um.

libraryofourselves
Library of Ourselves
BeAnotherLab

Library of Ourselves ist ein interdisziplinäres und standortübergreifendes Projekt zur Ermöglichung konstruktiver Begegnungen zwischen Konfliktparteien. Es basiert auf The Machine To Be Another (TMBA), einem besonders anpassungsfähigen Creative-Commons-System, das Kognitionswissenschaft und Virtual-Reality-Techniken verbindet, um von Empathie getragene Erfahrungen zu ermöglichen.

ignisaer
[IGNIS AER AQUA TERRA]
Yuima Nakazato

Dieses Projekt basiert auf einer langfristigen Zukunftsvision von Yuima Nakazato: „Jedem Individuum sein eigenes Design“. Wenn Kleidung hergestellt werden kann, ohne genäht werden zu müssen, werden sich die Prinzipien des Entwerfens, der Herstellung und des Vertriebs von Kleidung von Grund auf verändern. Das Design wird auf bestimmte Personen abgestimmt werden können. Jedes einzelne Modell dieser Kollektion wurde ohne Nadel und Faden hergestellt, einfach aus tausenden Komponenten, die Units genannt werden, gebildet. Die abgebildeten Muster zeigen die Units, aus denen jedes Modell besteht.

humanisingautonomy
Blink: Humanising Autonomy
Adam Bernstein, Raunaq Bose, Leslie Nooteboom, Maya Pindeus

Autonome Fahrzeuge eröffnen die Möglichkeit, die Beziehungen zwischen Fußgängern und Fahrzeugen in der Stadt der Zukunft neu zu definieren. Eigentlich sollte die Infrastruktur dazu dienen, das Kräfteverhältnis zwischen Fußgängern und Fahrzeugen auszutarieren, derzeit ist sie aber in erster Linie an den Bedürfnissen des Fahrzeugs ausgerichtet. Autonome Fahrzeuge verfügen nicht nur über das Potenzial, die Zahl der Unfälle und Todesopfer im urbanen Straßenverkehr zu reduzieren, ihre Entwicklung ermöglicht auch, das Machtgefälle zwischen Fußgängern und Autos neu zu interpretieren und Fußgängern in der Kommunikation auf der Straße die gleiche Wertigkeit zu verleihen wie Fahrzeugen.

3arabizi
3arabizi Keyboard
Hadeer Omar

3arabizi ist eine arabische Chat-Sprache, die für das Texten oder Schreiben in arabischer Sprache verwendet wird. Die Nutzer sprechen nicht, sie verwenden einfach ihre Hände und Finger, um damit auf unterschiedlichen Plattformen zu kommunizieren.

Nominierungen 2017

ugly
Ugly
Nikita Diakur

Ugly ist ein auf dynamischen Simulationen basierender Kurzfilm in gebrochener Optik über einen Indianerhäuptling und eine hässliche Katze, die versuchen, in einem feindlichen Umfeld etwas Frieden zu finden. Als Vorlage diente die Story Ugly the Cat, die auf einer Website nebst Lebensweisheiten, Zitaten und traurigen Geschichten zu finden ist.

speculativefashionable
Speculative, Fashionable, Wearable
Daijiro Mizuno, Kazuya Kawasaki

Diese Arbeit thematisiert Bekleidungstrends der Zukunft, die auf der Kombination von Modedesign und Wearable-Technologie basieren.

sonicplanet
sonicPlanet GeoComposer/GeoPlayer
Sinan Bökesoy

GeoComposer ist eine ortsbezogene Kompositionsplattform für einen 3D-Klangraum in Form einer iOS-App. Aufnahmen können als Klangobjekte an GPS-Positionen auf der Landkarte eingetragen werden, darüber hinaus lassen sich Parameter zuordnen, die ihr Verhalten in einem virtuellen 3D-Klangraum definieren. Der User kann sich in der realen Umgebung frei bewegen – die Position, der Winkel, die Distanz zu den Klangobjekten ermöglichen eine Interaktion in Echtzeit, die den 3D-Klangraum mittels relevanter Parameter bestimmt.

smogfree
Smog Free Project
Daan Roosegaarde and his team of experts

The Smog Free Project ermöglicht die Erfahrung einer sauberen Zukunft als lokale Lösung für Parks und den öffentlichen Raum. Das innovative Projekt basiert auf dem größten „Outdoor-Staubsauger“ der Welt, dem sogenannten Smog Free Tower, der aus dem gesammelten Smog Schmuck herstellt – Smog Free Jewellery.

silk
Silk
::vtol::, Dmitry Morozov

Die Installation Silk trackt alle Echtzeit-Veränderungen der Marktaktivitäten in Zusammenhang mit den Kryptowährungen Bitcoin und Litecoin. Die sich stetig verändernden Wechselkurse von Bitcoin gegenüber den wichtigsten Weltwährungen beeinflussen die Spannung der Saiten in dieser Installation und erzeugen je nach Stärke der Schwankungen unterschiedliche Töne. Das robotische System des Kunstwerks wird von einem Computeralgorithmus gesteuert – unter dem Einfluss dynamischer Datenveränderungen bringt die Installation Klangharmonien und -variationen hervor, die jenen eines komplexen Instruments nicht nachstehen.

kovr
Project KOVR
Leon Baauw, Marcha Schagen

Kleidung hat seit jeher dazu gedient, uns vor den Gefahren der Biosphäre zu schützen. Project KOVR schützt uns nun vor der Infosphäre. Die niederländischen Designer Schagen und Baauw testeten und kombinierten verschiedene Schichten metallhaltiger Stoffe, bis sie eine wirksame Lösung fanden, um den Einzelnen und seine technischen Geräte vor Funkwellen und Strahlung zu schützen.

mds
Microbial Design Studio: 30-day Simit Diet
Orkan Telhan, Karen Hogan, Mike Hogan

Microbial Design Studio ist ein automatisiertes und vernetztes biologisches Forschungslabor für transgene Experimente, in denen ethnische, kulturelle und politische Themen in den Biowissenschaften hinterfragt werden. Im Rahmen dieser Einreichung präsentiert das Forschungslabor die dreißigtägige Simit-Diät. Das *Microbial Design Studio* entwickelte für dieses Projekt eine spezielle Diät mit traditionellen türkischen Simits (einem Hefeteiggebäck mit Sesam auf der Kruste). Diese Diät versteht sich als Kommentar zu dem Wunsch, Aussehen und Ästhetik des menschlichen Körpers steuern zu können.

makedomend
Make Do and Mend
Anna Dumitriu

Make Do and Mend nimmt in Form eines bearbeiteten Damenkostüms aus der Zeit des Zweiten Weltkriegs Bezug auf den 75. Jahrestag des erstmaligen Einsatzes von Penicillin an einem Patienten im Jahr 1941. Auf dem Kostüm ist das Logo CC41 des britischen Handelsministeriums, eine Abkürzung für „Controlled Commodity 1941“ (Kontrollierte Ware, 1941), zu sehen. Die vermeintlichen Löcher und Farbflecken auf dem Kostüm sind Applikationen aus Seide, die mit pinkfarbenen Kolonien des Kolibakteriums gefärbt wurden.

lightbarrier
Light Barrier 3rd Edition
Mimi Son, Elliot Woods / Kimchi and Chips

The Light Barrier eine Serie von Installationen, thematisiert eine semimaterielle Existenzweise und die Materialisation von Objekten durch Licht. Der Titel nimmt Bezug auf die Lichtschranke in der relativistischen Physik, die das, was materiell ist, von dem, was Licht ist, trennt. Light Barrier Third Edition setzt diese Serie fort, die die Konfusion und die Abweichungen an den Grenzen von Materiellem und Nicht-Materiellem, von Realität und Illusion sowie von Existenz und Absenz zum Ausdruck bringt, und lässt ein surreales Traumbild entstehen, welches das menschliche Raum- und Zeitgefühl irritiert.

g3dpv2
G3DP V2: High Fidelity Additive Manufacturing of Transparent Glass Structures across Scales
The Mediated Matter Group, MIT Media Lab

Die Forschungsarbeit präsentiert ein generatives Fertigungsverfahren für optisch verzerrungsfreies, transparentes Glas mit wesentlichen Neuerungen wie zur Gänze transparenten Glaskonstruktionen in architektonischem Maßstab.

duoskin
DuoSkin
MIT Media Lab - Living Mobile Group, Microsoft Research - Natural lnteraction Group

DuoSkin ist ein Verfahren, mit dem auf einfache Weise Smart Tattoos hergestellt werden können, die zur Steuerung von Geräten dienen. Wir verwenden dafür Blattgold, ein Material, das preiswert, hautfreundlich und alltagstauglich ist. Duoskin unterstützt drei unterschiedliche Interfaces auf der Haut: Touch-Eingabe, thermochrome Anzeige und NFC-Kommunikation.

corpusnil
Corpus Nil
Marco Donnarumma

Corpus Nil ist eine Performance, die in einer intensiven ritualisierten Interaktion zwischen einem „künstlich intelligenten“ Musikinstrument, dem menschlichen Körper und Klang hybride Identitätsentwürfe und musikalische Formen auslotet.

bugsbeat
Bug's Beat
Yumi Sasaki, Dorita Takido

Normalerweise können Menschen die Schritte eines Käfers nicht hören. Bug's Beat verstärkt mithilfe von direktionalen Lautsprechern den Klang der Schritte eines Käfers und macht sie für Menschen hörbar. Bei jedem Schritt des Insekts wird der Stuhl des Zuhörers von Vibrationslautsprechern in Schwingungen versetzt, wodurch der Beobachter den Klang auch als Körperempfindung wahrnehmen kann.

SC_theship
Brian Eno's The Ship - A Generative Film
Dentsu Lab Tokyo

Dies ist ein Musikvideoprojekt für The Ship, einen 21 Minuten 20 Sekunden langen Song von Brian Eno, dem Pionier der generativen Musik. Enos kontinuierliche Hinterfragung der Herangehensweise und des Produktionsprozesses innovativer Musik weiterführend, verwarfen wir konventionelle Produktionsmethoden und setzten bei der Kreation des Musikvideos künstliche Intelligenz (KI) ein, wobei gleichzeitig thematisiert wurde, ob künstliche Intelligenz an menschliche Kreativität herankommt.

blooms2
BLOOMS 2: Strobe Animated Sculptures
John Edmark

Blooms sind Skulpturen aus dem 3D-Drucker, die durch Rotation unter Stroposkoplicht animiert werden. Im Unterschied zu einem 3D-Zoetrop, einem dreidimensionalen Daumenkino, bei dem der Eindruck kleiner Formveränderungen der Objekte entsteht, wird eine Bloom als einzelne eigenständige Skulptur animiert.

auracalculata
aura calculata
Tim Otto Roth

Die kinetische Skulptur aura calculata erzeugt durch die Variation des Wasserstandes in 18 transparenten Orgelpfeifen aus Acrylglas einen kontinuierlich sich verändernden mikrotonalen Klangteppich. Das dreieckige Wachstumsmuster der Schale einer Pazifik-Muschel, die in einer separaten Säule ausgestellt ist, veranschaulicht das dieser Skulptur zugrunde liegende Prinzip: Die Töne werden ohne jede zentrale Steuerung, einfach durch die musikalische Adaption des Selbstorganisationsprinzips zellulärer Automaten erzeugt.

algaeriumbioprinter
Algaerium Bioprinter and Algae Printing
Marin Sawa

Algaerium Bioprinter ist eine Installation, welche die Algae Printing -Technologie in einen breiteren Kontext stellt und dabei auch kritisch auf die industrielle Biotechnologie verweist – insbesondere auf den sich abzeichnenden Trend im Bereich Biodesign weg von „intelligentem“ hin zu „utilitaristischem Konsum“.

aerocene
Aerocene Foundation
Tomás Saraceno

Aerocene ist ein multidisziplinäres Projekt, das an das von Wissenschaftlern postulierte neue Zeitalter Anthropozän anknüpft und den Fokus auf die künstlerische und wissenschaftliche Erforschung von Umweltthemen sowie die Förderung von Verbindungen zwischen gesellschaftlichen, psychischen und physischen Aspekten der Ökologie legt. Als Synthese von Kunst, Technologie und Umweltbewusstsein repräsentiert Aerocene die Vision eines Treibstoff- und emissionsfreien Reisens und Lebens in der Atmosphäre.