V2_, Institute for the Unstable Media

v2Credit: Brian Slater

Honorary Mention

V2_, Institute for the Unstable Media

V2_, Institute for the Unstable Media is an interdisciplinary center for art and media technology in Rotterdam (the Netherlands). V2_ presents, produces, archives, and publishes research at the interface of art, technology and society. V2_ offers a platform for artists, designers, scientists, researchers, theorists, and developers from various disciplines to discuss their work and share their findings. In V2_’s view, art and design play an essential role in the social embedding of technological developments. V2_ creates a context in which issues regarding the social impact of technology are explored through critical dialogue, artistic reflection, and practice-oriented research.

Unstable Media

Media and technology are omnipresent in contemporary society, and the same technological developments that are changing communication, politics, production, trade, urban culture, and medicine, are also transforming the arts. Art which applies electronic media especially digital or unstable reflects upon and takes into account the meaning, idiosyncrasies, and boundaries of such media. In this process, instability is a creative force that is essential to the continuous re-ordering of the social/cultural, political, and economic relations in society. Instead of providing us with an orderly, homogeneous worldview, unstable media present an image of a world that is inconsistent, heterogeneous, complex, and variable.

Interactions

V2_ is interested in the relationships and interactions between different media and in the relationship between art and scientific disciplines. The connections between art, technology, media, and society are continuously explored, by bringing together artists, scientists, and civil organizations and by initiating interdisciplinary collaborations. V2_ and its Lab are an instigator of artistic projects, which interrogate and illuminate contemporary issues in art, science, technology, and society. V2_Lab is an autonomous zone where experiments and collaborations can take place outside of the constraints of innovation agendas or economic and political imperatives. With its V2_Lab and the books published by V2_Publishing, V2_ offers a critical perspective on the futuristic promises that new technologies always seem to carry.

History

V2_ was founded in 1981 as an artist collective and multimedia center that transformed into a center for art and media technology. In 1994, it moved to Rotterdam and opened the V2_Lab in 1998 as an extension of its practices towards art production, research, and knowledge exchange.

V2_, Institute for the Unstable Media

V2_, Institute for the Unstable Media is an interdisciplinary center for art and media technology in Rotterdam (the Netherlands). V2_ presents, produces, archives, and publishes research at the interface of art, technology and society. Founded in 1981, V2_ offers a platform for artists, designers, scientists, researchers, theorists, and developers of software and hardware from various disciplines to discuss their work and share their findings. In V2_’s view, art and design play an essential role in the social embedding of technological developments. V2_ creates a context in which issues regarding the social impact of technology are explored through critical dialogue, artistic reflection, and practice-oriented research.

V2_, Institute for the Unstable Media

v2Credit: Brian Slater

Anerkennung

V2_, Institute for the Unstable Media

V2_, Institute for the Unstable Media ist ein interdisziplinäres Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie in Rotterdam (Niederlande). V2_ präsentiert, produziert, archiviert und publiziert Forschung an der Schnittstelle von Kunst, Technologie und Gesellschaft. Es bietet KünstlerInnen, DesignerInnen, WissenschaftlerInnen, ForscherInnen, TheoretikerInnen und EntwicklerInnen aus verschiedensten Disziplinen eine Plattform zur Auseinandersetzung mit ihrer Arbeit und zum Austausch über ihre Ergebnisse. Aus der Sicht von V2_ spielen Kunst und Design in der Einbettung technologischer Entwicklungen in die Gesellschaft eine essenzielle Rolle . Daher schafft V2_ einen Raum, in dem Themen zur sozialen Wirkung von Technologie durch kritischen Dialog, künstlerische Reflexion und praxisorientierte Forschung ergründet werden können.

Instabile Medien

Medien und Technologie sind in der heutigen Gesellschaft allgegenwärtig, und dieselben technologischen Entwicklungen, die Kommunikation, Produktion, Handel, Stadtkultur und Medizin verändern, verändern auch die Künste. Kunst, die sich elektronischer Medien bedient – insbesondere digitale oder *instabile* – gibt die Bedeutungen, Eigenheiten und Grenzen solcher Medien wider. In diesem Prozess ist Instabilität eine kreative Kraft, die für die fortwährende Neuordnung sozialer/kultureller, politischer und wirtschaftlicher Beziehungen in der Gesellschaft entscheidend sind. Statt uns ein geregeltes, homogenes Weltbild zu bieten, präsentieren uns instabile Medien ein Bild, das von Unbeständigkeit, Heterogenität, Komplexität und Wechselhaftigkeit geprägt ist.

Interaktion

V2_ ist an den Beziehungen und Interaktionen verschiedener Medien sowie am Verhältnis von Kunst und wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen interessiert. Die Verbindungen zwischen Kunst, Technologie, Medien und Gesellschaft werden fortwährend erforscht, indem KünstlerInnen, WissenschaftlerInnen und die Zivilgesellschaft zusammengebracht und interdisziplinäre Kooperationen initiiert werden. V2_ und sein Labor initiieren Kunstprojekte, die zeitgenössische Themen in Kunst, Wissenschaft, Technologie und Gesellschaft hinterfragen und beleuchten. Das V2_Lab ist eine autonome Zone, wo Experimente und Kooperationen außerhalb der Grenzen von Innovationsagenden oder wirtschaftlichen und politischen Auflagen stattfinden können. Mit seinem V2_Lab und den Publikationen bei V2_Publishing bietet V2_ kritische Perspektiven auf die vermeintlichen futuristischen Versprechungen neuer Technologien.

Geschichte

V2_ wurde 1981 als KünstlerInnenkollektiv und Multimediazentrum gegründet und entwickelte sich zu einem Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie. 1994 verlagerte sich sein Standort nach Rotterdam und 1998 wurde das V2_Lab zur Erweiterung der Praktiken von Kunstproduktion, Forschung und Wissensaustausch eröffnet.

V2_, Institute for the Unstable Media

V2_, Institute for the Unstable Media ist ein interdisziplinäres Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie in Rotterdam (Niederlande). V2_ präsentiert, produziert, archiviert und veröffentlicht Forschung an der Schnittstelle von Kunst, Technologie und Gesellschaft. 1981 gegründet, bietet V2_ eine Plattform für KünstlerInnen, DesignerInnen, WissenschaftlerInnen, ForscherInnen, TheoretikerInnen und Software- und HardwareentwicklerInnen aus verschiedenen Disziplinen, um sich über ihre Arbeit und Forschungsergebnisse auszutauschen. Aus der Sicht von V2_ spielen Kunst und Design eine wesentliche Rolle in der gesellschaftlichen Einbettung von technologischen Entwicklungen. V2_ schafft einen Kontext, in dem Themen rund um die gesellschaftliche Wirkung von Technologie durch kritischen Dialog, künstlerische Reflexion und praxisorientierte Forschung erkundet werden.