treelab

treelab

Honorary Mention

Marcus Maeder, Roman Zweifel

The goal of our artistic-scientific research project trees: Rendering Ecophysiological Processes Audible, was to connect sounds that occur in trees with ecophysiological processes and thus investigate and render perceptible processes in plants that are not noticeable to humans. The acoustic emissions of a tree in the Swiss Alps were recorded with special acoustic sensors, and all other non-auditory ecophysiological measurement data were sonified–that is, translated into sounds and music. The recordings and sonified measurements were implemented in a number of different media art installations under the preamble “treelab“, which at the same time served as a research environment, in order to display and examine the temporal and spatial connections between plant sounds, physiological processes, and environmental conditions in an artistic­scientific observation system.

Most of the sounds that occur in a plant arise due to drought stress. Thirsty plants make an inaudible noise; acoustic emissions from plants lead to conclusions on their state and on the environmental conditions. During our research project it became clear that our observation system could make another fundamental phenomenon tangible: namely, how plants in Central Europe react to ever-longer periods of heat and drought in the course of climate change. The reconstruction and staging of the life processes and environmental conditions of a tree in an artistic-technical environment has led to new forms of observation and artistic design with an innovative instrument: correlations of measured values and patterns in natural processes become aesthetic effects–abstract measurement data are reflected in images and sounds. The intention of our observation system is to create an all-encompassing experience from complex data sets, and thus to draw a holistic picture of the life processes and environmental conditions of a tree that is under pressure from changing climatic conditions.

Credits

Sonification and artistic realization: Marcus Maeder, Institute for Computer Music and Sound Technology, Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK).

Scientific data and analysis: Roman Zweifel, Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research (WSL)

ICST members of staff involved: Philippe Kocher, Jonas Meyer, Thomas Peter.

Conception lmmersive Lab: Jan Schacher, Daniel Bisig, Martin Neukom, Philippe Kocher (ICST).

Supported by Swiss National Science Foundation SNF, Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK), Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research WSL.

Marcus Maeder (CH) is a sound artist, researcher and composer of electronic music. Maeder studied Fine Arts in Lucerne, Switzerland and Philosophy in Hagen, Germany and is currently pursuing his PhD in Environmental Systems Sciences at ETH Zurich. As a researcher at the Institute for Computer Music and Sound Technology (ICST) of the Zurich University of the Arts, Maeder is working on Data Sonification, Acoustic Ecology and Bioacoustics and artistic investigations of ecological processes and phenomena that are related to climate change and environmental issues.

Roman Zweifel (CH) studied Biology at the University of Zurich and the ETH Zurich, where he gained a doctor’s degree for his ecophysiological work The Rhythm of Trees. He works as a senior researcher at the Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research WSL and runs the private company natkon.ch, selling measurement equipment and expertise for ecological research. Roman Zweifel has strong expertise in tree physiology and electronics and his career is characterised by interdisciplinary and free-spirited projects.

Jury Statement

The jury was impressed with the unusual pairing of a forest expert and a researcher in computer music and sound technology that is bringing the so far unheard ‘sounds of trees’ to the surface. By needling tiny microphones beneath the bark of trees, much is revealed about their physiological processes, and about the forest ecosystem in general. Their collaboration resulted in a joint research project on complex environmental data collection and sonification. The sound models serve as a tool to analyze patterns, understand links, and unlock new research areas for both artists and scientists alike. But through a beautiful installation it also helps the general public to experience and gain deeper insight.

Treelab

treelab

Honorary Mention

Marcus Maeder, Roman Zweifel

Ziel unseres künstlerisch-wissenschaftlichen Forschungsprojekts trees: Ökophysiologishce Prozesse hörbar machen war es, Klänge, die in Bäumen durch ökophysiologischer Prozesse entstehen, aufzunehmen und zu verstärken und auf diese Weise für Menschen nicht wahrnehmbare Prozesse in Pflanzen erkennbar zu machen und zu erforschen. Die Schallemissionen eines Baumes in den Schweizer Alpen wurden mit speziellen akustischen Sensoren aufgezeichnet und alle anderen nicht hörbaren ökophysiologischen Messdaten sonifiziert, d.h. in Klänge und Musik übersetzt. Die Aufnahmen und die sonifizierten Messdaten wurden unter dem Titel „treelab“ in unterschiedlichen Medienkunstinstallationen eingesetzt, die gleichzeitig als Forschungsumfeld dienen, um die zeitlichen und räumlichen Verbindungen zwischen Pflanzenklängen, physiologischen Prozessen und Umweltbedingungen in einem künstlerisch-wissenschaftlichen Beobachtungssystem zu untersuchen.

Die meisten Geräusche, die eine Pflanze von sich gibt, entstehen durch Trockenstress. Durstige Pflanzen „schreien“ auf unhörbare Weise; die von Pflanzen abgegebenen akustischen Signale lassen Rückschlüsse auf ihren Zustand und die Umweltbedingungen zu. Während unseres Forschungsprojekts stellte sich heraus, dass unser Beobachtungssystem ein weiteres interessantes Phänomen erlebbar machen könnte: nämlich, wie Pflanzen in Mitteleuropa auf die durch den Klimawandel bedingten immer längeren Hitze- und Trockenheitsperioden reagieren. Die Rekonstruktion und Inszenierung der Lebensvorgänge und Umweltbedingungen eines Baumes in einem künstlerisch-technischen Umfeld brachte neue Beobachtungsmethoden und Möglichkeiten künstlerischen Designs mit einem innovativen Instrument hervor: Korrelationen gemessener Werte und Muster in natürlichen Prozessen zeitigen ästhetische Wirkungen – abstrakte Messdaten finden Widerhall in Bildern und Klängen. Intention unseres Beobachtungsystems ist es, eine umfassende Erfahrung komplexer Datensätze zu schaffen und auf diese Weise ein ganzheitliches Bild der Lebensvorgänge und Umweltbedingungen eines Baumes zu zeichnen, der durch die veränderten klimatischen Bedingungen unter Druck geraten ist.

Credits

Sonifikation und künstlerische Umsetzung: Marcus Maeder, Institute for Computer Music and Sound Technology, Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK).

Wissenschaftliche Daten und Analyse: Roman Zweifel, Eidg. Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft WSL

Beteiligte MitarbeiterInnen (ICST): Philippe Kocher, Jonas Meyer, Thomas Peter.

Konzeption lmmersive Lab: Jan Schacher, Daniel Bisig, Martin Neukom, Philippe Kocher (ICST).

Unterstützt vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung (SNF), der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK) und der Eidg. Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft WSL

Marcus Maeder (CH) ist Klangkünstler, Forscher und Komponist elektronischer Musik. Er studierte Kunst in Luzern (CH) und Philosophie in Hagen (D); derzeit ist er Doktorand am Departement Umweltsystemwissenschaften an der ETH Zürich. Als Forscher am Institute for Computer Music and Sound Technology (ICST) an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste arbeitet Maeder in den Bereichen Datensonifikation, akustische Ökologie und Bioakustik sowie an künstlerischen Forschungen zu ökologischen Prozessen und Phänomenen, die mit dem Klimawandel und Umweltthemen zusammenhängen.

Roman Zweifel (CH) studierte Biologie an der Universität Zürich und an der ETH Zürich, wo er mit der Dissertation The Rhythm of Trees (Der Rhythmus der Bäume) promovierte. Er ist Projektleiter an der Eidg. Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft WSL und betreibt das Unternehmen natkon.ch, das Messgeräte und Expertise für ökologische Forschung anbietet. Roman Zweifel verfügt über fundierte Fachkenntnisse zur Physiologie der Bäume und im Bereich Elektronik. Charakteristisch für seine Laufbahn ist die Realisierung von unkonventionellen interdisziplinären Projekten.

Jury Statement

Die Jury überzeugte die unübliche Zusammenarbeit zwischen einem Forstexperten und einem Computermusiker und Klangkünstler, denen es mit ihrem Projekt gelang, den bislang unhörbaren „Gesang der Bäume“ wahrnehmbar zu machen. Durch winzige Mikrofone, die unter der Rinde der Bäume angebracht wurden, werden Erkenntnisse über physiologischen Vorgänge und das Ökosystem des Waldes gewonnen. Aus der Kooperation der beiden resultierte ein gemeinsames Forschungsprojekt, das eine komplexen Umweltdatensammlung und eine Sonifizierung von Daten umfasst. Die Klangmodelle dienen als Instrument, um Muster zu analysieren, Verbindungen zu verstehen und neue Forschungsbereiche sowohl für KünstlerInnen als auch für WissenschaftlerInnen zu erschließen. Die Schönheit der Installation erleichtert dem Publikum darüber hinaus, neue Erfahrungen zu machen und Einsichten zu gewinnen.