Time Displacement / Chemobrionic Garden

timedisplacement

Nomination

Robertina Šebjanič, Ida Hiršenfelder, Aleš Hieng – Zergon

“In crystal we have a pure evidence of the existence of a formative life principle, and although in spite of everything we cannot understand the life of crystals – it is still a living being.”  (Nikola Tesla, 1900)

Time Displacement – Chemobrionic Garden explores a relationship between hydrothermal chemistry, the passage of time, and the evolution of sound. The project consists of several small chemical garden formations in a water glass (sodium metasilicate) solution, to provide an insight into research on the origin of life and on chemical processes. The chemical reactions are monitored by cameras to detect changes in color and in shape by means of microcontrollers. The changes affect the code for live sound generation, and slowly alter the generative drone composition pervading the gallery space.

The project’s theoretical background is based on a paper entitled “From chemical gardens to chemobrionics”, written and issued by a group of 21 scientists on 29 May 2015, a reiterating call for research into the principles of self-assembling structures, to produce as they suggest new insights into the origin of metabolism in Earth’s early geological periods.

About

Project credits
Artists (Research and development): Robertina Šebjanič, Ida Hiršenfelder, Aleš Hieng – Zergon
Programming: Slavko Glamočanin
Production: Projekt Atol  & LJUDMILA, 2015
Partner: Aksioma

Robertina Šebjanič (SL) is an internationally exhibited artist, combining art – technology – science. Her ideas and concepts are often realized in collaboration with others, through interdisciplinary and informal integration in her work. She is a member of Hackteria Network, Ljudmila, UR Institute, and Theremidi Orchestra.

Aleš Hieng – Zergon (SL) is a chemical engineer by profession as well as a DJ, a producer of electronic music, and a sound artist who also works in the field of audiovisual performances and DIY electronics. He is interested in sonic and audiovisual experimentations as well as club music.

Ida Hiršenfelder (SL) is a Ljubljana based media art curator and sound artist. Her focus research areas are media archeology and archives of media art. She works at the Museum of Contemporary Art Metelkova +MUSM on projects related to digital archives.

Time Displacement / Chemobrionic Garden

timedisplacement

Nomination

Robertina Šebjanič, Ida Hiršenfelder, Aleš Hieng – Zergon

„In einem Kristall finden wir den klaren Beweis für die Existenz eines formenden Lebensprinzips, und auch wenn wir das Leben in einem Kristall nicht verstehen können, so ist er dennoch ein lebendiges Lebewesen.“ (Nikola Tesla, 1900)

Time Displacement – Chemobrionic Garden

erforscht das Verhältnis von hydrothermaler Chemie, dem Verlauf der Zeit und der Weiterentwicklung des Klanges. Das Projekt besteht aus einigen kleinen chemischen Gartenformationen in einer Wasserglaslösung (Natriumsilicate) und gibt Einblicke in die Erforschung des Ursprungs des Lebens und in chemische Prozesse. Die chemischen Reaktionen werden von Kameras überwacht, um Verfärbungen und Verformungen mittels Mikrocontroller wahrzunehmen. Die Veränderungen wirken sich auf einen Code aus, mit dem Klänge live generiert werden, und gestalten so wiederum die Drone-Komposition um, die im Ausstellungsraum ertönt.

Den theoretischen Hintergrund für dieses Projekt lieferte der von 21 WissenschaftlerInnen verfasste und am 29. Mai 2015 veröffentlichte Aufsatz „From Chemical Gardens to Chemobrionics“, in dem wiederholt zur Erforschung des Prinzips selbstassemblierender Strukturen aufgefordert wird, um, so die AutorInnen, neue Einblicke in die Ursprünge des Metabolismus in den den frühen Systemen der Erdgeschichte zu gewinnen.

Credits

Project credits
Artists (Research and development): Robertina Šebjanič, Ida Hiršenfelder, Aleš Hieng – Zergon
Programming: Slavko Glamočanin
Production: Projekt Atol  & LJUDMILA, 2015
Partner: Aksioma

Robertina Šebjanič (SL) ist eine Künstlerin, die Kunst, Technologie und Wissenschaft miteinander verbindet und auf internationalen Ausstellungen vertreten ist. Sie realisiert ihre Ideen und Konzepte oft in Kooperationen und durch interdisziplinäre und informelle Integration in ihre Arbeiten. Sie ist Mitglied von Hackteria Network, Ljudmila, UR Institute und Theremidi Orchestra.

Aleš Hieng – Zergon (SL) ist von Beruf Chemotechniker, aber auch DJ, Produzent elektronischer Musik und Klangkünstler, der auch im Bereich der audiovisuellen Performance und DIY-Elektronics tätig ist. Sein Interesse gilt Klang- und A/V-Experimenten sowie Club Music.

Ida Hiršenfelder (SL) ist eine Medienkunstkuratorin und Klangkünstlerin aus Ljubljana. Ihre Forschung konzentriert sich auf die Bereiche Medienarchäologie und Medienkunstarchive. Sie arbeitet am Museum of Contemporary Art Metelkova +MUSM an Projekten zu digitalen Archiven.