Speculative, Fashionable, Wearable

speculativefashionable

Nomination

Daijiro Mizuno, Kazuya Kawasaki

The work aims to speculate on sartorial appearances of the future through blending fashion design and wearable technology.

Urban Play: What if street-hacktivist fashion could redefine the way people play in the urban landscape? Today, street fashion, e.g. for skateboarders, is mixed with location-based augmented reality games to change the way we experience the urban landscape. We speculated about the future where fashion could redefine the way people play in the urban landscapes as a mixed reality.

Computer-Obaachan: What if mass-customizable fashion could adapt to the changing needs of the elderly? Today, we live in a rapidly aging society where every need is one-off and changing. We speculated on the future of garments that could support the changing needs of the elderly beyond physical appearance.

Information Corset: What if self-changing fashion could control our body shape to manipulate the perception of beauty? Historically, women in the Western world manipulated their body shape using garments such as corsets, crinolines, and bustles. Today, we live in a society governed by information technology. We speculated on the post-human bodies that are completely designed through information.

Credits

Project Members: Daijiro Mizuno, Kazuya Kawasaki, Tomo Kihara, Keisuke Shimakage, Natsumi Wada, Marika Nakada, Tomoya  Ohta, Kenta Tanaka, Ryosuke Ogata, Shoko Tamura, Kazumi Kanagawa

Film Crew: Naoto Kobayashi, Kenjiro Matsuoka, Ryota Fujinaka, Sohei Suwa, Kizuki Satoi

Hair & Makeup: Traffic

The project is supported by Project Jacquard at Google Advanced Technology and Projects (ATAP)

Daijiro Mizuno (JP), born in Tokyo in 1979, completed an MA and a PhD in Fashion Design at Royal College of Art. Daijiro’s research projects speculate about how design can make a positive impact on our society. Daijiro is currently working as an Associate Professor at Keio University Faculty of Environment and Information Studies while working as a freelance design researcher. Daijiro also works as a co-editor in chief of fashion design critique periodical, Vanitas.

Kazuya Kawasaki (JP), born in 1991, is a fashion designer who is trying to create a new era of “speculative fashion”. He designs fashion works that speculate about an alternative fashion industry in order to explore the possibility of fusion between fashion design and emerging technology such as biotechnology and wearable technology. Kazuya’s works have been presented at National Museum of Scotland (Edinburgh, 2017), Hong Kong Design Institute (2016, Hong Kong), Design lndaba (2016, Cape town), and AXIS gallery (Tokyo, 2015). He is working as a textile researcher at Poiesis Labs founded by Shiho Fukuhara.

Speculative, Fashionable, Wearable

speculativefashionable

Nomination

Daijiro Mizuno, Kazuya Kawasaki

Diese Arbeit thematisiert Bekleidungstrends der Zukunft, die auf der Kombination von Modedesign und Wearable-Technologie basieren.

Urban Play: Was wäre, wenn hacktivistische Streetwear neu definieren könnte, wie Menschen den urbanen Raum spielerisch erkunden? Heute wird Streetwear, etwa für SkateboarderInnen, mit standortbezogenen Augmented-Reality-Spielen kombiniert, um unsere Erfahrung des Stadtraums zu verändern. Wir stellten Spekulationen über eine Zukunft an, in der Mode den spielerischen Umgang der Menschen mit dem urbanen Raum in einer Mixed Reality neu definieren könnte.

Computer-Obaachan: Was wäre, wenn es eine maßgeschneiderte Mode für die breite Masse gäbe, die sich den sich wandelnden Bedürfnissen der älteren Bevölkerung anpassen kann? Wir leben heute in einer rasant alternden Gesellschaft, in der Bedürfnisse kurzlebig sind und sich rasch verändern. Wir stellten Spekulationen über zukünftige Kleidung an, die über das äußere Erscheinungsbild hinausweist und den sich verändernden Bedürfnissen älterer Menschen entspricht.

Information Corset: Was wäre, wenn eine Mode mit dem Potenzial der Selbstveränderung unsere Körperform beeinflussen und auf diese Weise den Schönheitsbegriff manipulieren könnte? Historisch betrachtet manipulierten Frauen im Westen ihre Körper mithilfe von Kleidungsstücken wie Korsetts, Krinolinen und Reifröcken. Die Gesellschaft, in der wir leben, ist von der Informationstechnologie beherrscht. Wir stellten Spekulationen über posthumane Körper an, die zur Gänze von der Informatisierung bestimmt wird.

Credits

Projektmitglieder: Daijiro Mizuno, Kazuya Kawasaki, Tomo Kihara, Keisuke Shimakage, Natsumi Wada, Marika Nakada, Tomoya  Ohta, Kenta Tanaka, Ryosuke Ogata, Shoko Tamura, Kazumi Kanagawa

Film-Crew: Naoto Kobayashi, Kenjiro Matsuoka, Ryota Fujinaka, Sohei Suwa, Kizuki Satoi

Haare & Make-up: Traffic

Das Projekt wurde unterstützt vom Project Jacquard der Abteilung Advanced Technology and Projects (ATAP) von Google

Daijiro Mizuno (JP), geboren in Tokio 1979, absolvierte das Master- und Promotionsstudium Mode-Design am Royal College of Art. In seinen Forschungsprojekten spekuliert er über den positiven Einfluss von Design auf unsere Gesellschaft. Derzeit ist er Dozent an der Fakultät für Umwelt und Informationswissenschaft an der Keio-Universität in Japan und darüber hinaus freischaffend als Designforscher sowie als Co-Chefredakteur des kritischen Mode- und Designmagazins Vanitas tätig.

Kazuya Kawasaki (JP), geboren 1991, ist Modedesigner und versucht, neue Wege in der Mode zu beschreiten. Er stellt in seinen Modeentwürfen Spekulationen über eine alternative Modeindustrie an, um die Möglichkeiten einer Verbindung zwischen Modedesign und neuen Technologien wie Biotechnologie und Wearable-Technologie auszuloten. Seine Arbeiten wurden am National Museum of Scotland (Edinburgh, 2017), am Hong Kong Design Institute (2016, Hongkong), von Design lndaba (2016, Kapstadt) und in der Galerie AXIS (Tokio, 2015) ausgestellt. Darüber hinaus ist er als Textilforscher an dem von Shiho Fukuhara gegründeten Unternehmen Poiesis Labs tätig.