RGB|CMYK KINETIC

rgbcmykkineticCredit: Flavio Coddou

Honorary Mention

ART+COM Studios (DE)

RGB|CMYK Kinetic is a poetic experience of color, movement, and sound. Simultaneously a suspended sculpture and a choreography of light and music, it has roots in two twentieth-century avant-garde traditions: kinetic art and light art. The inspiration for the work stems from the nature of light, particularly from the duality of additive and subtractive colors.

Five mirror-coated flat disks seem to float through space in unison. Three spot lights in the three primary colors, red, green and blue (RGB), project a circle of white light on the floor. The discs reflect the light and cast colored shadows onto the floor. This set-up provides the basis for a poetic choreography and the immersive, spatial experience of colorful, synchronized lights and shadows moving in unison with the computative and weightless motion of the discs.

The colored ellipses on the ground are generated by reflecting and shadowing the spot lights. The mirror discs cast shadows behind them on the ground, and in these shadows the white light subtracts into cyan, magenta and yellow (CMY). In front, the discs reflect the RGB light as individual colors onto the ground. With this the three additive primary colors (RGB) and the three subtractive primary colors (CMY) are created out of the white light.

Photo credit: ART+COM Studios

The kinetic choreography is complemented by a musical score that unfolds in dialogue with the discs’ movements. The three-part sound composition for RGB|CMYK Kinetic was made by Icelandic musician, Ólafur Arnalds. The first part of the composition is based on the movements of the mirror discs: the varying heights of the discs in space modulate the five digital instruments. The following two sections of the composition interpret the computatively designed choreography more freely.

The installation RGB|CMYK Kinetic was commissioned by Sónar and the Sorigué Foundation and premiered at SónarPLANTA Barcelona in 2015. Expanded by the dimension of black (the ‘K’ in CMYK stands for key=mask=black), RGB|CMYK Kinetic is a work produced for the opening exhibition at the Asian Art Center in Gwangju, South Korea.

ART+COM Studios (DE)

ART+COM Studios designs and develops new media installations and spaces. We use new technology as an artistic medium of expression and as a medium for the interactive communication of complex information. In the process, we are improving the technologies constantly and exploring their potential for spatial communication and art. ART+COM e.V., founded in 1988, is today ART+COM Studios, working internationally in the field of art, communication, and research.

Project credits

ART+COM Studios (DE)
Sound: Ólafur Arnalds

RGB|CMYK KINETIC

rgbcmykkineticCredit: Flavio Coddou

Anerkennung

ART+COM Studios (DE)

RGB|CMYK Kinetic ist ein poetisches Farb-, Bewegungs- und Klangerlebnis. Die Installation ist sowohl schwebende Skulptur als auch Licht- und Musikchoreografie und ist in zwei Avantgardetraditionen des 20. Jahrhunderts verwurzelt: in kinetischer Kunst und in Lichtkunst. Inspiriert wurde diese Arbeit von der Beschaffenheit von Licht, insbesondere der Dualität von additiven und subtraktiven Farben.

Fünf verspiegelte flache Scheiben scheinen als Einheit durch den Raum zu schweben. Drei Scheinwerfer in den Primärfarben Rot, Grün und Blau (RGB) projizieren einen weißen Lichtkreis auf den Boden. Die Scheiben reflektieren das Licht und werfen farbige Schatten auf den Boden. Dieses Setup bietet die Grundlage für eine poetische Choreografie und ein immersives Raumerlebnis von bunten, synchronisierten Lichtern und Schatten, die im Einklang mit den computergesteuerten, schwerelosen Bewegungen der Scheiben durch den Raum ziehen.

Die farbigen Ellipsen am Boden werden durch das Reflektieren und Schattenwerfen der Scheinwerfer generiert. Die Spiegelscheiben werfen Schatten auf den Boden hinter sich, in welchen sich wiederum das weiße Licht zu Cyan, Magenta und Gelb (CMY) subtrahiert. Nach vorne reflektieren die Scheiben das RGB-Licht als einzelne Farben auf den Boden. Dadurch werden die drei additiven Primärfarben (RGB) und die drei subtraktiven Primärfarben (CMY) aus dem weißen Licht geschaffen.

Photo credit: ART+COM Studios

Die kinetische Choreografie wird von Musik begleitet, die sich im Dialog mit den Bewegungen der Scheiben entfaltet. Die dreiteilige Klangkomposition für RGB|CMYK Kinetik stammt vom isländischen Musiker Ólafur Arnalds. Der erste Teil der Komposition basiert auf den Bewegungen der Spiegelkörper: die im Raum auf unterschiedlichen Höhen angebrachten Scheiben modulieren die fünf digitalen Instrumente. Die beiden anderen Teile der Komposition interpretieren die komputativ gestaltete Choreografie freier.

Die Installation RGB|CMYK Kinetic entstand im Auftrag von Sónar und der Sorigué Foundation und feierte beim SónarPLANTA Barcelona 2015 ihre Premiere. Für die Eröffnungsausstellung des Asian Art Centers im südkoreanischen Gwangju wurde die Installation RGB|CMYK eine um die Dimension Schwarz erweitert (das K in CMYK steht für Key = Maske = Schwarz).

ART+COM Studios (DE)

ART+COM Studios (DE) gestaltet und entwickelt New-Media-Installationen und -Räume. Wir verwenden neue Technologien als künstlerische Ausdrucksform und als Medium für die interaktive Kommunikation komplexer Informationen. In diesem Prozess entwickeln wir Technologien ständig weiter und erforschen ihr Potenzial für räumliche Kommunikation und Kunst. Der 1988 gegründete ART+COM e.V. ist heute ART+COM Studios und agiert international im Bereich der Kunst, Kommunikation und Forschung.

Credits

ART+COM Studios (DE)
Sound: Ólafur Arnalds