Project Nimbus

projectnimbus

Nomination

Dave Lynch, Mike Nix

Project Nimbus (2015) achieved the inaugural projection of moving images onto clouds from aircraft. The image (Horse in Motion – Muybridge 1878) is a shared cultural reference between art & science. Beyond the spectacle, genuine collaboration was underpinned by art as research, involving aviators, technologists, and cultural specialists, driven by the power of idea and joy of risk, giving freedom from commercialization.

Inspired by a proposed US military non-lethal weapon, the Laser Zoopraxiscope Mk6 is an open source cloud projector, combining historical and innovative projection technologies.

Through a pioneering journey of artistic and scientific enquiry, rapid prototyping and willingness to question, the blurring of art, science and maker cultures became the ultimate product. A moment of apparent physical impossibility revealed the fragility of inspiration possibility, risk, commitment. Nimbus captures the innovation and optimism that pervade scientific and artistic research practice.

About

Dave Lynch (UK) is an artist, director, and inventor working at the intersection of moving image, large scale interactive installation, performance, and projection. His practice combines elements of art, science, military, maker and media cultures as part of its tactics, technologies, and production.

Mike Nix (UK) is a physicist with a background in laser spectroscopy and molecular dynamics, previously working at the University of Leeds. He is involved in installation and performance based art with a scientific inspiration or influence, as part of an on-going interest in the coincidence and contrast of artistic and scientific methods in practice. Both Dave and Mike are part of Leeds (UK) based Art, Science, Maker Collective The Superposition.

Project Nimbus

projectnimbus

Nominierung

Dave Lynch, Mike Nix

Project Nimbus (2015)  gelang erstmals die Projektion bewegter Bilder auf die Kondensstreifen von Flugzeugen. Das Bild (Horse in Motion, Muybridge 1878) ist ein kultureller Bezug, den Kunst und Wissenschaft gemein haben. Über das Spektakel hinaus wurde die Arbeit durch Kunst als Forschung untermauert, unter Einbindung von Piloten, Technologen und Kulturexperten, angetrieben von Vorstellungskraft und Risikofreude, wodurch das Projekt  vom Kommerzialisierungszwang befreit war.

Inspiriert von einer vom US-amerikanischen Militär angeregten nichtlethalen Waffe, ist der Laser „Zoopraxiscope Mk6“ ein Open-Source-Wolkenprojektor, der historische und innovative Projektionstechnologien verbindet.

Durch eine bahnbrechende Reise durch künstlerische und wissenschaftliche Forschung, die rasche Erstellung von Prototypen und einer Bereitschaft zu hinterfragen, wurde die Aufweichung der Grenze zwischen Kunst, Wissenschaft und Maker-Kultur allmählich zum eigentlichen Produkt. Ein Moment der scheinbaren physikalischen Unmöglichkeit genügte, um die Zerbrechlichkeit von Inspiration zu enthüllen – Möglichkeit, Risiko, Engagement. So illustriert das Projekt Nimbus die Innovation und den Optimismus, die sich durch wissenschaftliche und künstlerische Forschungspraxis zieht.

Credits:

Dave Lynch (UK) ist Künstler, Regisseur und Erfinder an der Schnittstelle zwischen bewegten Bildern, großflächigen interaktiven Installationen, Performance und Projektion. Seine Praxis vereint Elemente aus Kunst, Wissenschaft, Militär, Maker- und Medienkultur und macht sie zu Teilen seiner Taktik, Technologie und Produktion. Davelynch.net

Mike Nix (UK) ist Physiker und arbeitet im Forschungsbereich Laserspektroskopie und Molekulardynamik. Zuvor war er an der Universität Leeds beschäftigt. Er arbeitet im Bereich Installation und performancebasierter Kunst, die von der Wissenschaft inspiriert bzw. beeinflusst wird, und ist dabei laufend interessiert an der Kongruenz und den Gegensätzen künstlerischer und wissenschaftlicher Methoden in der Praxis. Sowohl Dave als auch Mike sind Mitglieder des in Leeds (UK) basierten Kunst-, Wissenschafts- und Maker-Kollektivs The Superposition.