Processing Foundation

processingfoundation

Nomination

Processing Foundation

The Processing Foundation’s mission is to promote software literacy within the visual arts, and visual literacy within technology-related fields. Our goal is to empower people of all interests and backgrounds to learn how to program and make creative work with code, especially those who might not otherwise have access to these tools and resources.

We do this by developing and distributing a group of related software projects, which includes Processing, p5.js, and Processing.py, and facilitating partnerships and collaborations with allied organizations and individuals, to build a more diverse community around software and the arts.

The Processing Foundation is specifically invested in expanding the communities of technology and the arts to include and support those who have not had equal access. At our core is the philosophy and politics of open-source software. We believe that learning to program is not about acquiring a certain skillset, but is instead a creative and exploratory process.

About

Board of Directors: Ben Fry, Lauren McCarthy , Daniel Shiffman , Casey Reas
Director of Initiatives: Johanna Hedva
Advisor: John Maeda

The Processing Foundation was founded in 2012 after more than a decade of work with the original Processing software. Over the years, Processing has reached and empowered not only artists and coders, but also designers, filmmakers, educators, musicians, performers, and students of all kinds.

Processing Foundation

processingfoundation

Nominierung

Processing Foundation

Die Mission der Processing Foundation ist die Förderung von Softwarekenntnissen im Bereich der visuellen Künste und visuelle Kenntnisse im technischen Bereichen. Unser Ziel ist es, Menschen mit verschiedenen Hintergründen und Interessen zu ermöglichen, Programmiersprachen und kreatives Arbeiten mit Code zu erlernen, vor allem jenen, die sonst keinen Zugang zu solchen Tools und Ressourcen haben.

Wir nähern uns diesem Ziel, indem wir eine Reihe zusammenhängender Softwareprojekte entwickeln und verbreiten, die Processingp5.js und Processing.py umfassen, und indem wir Partnerschaften und Kooperationen mit verbündeten Organisationen und Personen fördern, um die Community im Bereich Software und Kunst zu diversifizieren.

Die Processing Foundation ist besonders daran interessiert, Technologie- und Kunst-Communities so auszuweiten, dass sie auch jene Menschen aufnehmen und unterstützen, die bisher keine gleichberechtigten Zugangsmöglichkeiten gehabt haben. Das Projekt basiert dabei auf der Philosophie und Politik der Open-Source-Software. Wir sind der Ansicht, dass eine Programmiersprache zu erlernen nicht die Aneignung bestimmter Fähigkeiten bedeutet, sondern ein Prozess der Kreativität und des Erforschens ist.

Credits

Board of Directors: Ben Fry, Lauren McCarthy , Daniel Shiffman , Casey Reas
Director of Initiatives: Johanna Hedva
Advisor: John Maeda

The Processing Foundation wurde 2012 gegründet, nach mehr als zehn Jahren Arbeit an der ursprünglichen Processing-Software. Über die Jahre hinweg hat Processing nicht nur KünstlerInnen und CodiererInnen, sondern auch DesignerInnen, FilmemacherInnen, PädagogInnen, MusikerInnen, PerformerInnen und StudentInnen aller Disziplinen erreicht und ermächtigt.