2017

Impression of the Ars Electronica Festival

Ars Electronica Festival

The Ars Electronica Festival 2017 will take place from September 7-11 in Linz, Austria. The festival is staged at a variety of locations throughout the inner city—classic artistic and cultural venues, streets, squares and parks, and even shopping malls, schools, churches or mothballed factory grounds. And no less diverse than the locations were the productions on the festival’s program. Exhibitions and presentations, conferences and panel discussions, workshops, concerts, screenings, performances and interventions make up a jam-packed lineup of fascinating events. The STARTS recipients will be showcased at several of them!

Impression of the Ars Electronica Gala

Prix Ars Electronica Gala

At the Prix Ars Electronica Gala on September 8, 2017, not only the Golden Nica prizewinners of the Prix Ars Electronica will be singled out for recognition; the STARTS recipients will also be publically honored.

Impression of the Cyberarts exhibition

STARTS Prize Exhibition

A selection of the most outstanding projects submitted for prize consideration to the STARTS Prize will be presented at the Ars Electronica Festival.

Impression of the STARTS forum

STARTS Prize Forum

But attention isn’t focused only on the prizewinning projects; Ars Electronica’s spotlight also shines on the people who produced them. At the STARTS Prize Forum 2017 (September 9, 2017), the winners will have an opportunity to elaborate on their approach and point of view, their methodology and the results they have achieved with it.

BOZAR

BOZAR Electronic Art Festival BEAF

Immediately after the Ars Electronica Festival, the Best of STARTS Prize 2017 travels to Brussels where it will be on display in conjunction with the BOZAR Electronic Art Festival BEAF (September 14-30, 2017). The BEAF has made a name for itself with a broad spectrum of activities dedicated to contemporary art and culture. It’s a setting for intensive encounters with exceptional work in the field of digital culture. The festival encompasses electronic music, installations, artistic performances, film & video screenings, workshops and discussions. It’s a don’t-miss event for fans of digital art.

Past presentations

DRIVE. Volkswagen Group Forum

In the framework of the collaborative exhibition between Volkswagen and Ars Electronica from July 1st 2016 to August 27th 2016 at the DRIVE. Volkswagen Group Forum Berlin, Ars Electronica presented a selection of the STARTS Prize Winners 2016 in the exhibition “Human Factor – Endless Prototyping” to 170.000 visitors.

Science Agora Japan

Ars Electronica presented selected winners of the STARTS Prize 2016 during Science Agora from November 3rd-November 5th 2016 in the form of presentations and talks in Japan.

2017

Impression of the Ars Electronica Festival

Ars Electronica Festival

Von 7. bis 11. September findet das Ars Electronica Festival 2017 in Linz statt. Bespielt werden unterschiedliche Locations in der gesamten Innenstadt – von klassischen Kunst- und Kulturhäusern über Straßen, Plätze und Parks bis hin zu Shopping Malls, Schulen, Kirchen oder stillgelegten Fabrikarealen. Ebenso vielfältig wie die Schauplätze des Festivals sind seine Formate: Ausstellungen und Präsentationen, Konferenzen und Podiumsdiskussionen, Workshops, Konzerte, Screenings, Performances und Interventionen bilden ein unglaublich dichtes und abwechslungsreiches Programm. Die STARTS-GewinnerInnen erhalten darin gleich mehrere Auftritte:

Impression of the Ars Electronica Gala

Prix Ars Electronica Gala

Im Rahmen der Prix Ars Electronica Gala (8. September 2017) bekommen diesmal nicht nur die GewinnerInnen des Prix Ars Electronica ihre Goldenen Nicas überreicht, sondern es werden auch die STARTS-GewinnerInnen auf die Bühne gebeten.

Impression of the Cyberarts exhibition

STARTS Prize Ausstellung

Im Rahmen des Ars Electronica Festivals wird eine Auswahl der besten Projekte, die beim STARTS-Prize eingereicht wurden, präsentiert.

Impression of the STARTS forum

STARTS Prize Forum

Doch nicht nur die Projekte, sondern auch die dahinter stehenden Menschen sollen im Rahmen des Ars Electronica Festival vorgestellt werden. Beim STARTS Prize Forum 2017 (9. September 2017) haben sie Gelegenheit ihre Ansätze und Perspektiven, ihre Arbeitsweisen und die dabei erzielten Ergebnisse zu präsentieren.

BOZAR

BOZAR Electronic Art Festival BEAF

Direkt im Anschluss an das Ars Electronica Festival wandert das Best of STARTS 2017 nach Brüssel und wird im Rahmen des BOZAR Electronic Art Festival BEAF (14-30 September 2017) gezeigt. Das BEAF ist eine etablierte Veranstaltung für zeitgenössische digitale Kunst und Kultur mit einem breiten Spektrum an Aktivitäten. Hier kann man sich mit den besten Arbeiten im Bereich digitale Kultur auseinandersetzen. Das Festival umfasst elektronische Musik, Installationen, künstlerische Performances, Film-/Videovorführungen, Workshops und Diskussionen und ist ein Muss für Fans digitaler Kunst.

Vergangene Präsentationen

DRIVE. Volkswagen Group Forum

Im Rahmen der gemeinsamen Ausstellung “Human Factor – Endless Prototyping” von Volkswagen und Ars Electronica, die von 1. Juli bis 27. August 2016 im DRIVE. Volkswagen Group Forum in Berlin stattgefunden hat, hat Ars Electronica eine Auswahl der Gewinnerprojekte des STARTS Prize 2016 170.000 BesucherInnen präsentiert.

Science Agora Japan

Ars Electronica hat ausgewählte GewinnerInnen des STARTS Prize 2016 während der Science Agora von 3.-5. November 2016 in Form von Vorträgen und Präsentationen in Japan vorgestellt.