Nosaj Thing / Cold Stares ft. Chance The Rapper + The O’My’s

nosaything

Nomination

Daito Manabe, MIKIKO, TAKCOM, ELEVENPLAY, Rhizomatiks Research

This is a music video of “Cold Stares”, a collaboration between Los Angeles-based artist and beatmaker Nosaj Thing, who is actively working around the world, and rapper Chance The Rapper. A dance piece by two dancers was produced to express the message in the lyrics their mental situation and conflict searching for reason of being and memories, wandering along the border between reality and illusion. This dance has been shown in two ways: the real world performed by people and the delusional world of CG. This film and editing system has potential for capturing various live performance and live sports broadcasts. In the future, we plan to use ultra wide band techniques to capture outdoor spaces, in place of motion capture cameras.

About

Rhizomatiks Research: Daito Manabe, Motoi Ishibashi, Yuya Hanai, Katsuhiko Harada, Momoko Nishimoto, Youichi Sakamoto, Tomoaki Yanagisawa
ELEVENPLAY: MIKIKO, Kaori Yasukawa, Erisa Wakisaka
TAKCOM
P.I.C.S.: Takahiko Kajima, Syuhei Harada
McRAY: Akira Miwa, Kohki Okuyama, Akira Iio
Crescent,inc.
Yae-pon

Daito Manabe (JP) is a media artist, DJ and programmer. Daito founded Rhizomatiks in 2006, and since 2015 he has worked with Motoi Ishibashi on Rhizomatiks Research, which conducts projects for the purpose of R&D. Rhizomatiks Research, researching into the relationship between human beings and technology, is an organization which introduces to the world, art and entertainment projects through collaborating with creators including artists, researchers, graphic designers, athletes, dancers, choreographers, directors, musicians, and engineers.

MIKIKO (JP) is a stage director/choreographer, the artistic director and choreographer of world-famous Japanese artists, and choreographer/director of the dance company ELEVENPLAY. ELEVENPLAY was founded by MIKIKO in 2009 in hopes of creating dancers who possess highly artistic sense and creativity on top of exquisite techniques, body and spirit.

TAKCOM (JP) is a director of the moving image and an artist based in Tokyo. He has garnered acclaim worldwide with gallery exhibitions and art festivals. From art gallery to advertising, he takes pleasure in pursuing artistic expression in all mediums and forms.

Nosaj Thing / Cold Stares ft. Chance The Rapper + The O’My’s

nosaything

Nomination

Daito Manabe, MIKIKO, TAKCOM, ELEVENPLAY, Rhizomatiks Research

Cold Stares” ist ein Musikvideo, das in Zusammenarbeit mit dem auf der ganzen Welt aktiven Künstler und Beat-Maker Nosaj Thing aus Los Angeles und dem Musiker Chance The Rapper entstanden ist. Nosaj Thing produzierte ein Tanzstück für zwei Tänzerinnen, um die Botschaft des Raptextes zu transportieren – den Geisteszustand und Konflikt auf der Suche nach Existenzgründen und Erinnerungen, eine Gradwanderung zwischen Realität und Illusion. Dieser Tanz wird auf zwei Arten gezeigt: Die reale Welt wird von Menschen performt, die wahnhafte Welt von Computeranimationen. Mit dieser Film- und Schnitttechnik können verschiedene Live-Performances und Live-Übertragungen von Sportveranstaltungen bearbeitet werden. Für die Zukunft planen wir, für Aufnahmen im Freien anstelle von Motion-Capture-Kameras Ultrabreitband zu verwenden.

Credits

Rhizomatiks Research: Daito Manabe, Motoi Ishibashi, Yuya Hanai, Katsuhiko Harada, Momoko Nishimoto, Youichi Sakamoto, Tomoaki Yanagisawa
ELEVENPLAY: MIKIKO, Kaori Yasukawa, Erisa Wakisaka
TAKCOM
P.I.C.S.: Takahiko Kajima, Syuhei Harada
McRAY: Akira Miwa, Kohki Okuyama, Akira Iio
Crescent,inc.
Yae-pon

Daito Manabe (JP) ist Medienkünstler, DJ und Programmierer. 2006 gründete Daito Rhizomatiks und arbeitet seit 2015 mit Motoi Ishibashi an Rhizomatiks Research, wo sie Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte durchführen. Rhizomatiks Research, wo das Verhältnis von Menschen zur Technologie erforscht wird, ist eine Organisation, die Kunst- und Unterhaltungsprojekte bietet und dabei mit KünstlerInnen, ForscherInnen, GrafikerInnen, AthletInnen, TänzerInnen, ChoreografInnen, RegisseurInnen, MusikerInnen, TechnikerInnen und anderen Kunst- und Kulturschaffenden zusammenarbeitet.

MIKIKO (JP) ist Theaterregisseurin und -choreografin, künstlerische Leiterin und Choreografin bekannter japanischer KünstlerInnen sowie Choreografin und Regisseurin des Tanzensembles ELEVENPLAY.

TAKCOM (JP) ist ein Tokioter Video- und Filmregisseur und Künstler. Weltweit bekannt wurde er durch seine Ausstellungen und auf Kunstfestivals. Ob in Kunstgallerien oder in der Werbung, seine Freude am künstlerischen Ausdruck in allen Medien und Ausformungen ist unverkennbar.