2017 STARTS PRIZE Jury

STARTS PRIZE Jury

All nominations are judged by a jury to decide on the two prize-winning projects and up to ten honorary mentions.

Rikke Frisk (DK) is the founder and co-director of the community focused culture production company: Indgreb, which is based in Copenhagen. Indgreb specializes in projects within participant-driven art and innovation events. Within their portfolio is the creation of the international innovation and art competition festival, Afsnit I. Rikke’s latest initiative is Talk Town – a debate festival on gender, equality and feminism of which she is co-initiator and festival director, a position she is familiar with from her time as manager and co-creator of Strøm – the leading festival for electronic music in Scandinavia, which she ran for several years. Later on Rikke was head of the secretariat for the Copenhagen hosting of WOMEX – the world’s biggest world music fair and festival. Among several obligations she is a member of the board of Denmark’s leading venues for contemporary, experimental Jazz and world music: Copenhagen Jazzhouse and Global. With a background in architecture and communication she is an experienced creative leader, with renowned relational abilities to unfold peoples skills and ideas.

Chiaki Hayashi (JP) is the co-founder and is currently the Representative Director of Loftwork Inc. Loftwork succeeds to annually produce over 600 projects. She manages the operation of the company’s creative platform Loftwork.com which has 25,000 creators registered, FabCafe which is a cafe with digital fabrication tools, and a material-centered co-working office MTRL. She is currently Japan Liaison to the Director at the MIT Media Lab. She has recently founded “Hidakuma” which aims to rebuild nature and local creativity.

Bradly Dunn Klerks (NL/BE) graduated as a 3D visualising artist designer from the ArtEZ Institute of the Arts, Arnhem. Currently positioned as General Director of Iris van Herpen. The Couture Fashion label is well known for her innovative experiments with materials, techniques and technologies. Using the interdisciplinary research and collaborations with a number of artists from various industries to create stunning work. He is responsible for all the IvH Couture shows, exhibitions and international media. His knowledge of the industry and long term relationship with several artist’s places him in a cross section between the business and the creative field that respects his vision and opinion that “the creative maker” is the centre where it all starts.

Sophie Lamparter (CH) is an Associate Director at swissnex San Francisco, Switzerland’s innovation outpost. By building networks in science, technology, art, and innovation, she has spearheaded interdisciplinary programs at the edges of art-technology and art-science. She is passionate about finding new talent with a creative approach to technology and helping them scale ideas. She believes in the power of dialogue to foster relationships between creatives, industry, research, and governments. She has organized and curated exhibitions and programs in media, digital and data arts, interaction and game design, robotics, VR, AR, architecture, and urbanism. Sophie’s most recent initiative is DART 17, a creative incubator for interactive projects.

Alexander Mankowsky (DE), born in Berlin 1957, studied Social Science, Philosophy and Psychology at the ‘Freie Universität Berlin’. In 1989 he started working in the research institute of Daimler in Berlin. The multidisciplinary approach in the institute integrated a wide array of disciplines, from social sciences to artificial intelligence. His current working topics are Futures Studies, focussed on the ever changing culture of mobility, the interdependency of social and technological innovation and other aspects of envisioning paths into the future.

Shuzo John Shiota (JP) graduated from Sophia University, majoring in International Legal Studies. After joining Nippon Steel Corporation in 1991, Shuzo then jumped industries to participate in the launch of Dream Pictures Studio in 1997. He moved to Polygon Pictures two years later and in 2003 assumed the position of President and CEO. The company has since enjoyed exponential growth as the premier digital animation studio in Asia, winning many accolades including multiple Emmy Awards. In 2008, he was selected as one of the “25 Toon Titans of Asia” by popular industry publication Animation Magazine. Shuzo has also juried on many major Japanese and international film festivals, including Prix Ars Electronica, SIGGRAPH, Annecy, and Digicon6. He has given talks worldwide, including TEDxKyoto in 2015. In his spare time, Shuzo engages in his life long passion as a vocalist in a classic rock band.

Victoria Vesna (US), Ph.D., is an Artist and Professor at the UCLA Department of Design | Media Arts and Director of the Art|Sci center at the School of the Arts and California Nanosystems Institute (CNSI). With her installations she investigates how communication technologies affect collective behavior and perceptions of identity shift in relation to scientific innovation (PhD, University of Wales, 2000). Her work involves long-term collaborations with composers, nano-scientists, neuroscientists, evolutionary biologists and she brings this experience to students. She is the North American editor of AI & Society and in 2007 published an edited volume – Database Aesthetics: Art in the Age of Information Overflow and another in 2011 – Context Providers: Conditions of Meaning in Media Arts.

STARTS PRIZE Nomination Committee

All submissions are judged by a nomination committee in the order of their arrival. The nomination committee selects up to 30 projects to nominate for prize consideration by the jury.

Luis Miguel Girão (PT), founder of Artshare, is a transdisciplinary artist and Researcher. As a researcher he is generating support for EU and Transatlantic policy making in the field of the crossings of art, science and technology. Luis Miguel is developing applications of technology as tools for artistic expression focusing at the moment on electromagnetism. He is a member of the Planetary Collegium and of the Centre for Sociology and Music Studies of Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities of the New University of Lisbon, Portugal. In 2007, he was awarded the Bolsa Ernesto de Sousa prize. He collaborated with several artists and scientists and his work has been presented worldwide. He was coordinator of ICT ART CONNECT 2013 and of ICTARTCONECT study for the European Commission.

Chiaki Hayashi (JP) is the co-founder and is currently the Representative Director of Loftwork Inc. Loftwork succeeds to annually produce over 600 projects. She manages the operation of the company’s creative platform Loftwork.com which has 25,000 creators registered, FabCafe which is a cafe with digital fabrication tools, and a material-centered co-working office MTRL. She is currently Japan Liaison to the Director at the MIT Media Lab. She has recently founded “Hidakuma” which aims to rebuild nature and local creativity.

Bradly Dunn Klerks (NL/BE) graduated as a 3D visualising artist designer from the ArtEZ Institute of the Arts, Arnhem. Currently positioned as General Director of Iris van Herpen. The Couture Fashion label is well known for her innovative experiments with materials, techniques and technologies. Using the interdisciplinary research and collaborations with a number of artists from various industries to create stunning work. He is responsible for all the IvH Couture shows, exhibitions and international media. His knowledge of the industry and long term relationship with several artist’s places him in a cross section between the business and the creative field that respects his vision and opinion that “the creative maker” is the centre where it all starts.

Sophie Lamparter (CH) is an Associate Director at swissnex San Francisco, Switzerland’s innovation outpost. By building networks in science, technology, art, and innovation, she has spearheaded interdisciplinary programs at the edges of art-technology and art-science. She is passionate about finding new talent with a creative approach to technology and helping them scale ideas. She believes in the power of dialogue to foster relationships between creatives, industry, research, and governments. She has organized and curated exhibitions and programs in media, digital and data arts, interaction and game design, robotics, VR, AR, architecture, and urbanism. Sophie’s most recent initiative is DART 17, a creative incubator for interactive projects.

Alexander Mankowsky (DE), born in Berlin 1957, studied Social Science, Philosophy and Psychology at the ‘Freie Universität Berlin’. In 1989 he started working in the research institute of Daimler in Berlin. The multidisciplinary approach in the institute integrated a wide array of disciplines, from social sciences to artificial intelligence. His current working topics are Futures Studies, focussed on the ever changing culture of mobility, the interdependency of social and technological innovation and other aspects of envisioning paths into the future.

STARTS PRIZE Advisors

13 international advisors who have reputation and credibility in the field recommend projects and help to encourage wider ranges of participants as well as a geographical and gender balance.

Prof. Jussi Ängeslevä (FI) is a designer, an artist and an educator. With home base at the Berlin University of the Arts and the Royal College of Arts, but lecturing around the planet, he is working with digital materiality and interaction design. In parallel to the academic work, he is the Vice Creative Director of ART+COM studios. His design ethos is leveraging hardware, software, physical and graphic design in the search for elegance in highly specific solutions, where the meaning of a work is inseparable from the medium communicating it.

Ken Arnold (UK/US) has worked in various museums and public projects in Europe and USA. In 2007 set up and ran Wellcome Collection: a new venue exploring links between medicine, life and art. Last year it was enjoyed by over 750.000 visitors. He now does international projects Wellcome; and also spends half his time as Director at the Medical Museion and Professor at the University of Copenhagen. He writes and lectures on museums and intersections between arts and sciences.

Sue Gollifer (UK) is the Executive Director of ISEA International Headquarters. She is an artist, academic, and researcher at the University of Brighton, UK. She is on a number of National and International Committees, including the Computer Arts Society, ACM SIGGRAPH Digital Arts Community and Chair of the ACM SIGGRAPH ‘The Life Time Achievement in Digital Arts Award’. She has been a curator of a number of International Digital Art Exhibitions including SIGGRAPH Asia 2016, Macau ‘Mediated Aesthetics’.

Drew Hemment (UK) is an artist, curator and academic researcher. He is Founder and Creative Director of FutureEverything and a Dundee Fellow, Reader at Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design, University of Dundee. His work in digital culture and innovation has been covered by New York Times, BBC and NBC and recognised by awards from the arts, technology and business sectors including Lever Prize 2010 (Winner) and Prix Ars Electronica 2008 (Honorary Mention).

Dr.  Susanne Jaschko (DE) is an independent curator exploring the intersection of contemporary art, technology and science. She is the founder of prozessagenten, process by art and design. She held positions as Head of Presentation and of the Artist in Residence Programme at the Netherlands Media Art Institute and as curator and deputy director of the transmediale festival for art and digital culture. She has taught at academic institutions in Germany and abroad, currently at Berlin University of the Arts.

Silvia Lindtner (AT) is an assistant professor at the University of Michigan in the School of Information, with a courtesy appointment in the Penny W. Stamps School of Art and Design. Lindtner’s research and teaching interests include critical studies of innovation and entrepreneurship, DIY (do it yourself) making and hacking, science and technology studies in China, urban and infrastructure studies.

Simona Maschi (IT/DK) is a co-founder and director of the Copenhagen Institute of Interaction Design. Leading the overall organisation at CIID she heads a team that encompasses a world-renowned education, a cutting edge research group, an award-winning consultancy, and a very ambitious incubator platform. Simona is an expert in service design, scenario design and design methods and is passionate about using design to create real positive impact in people’s lives.

Professor Carlo Ratti (IT), an architect and engineer by training, teaches at MIT, where he directs the Senseable City Lab. He is also a founding partner of the international design and innovation office Carlo Ratti Associati. His work has been exhibited in several venues worldwide, including the Venice Biennale, New York’s MoMA, London’s Science Museum, and Barcelona’s Design Museum. He was curator for the Future Food District at Expo Milano 2015, and is currently serving as co-chair of the World Economic Forum Global Future Council on the Future of Cities and Urbanization.

Mika Satomi (JP/AT) is a designer and an artist exploring the field of eTextiles, Interaction Design and Physical Computing. For five semesters, she has been a guest professor at the Weissensee Art Academy Berlin. She has worked as a researcher at the Swedish School of Textiles and at the Distance Lab, Scotland in the field of practice based design research. She holds BA in graphic design from Tokyo Zokei University, and MA in media creation from IAMAS, Japan. Since 2006 Mika has collaborated with Hannah Perner- Wilson, forming the collective KOBAKANT creating artistic projects in the field of eTextiles and Wearable Technology Art. She is a coauthor of the e-Textile online database “How To Get What You Want”.

Lynn Scarff (IE) is the Director of Science Gallery Dublin. She has over twelve years experience in developing and leading public engagement projects in science, arts and education fields. Lynn comes from a background of work in the environmental and not for profit sectors and has developed a series of programmes, exhibitions, events, books, TV and radio for these areas. Beginning her role in Science Gallery as the Education and Outreach Manager, Lynn has been involved since its inception. She is passionate about science and arts and the potential of spaces like Science Gallery to be facilitators of transformation in people’s lives.

Bastian Schäfer (DE), born in 1980, is a maverick, kitesurfer, TED speaker, father of a boy and a girl and automotive engineer. After working at Volkswagen Design he entered Airbus in 2006 in different projects for A340, A350 and A380. In 2009 he joined the project team that created the award winning Airbus Concept Cabin with its’ bionic structure. Bastian is the project leader of the Bionic Partition project where he is focussing on generative design combined with 3D printing technology.

Fermín Serrano Sanz (ES) is recognised as expert in citizen science with experience in tens of research projects that include linkages with public engagement, creativity, arts and open technologies. He works in the Ibercivis Foundation in Spain and he collaborates with entities such as the European Commission, the OeAD, Cotec, Sónar+D or the European Digital Art and Science Network where he curated the Reverberadas exhibition. Fermín is also participant of the Future Innovators Summit.

Karen Verschooren (BE) is a contemporary art curator based in Belgium. She currently works as Head of Exhibitions for STUK Arts Centre, Leuven (BE) where she is responsible for the exhibitions programme including ARTEFACT: a themed exhibition and festival on contemporary visual arts, current events and societal challenges. From October 2008 – March 2015, she worked as a curator/project coordinator for Z33, House for contemporary art, Hasselt (BE).

STARTS Prize Jury 2017

STARTS Prize Jury

Alle Nominierungen werden von einer Jury bewertet, die zwei SiegerInnenprojekte und bis zu 10 Anerkennungen auswählt.

Rikke Frisk (DK) ist Gründerin und eine der Leiterinnen des Community-orientierten Kulturproduktionskollektivs Indgreb mit Sitz in Kopenhagen. Indgreb ist spezialisiert auf Projekte für teilnehmerzentrierte Veranstaltungen in den Bereichen Kunst und Innovation und gründete u.a den im Rahmen eines Festivals stattfindenden internationalen Innovationswettbewerb Afsnit I. Rikke Frisks jüngste Initiative ist das Diskussionsfestival Talk Town zu Themen wie Gender, Gleichheit, und Feminismus, das sie mitgründete und leitet. Für diese Position bringt sie durch ihre mehrjährige Tätigkeit als Leiterin und Mitbegründerin von Strøm – dem führenden Festival für elektronische Musik in Skandinavien – die besten Voraussetzungen mit. Sie war auch Leiterin des Sekretariats der Kopenhagen-Ausgabe von WOMEX – der weltweit größten Messe für Weltmusik mit angeschlossenem Festival und ist Vorstandsmitglied von Dänemarks führenden Veranstaltungsorten für zeitgenössischen, experimentellen Jazz und World Music: dem Copenhagen Jazzhouse und dem Global. Durch ihr Hintergrundwissen in Architektur und Kommunikation ist sie eine erfahrene und kreative Impulsgeberin mit hoher Beziehungskompetenz, die sie einsetzt, um die Fähigkeiten und Ideen von Menschen zu entfalten.

Chiaki Hayashi (JP) ist Gründerin und derzeit stellvertretende Direktorin von Loftwork Inc. Loftwork gelingt es jährlich über 600 Projekte umzusetzen. Chiaki managt den Bereich Operations der Kreativplattform Loftwork.com, bei der über 25 000 Kreative registriert sind, das FabCafe, ein Café mit digitalen Fabrikationstools sowie ein Material-zentrierter Co-working space MTRL. Sie ist Assistentin des MIT Media Lab Director. Chiaki Hayashi hat zuletzt „Hidakuma“ gegründet, mit dem Ziel die Natur wiederzubeleben und lokaler Kreativität.

Bradly Dunn Klerks (NL/BE) absolvierte den Studiengang für 3-D-Gestaltung an der Kunsthochschule ArtEZ in Arnhem, Niederlande. Derzeit ist er Geschäftsführer des bekannten Haute-Couture-Modelabels Iris van Herpen, das für seine innovativen Experimente mit Materialien, Techniken und Technologien bekannt ist. Er ist zuständig für Coutureshows, Ausstellungen und internationale Medien bei Iris van Herpen und setzt bei der Realisierung seiner beeindruckenden Projekte auf interdisziplinäre Forschung und Zusammenarbeit mit einer Reihe von KünstlerInnen aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen. Durch seine profunde Kenntnis der Branche und seine langfristigen Beziehungen zu KünstlerInnen bewegt er sich am Schnittpunkt von Geschäftswelt und Kreativsektor, wobei er von der Vision geleitet ist, dass der Kreative der Mittelpunkt ist, von dem aus alles ausgeht.

Sophie Lamparter (CH) ist Associate Director bei swissnex San Francisco, einer Außenstelle des Schweizer Netzwerks zur Förderung von Innovation. Durch den Aufbau von Netzwerken in den Bereichen Wissenschaft, Technologie, Kunst und Innovation war sie federführend bei der Entwicklung von interdisziplinären Programmen an den Schnittstellen von Kunst und Technologie sowie Kunst und Wissenschaft beteiligt. Sie hat ein besonderes Gespür dafür, neue Talente mit einem kreativen Technologieansatz zu entdecken und unterstützt diese bei der Umsetzung ihrer Ideen. Beim Aufbau und der Pflege von Beziehungen zwischen Kreativen, Industrie, Forschungseinrichtungen und Regierungsstellen setzt sie insbesondere auf die Kraft des Dialogs. Lamparter organisierte und kuratierte Ausstellungen und Programme in den Bereichen Medien, Digital- und Datenkunst, Interaktion und Game-Design, Robotik, virtuelle und erweiterte Realität, Architektur sowie Stadtplanung. Ihre jüngste Initiative ist DART 17, eine Kreativschmiede für interaktive Projekte.

Alexander Mankowsky (DE), 1957 in Berlin geboren, studierte Sozialwissenschaft, Philosophie und Psychologie an der Freien Universität Berlin. 1989 begann er seine Tätigkeit im Forschungsinstitut von Daimler in Berlin. Der multidisziplinäre Zugang am Institut vereinte eine Fülle von Disziplinen, von Sozialwissenschaften bis zu künstlicher Intelligenz. Seine aktuellen Arbeitsthemen sind Zukunftsstudien, die sich mit der sich ständig ändernden Kultur der Mobilität, der gegenseitigen Abhängigkeit von sozialer und technologischer Innovation und anderen Aspekten in Verbindung mit möglichen Wegen in die Zukunft befassen.

Shuzo John Shiota (JP) schloss das Studium des internationalen Rechts an der Sophia-Universität in Tokio ab. Er begann 1991 zunächst bei Nippon Steel Corporation zu arbeiten, schied aber aus dem Unternehmen aus, um 1997 an der Gründung des Dream Pictures Studio mitzuwirken. Zwei Jahre später wechselte er zum Animationsstudio Polygon Pictures, dessen Präsident und CEO er 2003 wurde. Er leitete den Wandels des Unternehmens zu einem der erfolgreichsten digitalen Animationsstudios Asiens ein, das zahlreiche Preisen, darunter mehrere Emmy Awards, erhielt. 2008 wurde Shiota von der populären Fachzeitschrift „Animation Magazine“ zu einem der „25 Toon Titans of Asia“ erwählt. Er war Juror bei zahlreichen bedeutenden japanischen und internationalen Filmfestivals, wie etwa beim Prix Ars Electroncia, der SIGGRAPH-Konferenz sowie den Festivals Annecy und DigiCon6. Er hielt weltweit Lectures, wie etwa bei der TEDxKyoto 2015. In seiner Freizeit widmet er sich seiner großen Leidenschaft der Musik, als Sänger in einer klassischen Rockband.

Victoria Vesna (US), Ph.D., ist Künstlerin und Professorin am Department of Design|Media Arts an der UCLA sowie Leiterin des Art|Sci Center an der School of the Arts sowie des California NanoSystems Institute (CNSI). Sie promovierte 2000 an der University of Wales. In ihren Installationen untersucht sie, wie Kommunikationstechnologien das Kollektivverhalten beeinflussen und ob sich die Identitätsauffassung in Zusammenhang mit wissenschaftlichem Fortschritt verändert. Sie unterhielt im Rahmen ihrer Projekte langfristige Kooperationen mit Komponisten, Nanowissenschaftlern, Neurowissenschaftlern, Evolutionsbiologen und vermittelt die dabei gewonnenen Erfahrungen ihren Studenten. Vesna ist Herausgeberin der Zeitschrift AI & Society und publizierte die Sammelbände Database Aesthetics: Art in the Age of Information Overflow (2007) sowie Context Providers: Conditions of Meaning in Media Arts (2011).

STARTS Prize Nomination Committee

Sämtliche Einreichungen werden von einem Nominierungsausschuss in Reihenfolge ihres Einlangens bewertet. Der Nominierungsausschuss wählt bis zu 30 Projekte aus, die von der Jury berücksichtigt werden.

Luis Miguel Girão (PT) ist Gründer von “Artshare”, transdisziplinarer Künstler und Wissenschaftler. In seinen Forschungsprojekten bekommt er Unterstützung von der EU und transatlantischer Politik an der Schnittstelle zu Kunst, Wissenschaft und Technologie. In seiner künstlerischen Arbeit entwickelt er Technologien zur künstlerischen Darstellung von Elektromagnetismus. Er ist Mitglied des Planetaren Beirats und des Fachbereichs für Soziologie und Musik an der sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Lissabon, Portugal. Im Jahr 2007 wurde er für den „Bolsa Ernesto de Sousa“-Preis vorgeschlagen. Luis Miguel kollaborierte bereits mit verschiedenen KünstlerInnen und WissenschaftlerInnen und seine Arbeiten wurden weltweit präsentiert. Er war Koordinator von ICT ART Connect 2013 und der dazugehörigen Studie bei der Europäischen Kommission.

Chiaki Hayashi (JP) ist Gründerin und derzeit stellvertretende Direktorin von Loftwork Inc. Loftwork gelingt es jährlich über 600 Projekte umzusetzen. Chiaki managt den Bereich Operations der Kreativplattform Loftwork.com, bei der über 25 000 Kreative registriert sind, das FabCafe, ein Café mit digitalen Fabrikationstools sowie ein Material-zentrierter Co-working space MTRL. Sie ist Assistentin des MIT Media Lab Director. Chiaki Hayashi hat zuletzt „Hidakuma“ gegründet, mit dem Ziel die Natur wiederzubeleben und lokaler Kreativität.

Bradly Dunn Klerks (NL/BE) absolvierte den Studiengang für 3-D-Gestaltung an der Kunsthochschule ArtEZ in Arnhem, Niederlande. Derzeit ist er Geschäftsführer des bekannten Haute-Couture-Modelabels Iris van Herpen, das für seine innovativen Experimente mit Materialien, Techniken und Technologien bekannt ist. Er ist zuständig für Coutureshows, Ausstellungen und internationale Medien bei Iris van Herpen und setzt bei der Realisierung seiner beeindruckenden Projekte auf interdisziplinäre Forschung und Zusammenarbeit mit einer Reihe von KünstlerInnen aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen. Durch seine profunde Kenntnis der Branche und seine langfristigen Beziehungen zu KünstlerInnen bewegt er sich am Schnittpunkt von Geschäftswelt und Kreativsektor, wobei er von der Vision geleitet ist, dass der Kreative der Mittelpunkt ist, von dem aus alles ausgeht.

Sophie Lamparter (CH) ist Associate Director bei swissnex San Francisco, einer Außenstelle des Schweizer Netzwerks zur Förderung von Innovation. Durch den Aufbau von Netzwerken in den Bereichen Wissenschaft, Technologie, Kunst und Innovation war sie federführend bei der Entwicklung von interdisziplinären Programmen an den Schnittstellen von Kunst und Technologie sowie Kunst und Wissenschaft beteiligt. Sie hat ein besonderes Gespür dafür, neue Talente mit einem kreativen Technologieansatz zu entdecken und unterstützt diese bei der Umsetzung ihrer Ideen. Beim Aufbau und der Pflege von Beziehungen zwischen Kreativen, Industrie, Forschungseinrichtungen und Regierungsstellen setzt sie insbesondere auf die Kraft des Dialogs. Lamparter organisierte und kuratierte Ausstellungen und Programme in den Bereichen Medien, Digital- und Datenkunst, Interaktion und Game-Design, Robotik, virtuelle und erweiterte Realität, Architektur sowie Stadtplanung. Ihre jüngste Initiative ist DART 17, eine Kreativschmiede für interaktive Projekte.

Alexander Mankowsky (DE), 1957 in Berlin geboren, studierte Sozialwissenschaft, Philosophie und Psychologie an der Freien Universität Berlin. 1989 begann er seine Tätigkeit im Forschungsinstitut von Daimler in Berlin. Der multidisziplinäre Zugang am Institut vereinte eine Fülle von Disziplinen, von Sozialwissenschaften bis zu künstlicher Intelligenz. Seine aktuellen Arbeitsthemen sind Zukunftsstudien, die sich mit der sich ständig ändernden Kultur der Mobilität, der gegenseitigen Abhängigkeit von sozialer und technologischer Innovation und anderen Aspekten in Verbindung mit möglichen Wegen in die Zukunft befassen.

STARTS Prize Advisors

13 internationale BeraterInnen, die in diesem Feld über Renommee und Expertise verfügen, werden Projekte empfehlen und darüber hinaus ein breiteres Spektrum an TeilnehmerInnen zur Teilnahme ermutigen sowie auf eine Ausgewogenheit hinsichtlich Geschlecht und geografischer Herkunft der TeilnehmerInnen achten.

Prof. Jussi Ängeslevä (FI) ist Designer, Künstler und Dozent.  Neben seinen Lehraufträgen an der Universität der Künste Berlin und dem Royal College of Arts mit Forschungsschwerpunkt digitale Materialität und Interaktionsdesign ist er stellvertretender Kreativdirektor von ART+COM-Studios und international als Vortragender gefragt. Sein Designethos ist es, Hardware, Software, physisches und grafisches Design im Streben nach Eleganz in hochspezifischen Lösungen wirksam einzusetzen, wobei die Bedeutung eines Artefakts stets untrennbar mit dem Trägermedium verbunden ist.

Ken Arnold (UK/US) ist für  verschiedene Museen tätig und arbeitet an interdisziplinären kulturellen Projekten in Europa und den USA. Seit 2007 leitet er die Wellcome Collection, ein Museum in London, das sich den Verbindungen zwischen Medizin, Leben und Kunst widmet und im vergangenen Jahr über 750.000 Besucher anzog. Derzeit realisiert er internationale Projekte und ist darüber hinaus Leiter des Medical Museion sowie Professor an der Universität Kopenhagen. Er publiziert und hält Vorträge über Museen und Schnittstellen zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft.

Sue Gollifer (UK) ist Künstlerin, Wissenschaftlerin und Forscherin an der University of Brighton (UK) sowie Geschäftsführerin von ISEA International. Sie ist Mitglied in mehreren nationalen und internationalen Gremien und Komitees, etwa der Computer Arts Society (CAS) und der ACM SIGGRAPH Digital Arts Community sowie Vorsitzende des „The Life Time Achievement in Digital Arts Award“ der ACM SIGGRAPH. Gollifer kuratierte eine Reihe internationaler Ausstellungen über digitale Kunst, etwa Mediated Aesthetics bei der SIGGRAPH Asia 2016 in Macau.

Drew Hemment (UK) ist Künstler, Kurator und Wissenschaftler. Er ist Gründer und Kreativdirektor von Future Everything sowie Fellow der Universität Dundee und  Dozent am Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design. Seine Arbeiten im Bereich digitale Kultur und Innovation wurden von der New York Times, von BBC und NBC gewürdigt und durch Preise in den Kategorien Kunst, Technologie und Wirtschaft ausgezeichnet, u.a. durch den Lever Prize 2010 (Gewinner) und den Prix Ars Electronica 2008 (Honorary Mention).

Dr.  Susanne Jaschko (DE) ist freischaffende Kuratorin und beschäftigt sich mit Fragestellungen an den Schnittstellen von zeitgenössischer Kunst, Technologie und Wissenschaft. Sie ist Gründerin des Netzwerks prozessagenten, process by art and design. Sie war Head of Presentation und Leiterin des Artist-in-Residence-Programms am Netherlands Media Art Institute in Amsterdam sowie Kuratorin und stellvertretende Leiterin des Festivals transmediale für Kunst und digitale Kultur. Jaschko forscht und lehrt in Deutschland und international, derzeit unterrichtet sie an der Berliner Universität der Künste.

Silvia Lindtner (AT) ist Dozentin an der School of Information der Universität Michigan und Gastdozentin an der Penny W. Stamps School of Art and Design. Lindtners Forschungs- und Lehrschwerpunkte sind kritische Studien zu Innovation und Unternehmertum, DIY-Maker- und Hacker-Kultur, Wissenschafts- und Technologieforschung in China sowie Urbanistik und Infrastrukturuntersuchungen.

Simona Maschi (IT/DK) ist Gründerin und Direktorin des Copenhagen Institute of Interaction Design (CIID). Sie leitet die Gesamtorganisaton am CIID und führt ein Team, das eine weltweit anerkannte Bildung erhalten hat, eine hochmoderne Forschungsgruppe, eine prämierte Beratung sowie eine ambitionierte Inkubator Plattform. Simona ist Expertin im Bereich Service Design, Scenario Design sowie in Design Methoden. Sie verfolgt leidenschaftlich den Ansatz Design als positiven Einfluss auf das Leben der Menschen zu nutzen.

Professor Carlo Ratti (IT) ist Architekt und Ingenieur und lehrt am Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), wo er auch das Senseable City Lab leitet. Er ist darüber hinaus Gründungspartner des internationalen Design- und Innovationsstudios Carlo Ratti Associati. Seine Arbeiten wurden weltweit ausgestellt, u.a. bei der Biennale von Venedig, im MoMA New York, im Science Museum in London sowie im Museu del Disseny (Museum für Gestaltung) in Barcelona. Er war Kurator des Future Food District (FFD) der Expo Milano 2015 und ist derzeit Ko-Vorsitzender des Global Future Council on the Future of Cities and Urbanization des Weltwirtschaftsforums.

Mika Satomi (JP/DE) arbeitet als Designerin und Künstlerin in den Bereichen E-Textilien, Interaktionsdesign und Physical Computing. Sie war fünf Semester lang Gastprofessorin an der Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin und arbeitete an der Swedish School of Textiles sowie am Distance Lab, Schottland, im Bereich praxisbasierte Designforschung. Sie schloss ihr Grafikdesignstudium an der Tokyo Zokei University mit einem B.A. und den Studiengang Media Creation am IAMAS, Japan, mit einem M.A. ab. Seit 2006 kooperiert sie mit Hannah Perner-Wilson und realisiert mit ihr im Kollektiv KOBAKANT künstlerische Projekte in den Bereichen E-Textilien und Wearable Technology Art( tragbare Technik zwischen Mode und Kunst). Sie ist Co-Autorin der Onlinedatenbank für E-Textilien „How To Get What You Want“.

Lynn Scarff (IE) ist die Direktorin der Science Gallery Dublin. Sie verfügt über mehr als 12 Jahren Erfahrung in der Entwicklung und Leitung von Projekten mit öffentlichem Engagement in den Bereichen Wissenschaft, Bildung und Kunst/Kultur. Lynn kommt ursprünglich aus dem Umwelt- und Non-Profit-Sektor und hat bereits eine Reihe von Programmen, Ausstellungen, Ausstellungen, Events, Bücher sowie TV- und Radiobeiträge in diesen Bereichen entwickelt. Ihre Karriere in der Science Gallery startete sie als Bildungs- und Vermittlungsverantwortliche bereits mit Gründung des Museums. Lynn ist begeistert von der einzigartigen Kombination aus Kunst/Kultur und Wissenschaft und schätzt die Science Gallery als Raum für Transformation menschlichen Lebens.

Bastian Schäfer (DE), geboren 1980, ist ein Querdenker, Kitesurfer, TED-Sprecher, Vater eines Jungen und eines Mädchens und Fahrzeug-Ingenieur. Nachdem er bei Volkswagen Design gearbeitet hat, ist er 2006 zu Airbus gewechselt und war in verschiedene Projekte für A340, A350 und A380 involviert. 2009 hat er sich dem Projektteam der preisgekrönten Airbus Concept Cabin mit seiner bionischen Struktur angeschlossen. Als Projektleiter des Bionic Partition Projekts legt er den Fokus auf generatives Design in Kombination mit 3D-Druck-Technologie.

Fermín Serrano Sanz (ES) gilt als Experte im Bereich Citizen Science und verfügt über fundierte Erfahrung in der Durchführung von Forschungsprojekten, die eine Beteiligung der Öffentlichkeit, Kreativität, Kunst und offene Technologien implizieren. Er arbeitet in der Stiftung Ibercivis in Spanien und kooperiert mit Institutionen und Einrichtungen wie der Europäischen Kommission, OeAD, COTEC, Sónar+D oder dem European Digital Art and Science Network, für das er die Ausstellung Reverberadas kuratierte. Fermín ist auch Teilnehmer des Future Innovators Summit.

Karen Verschooren (BE) lebt und arbeitet als Kuratorin für zeitgenössische Kunst in Belgien. Derzeit ist sie Ausstellungsleiterin am STUK Arts Centre, Leuven (BE) und in dieser Funktion zuständig für das Ausstellungsprogramm sowie das Festival ARTEFACT, eine Themenausstellung für zeitgenössische bildende Kunst, aktuelle Ereignisse und gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen. Von Oktober 2008 bis März 2005 war sie als Kuratorin/Projektkoordinatorin für Z33, House for contemporary art, in Hasselt (BE) tätig.