Instruments of the Afterlife

instrumentsafterlifeCredit: Cleaning Land for Wealth (CL4W) Past, Present and Future, 2015 / Graphic by BurtonNitta

Nomination

Burton Nitta (Michael Burton & Michiko Nitta)

Instruments are created to transform contamination into valuable materials, by employing plants and engineered bacteria. Instead of mining material from geological sources and using fossil fuels that lead to environmental harm, could future generations use the contamination and pollution we leave behind to build their future world? Can they build balanced relationships with the natural world to be a no-waste civilization?

A series of new instruments use synthetic biology, plant science, and nanotechnology. Whilst cleaning the land, they remember the mistakes of the past and create materials to build a post-waste future.

The piece “Instruments of the Afterlife” responds to the scientific research project, Cleaning Land for Wealth (CL4W), funded by the UK’s Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council and supported by Creative Outreach Resource Efficiency (CORE) at Loughborough University. The project involves science teams from universities at Birmingham, Cranfield, Edinburgh, Newcastle, and Warwick.

About

Burton Nitta in collaboration with:

Artistic team
Composer: Neil Luck
Musician: Lawrence Tatnall
Performer: Timothy Cape (Bastard Assignments)
Performer: Josh Spear (Bastard Assignments)
Actor: Emily Lloyd-Saini
Scientific team
Cleaning Land for Wealth (CL4W)

University of Warwick: Kerry Kirwan, Guy Barker, Maria Sotenko, Neale Grant
University of Edinburgh: Louise Horsfall, Matthew Edmundson, Michael Capeness, Virginia Echavarri-Bravo
Newcastle University: Adam Harvey, Valentine Eze
University of Birmingham: David Book, Dan Reed
Cranfield University: Philip Longhurst, Ying Jiang
Loughborough University: Creative Outreach For Resource Efficiency (CORE): Jacqui Glass
Supported by: Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council

Based in London, Burton Nitta is an interdisciplinary art & design studio founded by Michael Burton (UK) and Michiko Nitta (JP) that collaborates with science and technology to investigate our future world and human evolution. Previous works such as After Agri, Algaculture, The Algae Opera, The Republic of Salivation and The Instruments of the Afterlife are published and exhibited internationally from MoMA, New York, to the V&A Museum, London.

Instruments of the Afterlife

instrumentsafterlifeCredit: Cleaning Land for Wealth (CL4W) Past, Present and Future, 2015 / Graphic by BurtonNitta

Nomination

Burton Nitta (Michael Burton & Michiko Nitta)

Diese Instrumente werden entwickelt, um Kontamination mithilfe von Pflanzen und technisch veränderten Bakterien in wertvolle Materialien zu verwandeln. Wäre es möglich, dass zukünftige Generationen die Kontamination und Umweltverschmutzung, die wir verursachen, für den Aufbau einer Welt der Zukunft verwenden, statt Material aus geologischen Quellen schöpfen und fossile Brennstoffe verwenden zu müssen, die der Umwelt noch mehr Schaden zufügen? Könnte mit der Natur eine ausgewogene Beziehung aufgebaut werden, um so eine Null-Abfall-Zivilisation entstehen zu lassen?

Eine Reihe von neuen Instrumenten bedient sich der synthetischen Biologie, Pflanzenwissenschaften und Nanotechnologie. Während diese Instrumente die Landschaft säubern, wird, in voller Kenntnis der Fehler der Vergangenheit neues Material erzeugt, um eine Zukunft „nach dem Abfall“ aufzubauen.

Die Arbeit „Instruments of the Afterlife“ auf das vom britischen Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council finanzierte und von Creative Outreach Resource Efficiency (CORE) von der Universität Loughborough unterstützte wissenschaftliche Forschungsprojekt *Cleaning Land for Wealth* (CL4W), bei dem Teams von WissenschaftlerInnen der Universitäten Birmingham, Cranfield, Edinburgh, Newcastle und Warwick zusammenarbeiten.

Credits

Burton Nitta in collaboration with:

Artistic team
Composer: Neil Luck
Musician: Lawrence Tatnall
Performer: Timothy Cape (Bastard Assignments)
Performer: Josh Spear (Bastard Assignments)
Actor: Emily Lloyd-Saini
Scientific team
Cleaning Land for Wealth (CL4W)

University of Warwick: Kerry Kirwan, Guy Barker, Maria Sotenko, Neale Grant
University of Edinburgh: Louise Horsfall, Matthew Edmundson, Michael Capeness, Virginia Echavarri-Bravo
Newcastle University: Adam Harvey, Valentine Eze
University of Birmingham: David Book, Dan Reed
Cranfield University: Philip Longhurst, Ying Jiang
Loughborough University: Creative Outreach For Resource Efficiency (CORE): Jacqui Glass
Supported by: Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council

Das Londoner interdisziplinäre Kunst- und Designstudio Burton Nitta wurde von Michael Burton (UK) und Michiko Nitta (JP) gegründet und kollaboriert mitExpertInnen aus Wissenschaft und Technologie, um unsere Zukunft und menschliche Evolution zu erforschen. Bisherige Arbeiten wie After Agri, AlgacultureThe Algae OperaThe Republic of Salivation und The Instruments of the Afterlife wurden international publiziert und ausgestellt, zum Beispiel im New Yorker MoMA oder dem Londoner V&A Museum