G3DP V2: High Fidelity Additive Manufacturing of Transparent Glass Structures across Scales

g3dpv2

Nomination

The Mediated Matter Group, MIT Media Lab

Transparent and structurally sound, glass has played a significant role in the evolution of product and architectural design across multiple disciplinary domains and throughout the ages. Blowing, pressing, and forming methods-amongst others-have aimed at achieving increased glass performance and functionality. However, abilities to tune its optical and mechanical properties at high spatial resolution in manufacturing have, overall, remained an end without a means.

This research presents a high fidelity, large-scale, additive manufacturing technology for optically transparent glass combined with demonstrations of novelty – fully transparent glass structures at architectural scale. At the MIT Media Lab, the Mediated Matter Group began developing a series of novel additive manufacturing technologies for molten glass in 2014. The latest enabling technology introduces a fundamental restructuring of the platform’s architecture and process control informed by the material properties and behaviors of silicate glass. The platform provides a digitally integrated thermal control system across the entire glass forming processes, combined with a novel 4-axis motion control system enabling a high fidelity manufacturing process capable of producing glass structures with tunable, yet predictable mechanical and optical properties. The material fundamentally drives how the machine is used, and in return, the machine can change how the glass is formed and used. In order to evaluate the full capability of this technology, a series of three-meter tall glass structures were designed, engineered, and constructed. Harnessing its optical transparency in conjunction with the variable cross sections along the full length of each structure, an interactive lighting system was designed and integrated; producing large scale ‘interactive paintings’ of kaleidoscopiccaustics. These large-scale novel glass structures were exhibited, for the first time, at the Milan Design Week in April 2017

Credits

The Mediated Matter Group, MIT Media Lab
Director: Prof. Neri Oxman
Project Lead: Chikara Inamura
Project Team: Michael Stern, Daniel Lizardo, Tal Achituv, Tomer Weller, Owen Trueblood, Nassia Inglessis, Girogia Franchin, James Weaver, and Peter Houk
Previous Team: John Klein, Markus Kayser, and Shreya Dave
Project Associates: Andrew Magdanz, Susan Shapiro, David J. Benyosef, Mary Ann Babula, Forrest Whitcher, Robert Phillips, and Neils LaWhite
Project Collaborators: Pentagram, Simpson Gumpertz & Heger, and Almost Perfect Glass

Photo: The Mediated Matter Group, MIT Media Lab

The Mediated Matter Group (US) focuses on Nature-inspired Design and Design-inspired Nature. We conduct research at the intersection of computational design, digital fabrication, materials science, and synthetic biology and apply that knowledge to design across scales from the micro scale to the building scale. We create biologically inspired, informed, and engineered design fabrication tools and technologies and structures, aiming to enhance the relation between natural and man-made environments. Our research field, entitled Material Ecology, integrates computational form-finding strategies with biologically inspired fabrication. Neri Oxman, Architect, Designer, and Associate Professor at the MIT Media Lab, heads the Mediated Matter Group.

G3DP V2: High Fidelity Additive Manufacturing of Transparent Glass Structures across Scales

g3dpv2

Nomination

The Mediated Matter Group, MIT Media Lab

Glas hat durch seine Transparenz und seine überzeugenden Eigenschaften seit jeher in vielen Bereichen eine bedeutende Rolle in der Produkt- und architektonischen Gestaltung gespielt. Glasbläserei, Glaspresstechnik und andere Formungsverfahren zielten u.a. darauf ab, das Verhalten und die Funktionalität von Glas zu verbessern. Die Möglichkeiten, seine optischen und mechanischen Eigenschaften mit hoher dreidimensionaler Auflösung während der Herstellung präzise abzustimmen, blieben jedoch im Großen und Ganzen ein Ziel, für dessen Verwirklichung die Mittel fehlten.

Die Forschungsarbeit präsentiert ein generatives Fertigungsverfahren für optisch verzerrungsfreies, transparentes Glas mit wesentlichen Neuerungen wie zur Gänze transparenten Glaskonstruktionen in architektonischem Maßstab. 2014 begann die Mediated Matter Group am MIT Media Lab eine Reihe neuer generativer Fertigungstechnologien für geschmolzenes Glas zu entwickeln. Die aktuellste Enabling-Technologie bietet eine grundlegende Neuordnung der Systemarchitektur und Prozesssteuerung, die von den Materialeigenschaften und dem Verhalten von Silikatglas beeinflusst werden. Die Systemarchitektur bietet eine digital integrierte Temperaturregelung während des gesamten Glasverarbeitungsprozesses in Kombination mit einem neuartigen 4-Achsen-Bewegungssteuerungssystem, das ein Fertigungsverfahren zur Produktion von optisch verzerrungsfreien Glaskonstruktionen mit genau einstellbaren und kalkulierbaren mechanischen und optischen Eigenschaften ermöglicht. Das Material gibt im Wesentlichen vor, wie die Maschine verwendet wird, Letztere wiederum hat Einfluss darauf, wie das Glas geformt und verwendet wird. Um das gesamte Potenzial dieser Technologie evaluieren zu können, wurden mehrere drei Meter hohe Glaskonstruktionen entwickelt und gefertigt. Weiters wurde ein interaktives Lichtsystem entworfen und integriert, das sich die optische Transparenz im Zusammenspiel mit dem variablem Querschnitt über die gesamte Länge der Konstruktion zunutze macht und großformatige „interaktive Gemälde“ mit kaleidoskopischen Lichteffekten entstehen lässt. Diese großformatigen neuartigen Glaskonstruktionen werden erstmals während der Mailänder Designwoche im April 2017 präsentiert.

Credits

The Mediated Matter Group, MIT Media Lab
Leiterin: Prof. Neri Oxman
Projektleiter: Chikara Inamura
Projektteam: Michael Stern, Daniel Lizardo, Tal Achituv, Tomer Weller, Owen Trueblood, Nassia Inglessis, Girogia Franchin, James Weaver, und Peter Houk
Vorheriges Team: John Klein, Markus Kayser, und Shreya Dave
ProjektpartnerInnen: Andrew Magdanz, Susan Shapiro, David J. Benyosef, Mary Ann Babula, Forrest Whitcher, Robert Phillips, und Neils LaWhite
ProjektmitarbeiterInnen: Pentagram, Simpson Gumpertz & Heger, und Almost Perfect Glass

Foto: The Mediated Matter Group, MIT Media Lab

The Mediated Matter Group (US) beschäftigt sich mit von der Natur inspiriertem Design und vice versa mit der Wirkung von Design auf Natur. Wir forschen am Schnittpunkt von computerbasiertem Design, digitaler Herstellung, Materialwissenschaft und synthetischer Biologie und setzen dieses Wissen ein, um Design jeder Größenordnung, von der Mikro- bis zur Makroebene, zu kreieren. Wir entwickeln biologisch beeinflusste und gefertigte Design- und Herstellungstechniken sowie Technologien und Konstruktionen, die darauf abzielen, die Beziehung zwischen natürlicher und vom Menschen geschaffener Umwelt zu fördern. Unser Forschungsfeld, die sogenannte Materialökologie, integriert rechnergestützte Formfindungsstrategien mit biologisch inspirierter Fertigung. Leiterin der Mediated Matter Group ist die Architektin, Designerin und Dozentin am MIT Media Lab Neri Oxman.