Future Flora

FutureFlora1

Celebrating Female Biophilia

Grand Prize – Artistic Exploration: Awarded for artistic exploration and art works where appropriation by the arts has a strong potential to influence or alter the use, deployment or perception of technology.

Giulia Tomasello

We aren’t just single individuals walking the planet: we are walking ecosystems made of microbes.
Microbes are in the soil, in the water, and even in our bodies. The average human body is made up of trillions of cells: therefore, we can easily say that we are only 10% human. We live and co-exist with them. The other 90% of the human body is composed of different microorganisms, most of which are beneficial to their host. Microbes as bacteria, fungi, and viruses are part of our Skin Microflora, covering both the inside and the outer surface of the body. Even though invisible to our eyes, our microflora has a symbiotic relationship with the interface between our body and the environment—our skin.[1]

Future Flora aims to encourage this symbiotic relationship that raises the beneficial presence of microbes and bacteria in the human body, suggesting an alternative: to wear probiotics and keep our body healthy. Future Flora is a harvesting kit designed for women to treat and prevent vaginal infections. The user is a woman who wants to embrace biotechnology in her house, allowing science to show alternatives to traditional medicines and probiotics.

Following DIY procedures and merging biology with health-tech, Future Flora addresses women who are taking control of their own bodies as a precious and intimate practice of self-care, becoming a participant in the culture and the knowledge of science.

How can design challenge our perception and celebrate the symbiotic relationship between the human body and its microbiome? Aiming to encourage this symbiotic relationship that raises the beneficial presence of microbes and bacteria in the human body and suggesting an alternative of wearing probiotics in our underwear to keep the body healthy.

The project tackles the experience of growing and nurturing living organisms at home. The bacterial pad grows the necessary strings of Lactobacillus bacteria to create a hostile environment for the further development of Candida Albicans, acting as a living culture of probiotics. By placing the pad in contact with the female genitalia, the healthy bacteria grow on the surface of the infected area, reconstructing the microflora missing in the vagina epithelium. Considering that 75% of women suffer from Candidal vulvovaginitis (CVV) at least once in their lifetime, Future Flora explores women’s approach in the context of personal self-care and body awareness, generating an intimate and delicate interaction between the action of nurturing bacteria while they grow, and then wearing them as a second layer of your panties.

Celebrating a Female Biophilia, Tomasello opens the possibility of wearing microorganisms in the future, and embracing them as part of our natural well-being. Taking care of her own health, the woman becomes a citizen scientist, establishing a first relation with her body and what is part of her living surroundings. Clothes and accessories become the ecosystem that balance the entire skin microflora.

Future Flora proposes alternatives to embrace biological remedies in our home, challenging the values and beliefs that our society embodied in the material culture. The intention behind Future Flora is to design a tool that will educate and enable women to take a more active role in their healthcare, prompting them to seek medical advice as necessary and ultimately break some of the taboos associated with urogynecology health. Designed to empower women and increase their self-care, becoming familiar with their own bodies, developing self-confidence, and becoming active patients able to seek healthcare professional advice, discuss their symptoms openly and ultimately break the taboos that are still associated with gynecological health. A social stigma that is still pervasive in both developed and developing countries. Future Flora aims to challenge new propositions for the society and for the future of women’s healthcare by introducing the importance of a female biophilia’s approach.

______________________________________________________________________

[1] The Human Microbiome Project, a research initiative by the US National Institutes of Health (2008-2017), investigated the role of microbial flora in human health and disease. Info adapted from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Human_Microbiome_Project

Credits

Giulia Tomasello (IT), born in 1990, is an interaction designer and researcher specializing in wearables, biotechnology, and material finishes. She is currently Research Assistant in Interactive Wearables at Nottingham Trent University. In the past two years she has been investigating the potential of biotechnology and living materials, proposing a biological and sustainable alternative for electronic textiles. She considers herself a maker and explorer, using materiality to question and communicate the boundaries between technology and our bodies. By designing alternative scenarios and acting as a creative thinker, Giulia questions our notions of wellbeing to develop innovative tools in the intersection of medical and social sciences. These intersections are enabled by her multidisciplinary collaborations and the symbiosis between her creative and scientific work, generating knowledge exchange and social integrations in healthcare.

Future Flora
Designer and creator: Giulia Tomasello
Graduate project from Material Futures Master Course
Central Saint Martins College of Art & Design
External expert: Biologist Arian Mirzarafie-Ahi

Future Flora (Video)
https://vimeo.com/171795174
Film, editing and art direction, designer: João Gil
Sound/Music: Anne Queffelec – Eric Satie, Gnossienne n4

Girl Biophilia (Documentary)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DMYIOHzpu-E
Creative direction and production: Maja Zupano
Director of photography: Jan Vrhovnik
Production design: Maja Zupano
1st AC: Kash Khan
Production assistant: Max Celar
Lighting: Jan Vrhovnik
Styling: Martina Rocca
SOUND
Boom operator: Julia Hardecka
Music composer: Joseph Daly
Sound design: Julia Hardecka
Location and talent scout: Maja Zupano
POST PRODUCTION
Film editing: Maja Zupano
Color grading: Jan Vrhovnik
CAST THE GIRLS
Vanessa David
Sharondeep Kaur Johal
Kristina Lipinskaite
Martina Rocca
FUTURE FLORA
Designer and creator: Giulia Tomasello
SCIENTIST
Science communicator, founder at The A Level Biologist: Arian Mirzarafie-Ah

Jury Statement

Through the thick digital forest, there was a distinctive and loud call for returning to nature, attention to life, biology, the self, the body—especially empowering the female body and its sexuality which came as no surprise after a year of #MeToo. Responding to this collective consciousness wave, the jury agreed that Future Flora embraced the issues of reclaiming female power—with DIY and no shame—in a way that could prove empowering to others seeking to find a voice. Interaction designer Giulia Tomasello brings to the forefront issues that the medical community should consider in their production of pharmaceuticals for women. This project also engages the public to consider feminine hygiene and the surrounding taboos. It makes us think differently about bacteria in general—important in times of overuse of antibiotics and antiseptics that are destroying the ecological balance. With the advent of scientific research into the microbiome, the designer asks how we feel about the idea that we consist almost entirely of bacteria. Many existing thrush treatments include a whole host of chemicals that cure yeast infections but also destroy good bacteria, making things worse for women. In her own words, Giulia explains that “the kit has been designed to allow women to establish, nurture and harvest their very own personal skin flora at home, becoming not only consumers but also active participants in their own health and wellbeing.” Digital technologies are tricking us into an immaterial world made out of shining data. As Digital Ghosts, we are hallucinating about being almighty, even immortal under the sun of a God-like AI. Giulia Tomasello forces us to lower our gaze from the digital heaven to the most vulnerable female body part—the vagina. With Future Flora she demonstrates this vulnerability as a strength, using the embodied openness as a medium between internal and external organisms, creating in this way what she calls ‘Future Flora’. Future Flora provides a clear and loud signal that ‘Future’ is not only ‘Digital’. The STARTS Prize Jury got Giulia’s eye-opening message: there is a huge potential for innovation in the European spirit, but we must not forget that it is our bodily existence that fuels the imagination.

Future Flora

Giulia Tomasello

Celebrating Female Biophilia

Grand Prize – Artistic Exploration: Awarded for artistic exploration and art works where appropriation by the arts has a strong potential to influence or alter the use, deployment or perception of technology.

Wir sind nicht nur einzelne Individuen, die auf dem Planeten umherwandern: wir sind wandernde Ökosysteme aus Mikroben. Mikroben sind im Boden, im Wasser und sogar in unserem Körper. Der durchschnittliche menschliche Körper besteht aus Billionen von Zellen: deshalb können wir leicht sagen, dass wir nur zu 10% Menschen sind. Wir leben und koexistieren mit ihnen. Die anderen 90% des menschlichen Körpers bestehen aus verschiedenen Mikroorganismen, von denen die meisten für ihren Wirt von Vorteil sind. Mikroben wie Bakterien, Pilze und Viren sind Teil unseres Mikrobioms der Haut und bedecken sowohl die innere als auch die äußere Oberfläche des Körpers. Obwohl für unsere Augen unsichtbar, hat unser Mikrobiom eine symbiotische Beziehung mit der Schnittstelle zwischen unserem Körper und der Umwelt – unserer Haut.[1]

Future Flora zielt darauf ab, diese symbiotische Beziehung zu fördern, welche die Präsenz von nützlichen Mikroben und Bakterien im menschlichen Körper erhöht, und schlägt eine Alternative vor: Probiotika zu tragen und unseren Körper gesund zu halten. Future Flora ist ein Set für Frauen zur Kultivierung von Bakterien, das zur Behandlung und Vorbeugung von Vaginalinfektionen dient. Die Anwenderin ist eine Frau, bei der die Biotechnologie zu Hause Einzug halten soll, wodurch es der Wissenschaft ermöglicht wird, Alternativen zu traditionellen Medikamenten und Probiotika aufzuzeigen. Basierend auf DIY-Verfahren und der Verschmelzung von Biologie und Gesundheitstechnologie richtet sich Future Flora an Frauen, welche die Kontrolle über ihren eigenen Körper als wertvolle und intime Praxis der Selbstpflege übernehmen und sich damit an der Kultur und der Kenntnis der Wissenschaft beteiligen. Wie kann Design unsere Wahrnehmung herausfordern und die symbiotische Beziehung zwischen dem menschlichen Körper und seinem Mikrobiom zelebrieren? Mit dem Vorschlag diese symbiotische Beziehung auf alternative Weise zu fördern, indem die Probiotika in unserer Unterwäsche getragen werden, um den Körper gesund zu halten.

FutureFlora2

Das Projekt befasst sich mit der Züchtung und Pflege lebender Organismen als Praxis für zu Hause. Das Bakterienkissen züchtet die notwendigen Stränge von Lactobacillus-Bakterien und fungiert als lebende Kultur von Probiotika, um eine feindliche Umgebung für die weitere Entwicklung von Candida Albicans zu schaffen. Durch den Kontakt des Pads mit den weiblichen Genitalien wachsen die gesunden Bakterien auf der Oberfläche des mit Candida infizierten Bereichs und rekonstruieren die im Vaginalepithel fehlende Mikroflora. Angesichts der Tatsache, dass 75% der Frauen mindestens einmal im Leben an Candida Vulvovaginitis (CVV) leiden, verfolgt Future Flora den Ansatz von Frauen im Kontext der persönlichen Selbstpflege und des Körperbewusstseins durch die Erzeugung einer intimen Interaktion zwischen der Wirkung nährender Bakterien während ihres Wachstums und deren Applikation als zweite Schicht in ihrem Höschen.

Tomasello zelebriert eine Biophilie der Frau und eröffnet die Möglichkeit, in Zukunft Mikroorganismen zu tragen und sie als Teil unseres natürlichen Wohlbefindens anzunehmen. Die Frau nimmt ihre Gesundheit selbst in die Hand und wird zur Bürger-Wissenschaftlerin, indem sie eine erste Beziehung zu ihrem Körper und seinem mikroorganischen Lebensumfeld aufbaut. Kleidung und Accessoires werden zum Ökosystem, das die gesamte Mikroflora der Haut ausgleicht.

FutureFlora3

Future Flora schlägt Alternativen vor, um biologische Heilmittel in unserem Haus zu nutzen und die Werte und Überzeugungen, die unsere Gesellschaft in der materiellen Kultur verkörpert, in Frage zu stellen. Die Absicht hinter Future Flora ist es, ein Hilfsmittel zu entwerfen, welches Frauen ermöglicht, eine aktivere Rolle in ihrer Gesundheitsfürsorge zu übernehmen, sie dazu veranlasst, bei Bedarf ärztlichen Rat einzuholen und schließlich einige der Tabus aufzubrechen, die mit der Urogynäkologie verbunden sind. Es wurde entwickelt, um Frauen zu stärken und ihre Selbstpflege zu verbessern, sich mit ihrem eigenen Körper vertrauter zu machen, Selbstvertrauen zu entwickeln und aktive Patientinnen zu werden, die in der Lage sind, professionellen Rat zu suchen, ihre Symptome offen zu diskutieren und schließlich die Tabus zu brechen, die immer noch mit gynäkologischer Gesundheit verbunden sind, ein soziales Stigma, das sowohl in den Industrieländern als auch in den Entwicklungsländern immer noch weit verbreitet ist. Future Flora will neue Vorschläge für die Gesellschaft und die Zukunft der Frauengesundheit herausfordern, indem sie die Bedeutung des Ansatzes der weiblichen Biophilie einführt.

[1] The Human Microbiome Project, a research initiative by the US National Institutes of Health (2008-2017), investigated the role of microbial flora in human health and disease. Info adapted from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Human_Microbiome_Project

Credits

Giulia Tomasello (IT), geboren 1990, ist Interaktions-Designerin und Forscherin mit den Schwerpunkten Wearables, Biotechnologie und Materialveredelung. Derzeit ist sie wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Bereich Interactive Wearables an der Nottingham Trent University. In den letzten zwei Jahren hat sie das Potenzial von Biotechnologie und lebenden Materialien untersucht und eine biologische und nachhaltige Alternative für elektronische Textilien vorgeschlagen. Sie versteht sich als Schöpferin und Forscherin, die mit Materialität die Grenzen zwischen Technik und unserem Körper hinterfragt und kommuniziert. Indem sie alternative Szenarien entwirft und als kreative Denkerin agiert, hinterfragt Giulia unsere Vorstellungen von Wohlbefinden, um innovative Werkzeuge an der Schnittstelle von Medizin und Sozialwissenschaften zu entwickeln. Diese Schnittstellen werden durch ihre multidisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit und die Symbiose zwischen ihrer kreativen und wissenschaftlichen Arbeit ermöglicht, die den Wissensaustausch und die soziale Integration im Gesundheitswesen ermöglicht.

Future Flora
Designer and creator: Giulia Tomasello
Graduate project from Material Futures Master Course
Central Saint Martins College of Art & Design
External expert: Biologist Arian Mirzarafie-Ahi

Future Flora (Video)
https://vimeo.com/171795174
Film, editing and art direction, designer: João Gil
Sound/Music: Anne Queffelec – Eric Satie, Gnossienne n4

Girl Biophilia (Documentary)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DMYIOHzpu-E
Creative direction and production: Maja Zupano
Director of photography: Jan Vrhovnik
Production design: Maja Zupano
1st AC: Kash Khan
Production assistant: Max Celar
Lighting: Jan Vrhovnik
Styling: Martina Rocca
SOUND
Boom operator: Julia Hardecka
Music composer: Joseph Daly
Sound design: Julia Hardecka
Location and talent scout: Maja Zupano
POST PRODUCTION
Film editing: Maja Zupano
Color grading: Jan Vrhovnik
CAST THE GIRLS
Vanessa David
Sharondeep Kaur Johal
Kristina Lipinskaite
Martina Rocca
FUTURE FLORA
Designer and creator: Giulia Tomasello
SCIENTIST
Science communicator, founder at The A Level Biologist: Arian Mirzarafie-Ah

Jury Statement

Durch den dichten digitalen Wald wurde der Ruf nach Rückkehr in die Natur, nach Aufmerksamkeit für das Leben, die Biologie, das Selbst, den Körper – insbesondere die Stärkung des weiblichen Körpers und seiner Sexualität – laut und deutlich, was nach einem Jahr #MeToo keine Überraschung war. Als Reaktion auf diese kollektive Bewusstseinswelle war sich die Jury einig, dass Future Flora das Thema der Rückgewinnung weiblicher Macht – mit DIY und ohne Scham – auf eine Weise annimmt, die anderen, die nach einer Stimme suchen, Kraft geben könnte. Die Interaktionsdesignerin Giulia Tomasello rückt Themen in den Vordergrund, die die medizinische Gemeinschaft bei der Herstellung von Arzneimitteln für Frauen berücksichtigen sollte. Dieses Projekt verpflichtet auch die Öffentlichkeit, sich mit der Frauenhygiene und den damit verbundenen Tabus auseinanderzusetzen. Es bringt uns dazu, anders über Bakterien nachzudenken – wichtig in Zeiten des übermäßigen Einsatzes von Antibiotika und Antiseptika, die das ökologische Gleichgewicht zerstören. Mit dem Aufkommen der wissenschaftlichen Erforschung des Mikrobioms fragt die Designerin, was wir von der Idee halten, dass wir fast ausschließlich aus Bakterien bestehen. Viele bestehende Behandlungen beinhalten eine ganze Reihe von Chemikalien, die Hefeinfektionen heilen, aber auch gute Bakterien zerstören und so die Situation für Frauen verschlimmern. In ihren eigenen Worten erklärt Giulia: „Das Kit wurde entwickelt, um es Frauen zu ermöglichen, ihre ganz persönliche Hautflora zu Hause zu erzeugen, zu pflegen und zu ernten, indem sie nicht nur zu Konsumentinnen, sondern auch zu aktiven Teilnehmerinnen ihrer eigenen Gesundheit und ihres Wohlbefindens werden“. Digitale Technologien entführen uns in eine immaterielle Welt aus leuchtenden Daten. Als Digital Ghosts halluzinieren wir darüber, allmächtig zu sein, sogar unsterblich unter der Sonne einer gottähnlichen künstlichen Intelligenz. Giulia Tomasello zwingt uns, unseren Blick vom digitalen Himmel auf den verletzlichsten weiblichen Körperteil, die Vagina, zu senken. Mit Future Flora zeigt sie diese Verwundbarkeit als Stärke, indem sie die verkörperte Offenheit als Medium zwischen inneren und äußeren Organismen nutzt und so das schafft, was sie ‚Future Flora‘ nennt. Future Flora liefert ein klares und lautes Signal, dass ‚Future‘ nicht nur ‚Digital‘ ist. Die Jury des STARTS-Preises erhielt Giulias aufschlussreiche Botschaft: Es gibt ein enormes Innovationspotenzial im europäischen Geist, aber wir dürfen nicht vergessen, dass es unsere körperliche Existenz ist, die die Phantasie anregt.