D-CENT – Decentralised Citizens ENgagement Technologies

dcent

Nomination

D-CENT is a Europe-wide project that has brought together citizen movements and grassroots organizations that have revolutionized democracy in Europe in the past years, and is developing the next generation of open source, distributed, and privacy-aware tools for direct democracy and economic empowerment.

D-CENT grows longer-term alternatives to today’s highly centralized platforms and power structures, and promotes the development of knowledge, digital infrastructures, and data for the common good. It values privacy and security, and is built on open source code and open standards.

D-CENT tools form a federated and distributed architecture¾they can be combined in many ways to support democratic processes. The tools enable citizens to be informed and get real-time notifications about issues that matter to them. They help to propose and draft solutions and policy collaboratively. They can be used to decide and vote on solutions and collective municipal budgeting.

D-CENT runs large-scale pilots in Spain, Finland, and Iceland to develop and test the tools. These pilots have involved thousands of citizens across Europe in municipal decision-making, policy and budgeting. The pilots are engaging democratic organizations and citizen-led coalitions like Podemos, Ahora Madrid, Barcelona en Comù, Open Ministry and Citizen Foundation.

The project has run following experiments: Participation and open consultation platforms in Barcelona and Madrid (decide.madrid.es), Participatory budgeting platform (beta.yrpri.org), Notification service (decisions.dcentproject.eu), and a collaborative policy making platform (objective8.dcentproject.eu).

D-CENT is also developing a blockchain toolkit to manage community trust, reputation, and provide a blockchain reward scheme that is auditable and transparent. D-CENT has contributed actively to the development of open social web standards, an open standardization effort led by the W3C.

D-CENT has done extensive research on new forms of democracy, citizen empowerment and participation. An integrated techno-socio-economic analysis has been carried out on organizational models of emerging social movements, new economic models based on knowledge commons, distributed social networking, identity systems, new models for citizen control of personal and social data, privacy and security by design. All research is available at the project website.

Coordinator: Francesca Bria

About

D-CENT has a strong international network as its consortium: Nesta (UK), Citizens Foundation (IS), CNRS – Centre d’Économie de la Sorbonne (FR), Dyne.org (NL), Forum Virium Helsinki (FI), International Modern Media Institute (IS), Open Knowledge Foundation (UK), Open University of Catalunya and Eurecat (ES), ThoughtWorks (UK), and World Wide Web Consortium (FR).

D-CENT – Decentralised Citizens ENgagement Technologies

dcent

Nomination

D-CENT ist ein europaweites Projekt, das BürgerInnenbewegungen und Basisorganisationen zusammengebracht hat, die in den vergangenen Jahren die Demokratie in Europa revolutioniert haben. In diesem Projekt wird die nächste Generation von Open-Source-Tools, Verteilter Verarbeitung und datenschutzfreundlicher Technologien für direkte Demokratie und wirtschaftliches Empowerment entwickelt.

D-CENT kultiviert langfristige Alternativen zu den derzeitigen, in hohem Maße zentralisierten Plattformen und Machstrukturen und fördert die Entwicklung von Wissen, digitalen Infrastrukturen und gemeinnützigen Daten. Dabei wird auf Privatsphäre und Sicherheit Wert gelegt und auf Open Source und offene Standards aufgebaut.

D-CENT Tools bilden eine verbundene und verteilte Architektur, sie können zur Unterstützung demokratischer Prozesse in verschiedener Weise kombiniert werden. Diese Tools ermöglichen es BürgerInnen, informiert zu bleiben und Benachrichtigungen über Themen, die sie bewegen, in Echtzeit zu erhalten. Mithilfe der Tools können Lösungen und Strategien gemeinschaftlich vorgeschlagen und formuliert werden. Sie finden Verwendung bei der Entschlussfassung und Abstimmung über Lösungen und der Kostenplanung von Gemeindeverbänden.

Zur Entwicklung und Erprobung der Tools führt D-CENT großangelegte Pilotprojekte in Spanien, Finnland und Island durch. In diesen Pilotprojekten waren bereits tausende BürgerInnen aus ganz Europa in kommunalen Entscheidungsfindungsprozessen, politischen Strategien und Kostenplanungen involviert. An den Pilotprojekten sind demokratische Organisationen und von BürgerInnen geleitete Koalitionen wie Podemos, Ahora Madrid, Barcelona en Comú, Open Ministry und Citizen Foundation beteiligt.

Das Projekt hat mittlerweile folgende Experimente durchgeführt: TeilnehmerInnen- und offene Beratungsplattformen in Barcelona und Madrid (decide.madrid.es), eine Budgetierungsplattform mit Mitbestimmung (beta.yrpri.org), ein Benachrichtigungsservice (decisions.dcentproject.eu) und eine gemeinschaftliche Plattform für politische Entscheidungen (objective8.dcentproject.eu).

D-CENT entwickelt ebenso einen Blockketten-Toolkit für das Management von gemeinschaftlichem Vertrauen und von Reputation sowie für ein prüffähiges und transparentes Blockketten-Prämiensystems. D-CENT hat aktiv zur Entwicklung offener Social-Web-Standards beigetragen, einer von W3C geleiteten offenen Standardisierungsinitiative.

D-CENT betreibt umfangreiche Forschung zu neuen Formen der Demokratie sowie des Empowerments und der Teilhabe von BürgerInnen. Über organisatorische Modelle aufstrebender sozialer Bewegungen, neue Wirtschaftsmodelle auf der Basis von Wissensallmenden, verteiltem Social Networking, Identitätssystemen, neuen Modellen der BürgerInnenkontrolle persönlicher und gesellschaftlicher Daten und „Privacy and Security by Design“ wurde eine integrative techno-sozioökonomische Analyse durchgeführt. Alle Forschungsergebnisse sind auf der Projektwebseite abrufbar.

Coordinator: Francesca Bria

Credits

D-CENT hat mit seiner Arbeitsgemeinschaft ein starkes internationales Netzwerk: Nesta (UK), Citizens Foundation (IS), CNRS – Centre d’Économie de la Sorbonne (FR), Dyne.org (NL), Forum Virium Helsinki (FI), die Isländische Initiative zu modernen Medien (IS), Open Knowledge Foundation (UK), Universitat Oberta de Catalunya und Eurecat (ES), ThoughtWorks (UK) und das World Wide Web Consortium (FR).