Corpus Nil

corpusnil

Nomination

Marco Donnarumma

Corpus Nil is a performance exploring hybrid forms of identity and musicianship through an intense and ritualistic interaction between an artificially intelligent musical instrument, a human body, and sound.

A naked player performs a tense choreography which gradually morphs his body. Two types of wearable biosensors transmit data from his body to a software. Chip microphones capture sounds from muscles and internal organs (mechanomyogram or MMG) and electrodes capture muscle voltages (electromyogram or EMG).

The instrument re-synthesizes sounds produced within the performer’s body (between 1-40 Hz) by orchestrating a feedback network of twenty digital oscillators. Concurrently, the instrument learns the nuances of the performer’s movement (muscular tension, gesture abruptness, rate of relaxation) and chooses how to vary the musical output.

The player cannot control the instrument, but only learn how to affect it and be affected by it. The piece discards conventional performer-instrument relationships–founded on the performer’s full control of the instrument–in favor of an unstable corporeal engagement between the two.

Credits

Author, research, concept, music, choreography, light design, performance, programming: Marco Donnarumma

Additional programming and research: Baptiste Caramiaux
Stage production: Margherita Pevere
Camera for video documentation: Alessandro Altavilla
Photography: Onuk and ZKM
Audio recording mastering: Dadub Studio

Supported by:
EAVI, Goldsmiths, University of London
European Research Council – Research funding

Marco Donnarumma (IT/DE) is an artist and scholar who lives and works in Berlin. A unique presence across contemporary performance and media art, Marco Donnarumma distinguishes himself by his use of emerging technology to deliver artworks that are at once intimate and powerful, oneiric and uncompromising, sensual and confrontational. Working with biotechnology, biophysical sensing, as well as artificial intelligence and neurorobotics, Donnarumma expresses the chimerical nature of the body with a new and unsettling intensity. He is renown for his focus on sound, whose physicality and depth he exploits to create experiences of instability, awe, shock, and entrainment.

Corpus Nil

corpusnil

Nomination

Marco Donnarumma

Corpus Nil ist eine Performance, die in einer intensiven ritualisierten Interaktion zwischen einem „künstlich intelligenten“ Musikinstrument, dem menschlichen Körper und Klang hybride Identitätsentwürfe und musikalische Formen auslotet.

Ein nackter Akteur performt eine spannungsgeladene Choreografie, in deren Verlauf sich sein Körper allmählich verwandelt. Zwei unterschiedliche Ausführungen tragbarer Biosensoren geben die Daten von seinem Körper an eine Software weiter. Chip-Mikrofone nehmen Klänge der Muskeln und inneren Organe (Mechanomyogramm oder MMG) auf, während Elektroden die elektrische Spannung in den Muskeln erfassen (Elektromyogramm oder EMG).

Das Instrument resynthetisiert Klänge, die im Körper des Performers entstehen (1–40 Hz) und koordiniert ein Feedback-Netzwerk von 20 digitalen Oszillatoren. Gleichzeitig lernt das Instrument, feinste Bewegungsnuancen des Performers (Muskelspannung, Abruptheit der Geste, Entspannungsfrequenz) und entscheidet über die Variationen des musikalischen Ergebnisses.

Der Akteur hat nie die Kontrolle über das Instrument, er kann nur lernen, wie er es beeinflussen kann bzw. wie er von ihm beeinflusst wird. Das Stück verzichtet auf die herkömmlichen, auf der Beherrschung des Instruments begründeten Beziehungen zwischen Performer und Instrument zugunsten einer unsicheren Wechselbeziehung zwischen Körper und Instrument.

Credits

Autor, Forschung, Konzept, Musik, Choreografie, Lichtdesign, Performance, Programmierung: Marco Donnarumma

Programmierung und Forschung: Baptiste Caramiaux
Bühnenproduktion: Margherita Pevere
Kamera für Videodokumentation: Alessandro Altavilla
Fotografie: Onuk and ZKM
Audio-Mastering: Dadub Studio

Unterstützt von:
EAVI, Goldsmiths, University of London
Europäischer Forschungsrat (ERC) – Forschungsförderung

Marco Donnarumma (IT/DE) lebt und arbeitet als Künstler und Wissenschaftler in Berlin. Er nimmt eine singuläre Position in der zeitgenössischen Performance- und Medienkunst ein und zeichnet sich durch die Verwendung neuer Technologien zur Produktion von Kunstwerken aus, die gleichzeitig intim und kraftvoll, traumähnlich und kompromisslos, sinnlich und konfrontativ sind. Donnarumma arbeitet mit Biotechnologie, biophysischer Wahrnehmung sowie künstlicher Intelligenz und Neurorobotik und versteht es, dem schimärischen Wesen des Körpers mit verstörender Intensität Ausdruck zu verleihen. Im Fokus seines künstlerischen Schaffens steht der Klang, dessen Physikalität und Tiefe er auslotet, um die Erfahrung von Verunsicherung, Verwunderung und Erschütterung zu ermöglichen und den Betrachter magisch in den Bann zu ziehen.