BlindWiki, Unveiling the Unseen

blindwiki

Nomination

Antoni Abad

A community-based smartphone project that invites citizens who are blind or partially sighted to share their own experience on the difficulties and facilities they find in their day-to-day lives.

BlindWiki doesn’t just provide information on barriers and accommodations, but is also a repository for storytelling posts. Designed to build a more nuanced location-specific overview of the cityscape as experienced by people with vision loss who interact with it on a regular basis BlindWiki collects experiences and opinions in order to produce a collaborative map of the unseen.

The app allows participants to record site-specific audio and to publish it to the BlindWiki platform. Users have the opportunity to walk through their city with smartphones, receiving data that participants have previously tagged. The app triggers geo-located stories and tagged obstacles. The app not only allows participants to share their findings, but it also raises social awareness on the diverse perception of the visually impaired.

About

Antoni Abad (ES) is based in Barcelona. 2004–2013 he developed the megafone.net projects based on publications from smartphones of various marginalized groups in Spain, Switzerland, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Mexico, USA, Canada, and Algeria. His work has been presented at the following art biennials: Berlin 2016, Venice 1999, Lima 1999, Seville 2004–2008; Mercosul & Curitiba, Brazil 2009–2013. In 2006 he was awarded the Golden Nica of Prix Ars Electronica in the Digital Communities category.

Web programmer: Matteo Sisti Sette
App programmers: AKX Development

BlindWiki is supported by the 9th Berlin Biennale, The Spanish Academy in Rome, Acción Cultural Española, Institut Ramon Llull, Sydney Cervantes Institute, Cooperación Española, La Sapienza Università di Roma, University of Sydney.

Photo credits: Antoni Abad (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0)

BlindWiki, Unveiling the Unseen

blindwiki

Nominierung

Antoni Abad

BlindWiki ist ein kommunales Smartphone-Projekt, das blinde oder sehbeeinträchtigte Menschen einlädt, sich über ihre Erfahrungen auszutauschen und über Schwierigkeiten und Chancen im Alltag zu berichten.

BlindWiki bietet nicht nur Informationen über verschiedene Hürden und Hilfestellungen, sondern ist auch ein Speicher für Geschichten. Für den Zweck eines nuancierteren, ortsspezifischen Überblicks über das Stadtbild entwickelt – wie es von Menschen mit Sehverlust erlebt wird, die darin regelmäßig zu tun haben –, sammelt BlindWiki Erfahrungen und Meinungen und will auf Basis dieser Informationen eine kooperative Landkarte des Ungesehenen erstellen.

Die App ermöglicht es den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern, standortspezifische Audioaufnahmen zu machen und diese auf der BlindWiki-Plattform zu veröffentlichen. Dies ermöglicht es den BenutzerInnen, mit ihren Smartphones durch Stadt zu gehen und Daten zu empfangen, die andere TeilnehmerInnen zuvor mit einem Tag markiert haben. Die App sendet automatisch Nachrichten zu geo-fixierten Geschichten und getaggten Hürden. Sie erlaubt es den TeilnehmerInnen nicht nur, ihre Erkenntnisse zu teilen, sondern trägt auch zur Sensibilisierung über die verschiedenen Wahrnehmungsweisen von sehbeeinträchtigten Menschen bei.

Credits

Antoni Abad (ES) lebt und arbeitet in Barcelona. Von 2004 bis 2013 entwickelte er die megafone.net-Projekte auf der Grundlage von Veröffentlichungen aus Smartphones verschiedener Randgruppen in Spanien, der Schweiz, Brasilien, Kolumbien, Costa Rica, Mexiko, USA, Kanada und Algerien. Mit seinen Arbeiten war er bei den folgenden Kunstbiennalen vertreten: Berlin 2016, Venedig 1999, Lima 1999, Sevilla 2004–2008, Mercosul & Curitiba in Brasilien 2009–2013. 2006 wurde er mit der Goldenen Nica des Prix Ars Electronica in der Kategorie Digital Communities ausgezeichnet.

Web programmer: Matteo Sisti Sette
App programmers: AKX Development

BlindWiki is supported by the 9th Berlin Biennale, The Spanish Academy in Rome, Acción Cultural Española, Institut Ramon Llull, Sydney Cervantes Institute, Cooperación Española, La Sapienza Università di Roma, University of Sydney.

Photo credits: Antoni Abad (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0)