Algaerium Bioprinter and Algae Printing

algaeriumbioprinter

Nomination

Marin Sawa

Modern algal biotechnology is largely motivated by technocracy in response to food and energy crises. This biotechnological work seeks the utilization of microalgae not for technocratic ends but for a reconstruction of social practice at an ‘ecosophical’ intersection, as advocated by Félix Guattari (1989/2000) by weaving the three domains of the natural environment (photosynthesis of microalgae), social relations (digital printing), and mind (creative process of making).

My laboratory-based collaboration with biochemists developed Algae Printing, which applies inkjet printing technology to seed algae on paper to grow and harness their air purification, health food, and bioelectricity applications in one compact creative system–a new concept of designing with living microbes.

Algaerium Bioprinter is an installation contextualizing the Algae Printing technology and points towards bioindustry–an emerging development within the field of biodesign from ‘intellectual consumption’ to ‘utilitarian consumption’.

Credits

Dr. Marin Sawa in collaboration with Imperial College London (Peter Nixon and Klaus Hellgardt); BPV work: Dr. Andrea Fantuzzi (Imperial), Dr. Paolo Bombelli (Chris Howe group, University of Cambridge)

Supported by the University of the Arts London: Central Saint Martins College of Arts and Design for the award of the International Graduate Scholarship 2011/12 (full-time doctoral research at CSM) and Imperial College London.

Marin Sawa (JP/UK) is a London-based Japanese designer/researcher practicing experimental design at the intersection with biotechnology. She has recently successfully completed her PhD research at CSM-UAL, which was done in collaboration with Imperial College London where she is a Visiting Researcher. She has the AA lntermediate Examination from the AA School of Architecture, an MA in design from CSM, and has work experience with various architects and designers studios, including Kengo Kuma and Associates, Tokyo and the London-based Loop.pH. Her research works have been internationally exhibited and she has published particularly in the area of biodesign.

Algaerium Bioprinter and Algae Printing

algaeriumbioprinter

Nomination

Marin Sawa

Die aktuelle Algenbiotechnologie ist infolge von Nahrungsmittel- und Energiekrisen großteils von technokratischen Erwägungen bestimmt. Bei diesem biotechnologischen Projekt werden Mikroalgen nicht zu technokratischen Zwecken verwendet, sondern zur Rekonstruktion einer sozialen Praxis an einem „ökosophischen“ Schnittpunkt, der Verbindung der drei Bereiche von Umwelt (Fotosynthese der Mikroalge), sozialen Beziehungen (Digitaldruck) und menschlicher Subjektivität (kreativer Herstellungsprozess), wie sie von Félix Guattari (1989/2000) befürwortet wird.

Aus meiner laborgestützten Zusammenarbeit mit Biochemikern ging das Projekt Algae Printing, ein neues Designkonzept mit lebenden Mikroben, hervor, bei dem Tintenstrahldrucker-Technologie zur Züchtung von Algen eingesetzt wird, um diese für Luftreinigung, nährstoffreiche Lebensmittel und bioelektrische Anwendungen in einem kompakten kreativen System nutzbar zu machen.

Algaerium Bioprinter ist eine Installation, welche die Algae Printing -Technologie in einen breiteren Kontext stellt und dabei auch kritisch auf die industrielle Biotechnologie verweist – insbesondere auf den sich abzeichnenden Trend im Bereich Biodesign weg von „intelligentem“ hin zu „utilitaristischem Konsum“.

Credits

Dr. Marin Sawa in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Imperial College London (Peter Nixon and Klaus Hellgardt); BPV-Technologie: Dr. Andrea Fantuzzi (Imperial), Dr. Paolo Bombelli (Chris Howe group, University of Cambridge)

Unterstützt von der University of the Arts London: Central Saint Martins College of Arts and Design im Rahmen der Verleihung des Internationalen Graduiertenstipendiums 2011/12 (Vollzeit-Forschungsprojekt im Rahmen eines Promotionsvorhabens am CSM) und vom Imperial College London.

Marin Sawa (JP/UK) ist eine in London ansässige japanische Designerin/Forscherin, die sich mit experimentellem Design an der Schnittstelle zur Biotechnologie auseinandersetzt. Sie schloss vor kurzem ihre Promotionsforschung am CSM-UAL ab, die sie in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Imperial College London, an dem sie als Gastforscherin tätig ist, betrieb. Sie absolvierte die AA lntermediate Examination an der AA School of Architecture, verfügt über einen Masterabschluss in Design vom Central Saint Martins College (CSM) und Erfahrung in der Zusammenarbeit mit unterschiedlichen Architekten und Designerstudios, wie etwa Kengo Kuma and Associates, Tokio, sowie Loop.pH, London. Ihre Forschungsarbeiten wurden international ausgestellt, darüber hinaus ist sie Autorin mehrerer Publikationen insbesondere im Bereich Biodesign.